We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We loved this sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iglesia de Los Martires

Iglesia de Los Martires
Ranked #34 of 193 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“We loved this sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were taken here by welovemalaga tours. We truly enjoyed every single chapel, specially if you are into religious art

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Over the top ornamentation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having visited Malaga Cathedral, which I loved, I found this church a bit too highly ornamented with vast amounts of gilt. Just not to my taste!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,334 reviews
2,981 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,977 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Churches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently went to hear Mass at this church. After Mass I looked around at the different altars and admired how the various images of the Virgin Mary were attired and how the chapels were decorated. It is a very beautiful church in the center of Malaga and should be seen by people who visit the city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Church of the Martyrs Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love history and visiting these historical sites, it really does add immensely to the quality of your trip to hire a very good guide. We used Andalucia tours and it was well worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cabocathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campanillas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A Rococo shrine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Situated in a street of the same name, the Church of the Martyrs is a must for anybody fond of "church crawling". It is a blaze of gold leaf and dark paintings, and holds a number of the images mounted on "tronos" for the Semana Santa processions, at which Málaga excels (some "tronos" require over 200 men to carry them!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglesia de Los Martires also viewed

 

Been to Iglesia de Los Martires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing