We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet away from the shenanigans on the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan
Ranked #54 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is situated in Istan which is the only destination of the road leading north out of Puerto Banus. Have that in mind when making a booking. You will have beautiful views of the coast and valley, and the lake, but it might be difficult to get food if you go on the day the restaurant is closed (which we did).

Anyway, the hotel has plenty of parking, great views, a large restaurant and a pool which we didn't see. Our room was small but ample, clean, with wifi, and lovely views to the sea. Our host was very nice, and looked after us even though we were the only ones there. As we didn't do our homework, we ended up having to get dinner in PB which felt like cheating having got away from it all beforehand. Nevermind. Nice, simple breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

About 1 km from the Istan village you find this lovely quiet place, with view over the valley and to the sea (Marbella). The rooms are very nice and spacious, and during the cold season there is heating. Lovely place for getting away from the crowded Costa del Sol, or just take long walks in the mountains and visit the lovely village of Istan. The hotel has got a bar/restaurant, and there are several other places to eat in the village.
The service was excellent and there is free parking on the premises.

Room Tip: A room with view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tayacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 with my girlfriend.
Very friendly. Owner insisted we used the pool,lounge etc on our check out day after asking the time of our flight.
Free parking.
Nothing too much trouble for the owner and staff.
Top quality "menu del dia". The food was very good even by Spanish standards and the waiter was very entertaining with his descriptions of the food!
Very quiet spot. Superb views over Lake La Concepcion

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very cute hotel just outside Istan. Owner very friendly and led us to our room. Free parking! Pool was nice, though we didn't have time to use it. The rooms were adorable and had character - not like a typical hotel room! Clean & no complaints! Nearby city of Istan is worth a drive through. This was the perfect budget friendly hotel just outside of pricey Marbella. Only wish it had included a breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oatgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

With a friendly welcome, we enjoyed a good "menu of the day" for lunch at €12 per head. Ample choice in the menu, generous portions and nice service. Ample parking on-site. Excellent views from the exterior terrace, overlooking La Concepcion lake, and down to the sea. Just 15 minutes' drive from the coast, and a good destination just before/outside the village of Istan (well indicated) if one is looking to get away from the crowds. Clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WideawakeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location with wonderful views. Warm friendly reception. Room & bathroom clean. Breakfast for additional cost. Remember your own swimming towel or provided for extra charge. Would recommend. Will return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotell Los Jarales lies approx. a 5 minute walk away fra the tiny village of istan. It has a small pool for cooling off. In Juli the temperature reaches 30' easily. We were welcomed by a friendly and very laid back, but extremly helpful staff, and after settling into a quite spacious room we had dinner on the terrasse. A nice, homemade 3 course at 12 euros. Perfect place to relax and do basically nothing. We have'nt seen a single store in Istan except for simple groceries but are told that there are numerous bar offering Tapas and local cuisine in the village.

The Hotel in any case is resonably priced, clean and traquil. For the time being they also serve both lunch and dinner. Good food, relaxed environment!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ove S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
32.8 mi away
Hotel Humaina
Hotel Humaina
#67 of 89 in Malaga
96 reviews
27.6 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#55 of 89 in Malaga
423 reviews
28.2 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#52 of 89 in Malaga
69 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
30.6 mi away
Ibis budget Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan

Address: Ctra. Marbella-Istan km 14 | Istan, 29611 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing