We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tribuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tribuna
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Skien, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Room looked OK. Had to pay upfront. TV was automaticly on when we enterd the room.
We just left our bags and whent for dinner ..
Here is the problem. When the TV was shut of the traffic noise was terribel all true the night .. can't think anyone can sleep here.
This is off-curse a ripp-off

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    77
    68
    36
    20
See reviews for
37
92
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed this very reasonably priced , central hotel with exceptionally friendly young reception staff . I would recommend the hotel and its location which is as good as an Ibis but friendlier , though smaller .

Breakfast is about 6 euros in an adjoining( you just duck in from reception across the lobby ) cafe bar where I had a reasonable breakfast on the first morning but when I discovered that the owners of the cafe bar were fairly disobliging ( I twice tried to get served a drink or a meal but the owner was either too busy shutting up shop or counting his cash to deign to serve me !) I decided not to bother taking breakfast there either - there are plenty of other cafes 5 minutes away .

That was the only down side about the hotel - the poor service in the adjoining cafe bar . The Hotel Tribuna itself is good value for the price .

Room Tip: avoid being near staff lift - noisy as usual .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good location, Good spacious rooms, but the corridors stink! Breakfast was also below average. The hotel staff is a mixture of some really dumb and some really helpful guys. English skills are also limited for most. The local shopping area and clubs are all 5 mins walk away so that way the place is great.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the bridge in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devdarshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I honestly can't fault this place. Its less than 10 min walk from major bus stops, less than 5 mins to all the historical attractions and around the corner from some nice bars. The hotel was scrupulously clean at all times, hot water, good shower, comfortable beds, complimentary toiletries and very importantly AMAZING air con and helpful, friendly staff.
Yes it was sometimes a little noisy at night and yes there was a funny smell in the reception, but as some others have mentioned, this seems to be a problem with the area itself and not the hotel's fault. The bedroom however didnt suffer. A few things stuck out with this hotel, firstly the staff - we arrived at gone midnight and greeted by Alejandro who was extremely friendly and acted like a tour guide to us throughout our stay, giving us plenty of advice and recommendations of where to visit. On following nights, jorge also assisted us with queries, printing out bus timetables etc. Going beyond politeness to help us make the most of our visit. We were also very surprised that the hotel were willing to provide us with towels for the beach without deposit and always supplied extra towels in the room as there was three of us sharing. It really was a great hotel and did everything we required. We didnt eat there though so can't comment on the breakfasts. But thankyou for your hospitality hotel tribuna! would recommend.

Room Tip: We faced the main road which was occasionally noisy at night but shutters, glass doors and heavy cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randomshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

To start with our room had an unpleasant smell, as someone else has mentioned and wasn't that clean - especially the shower. Worse my wife found a large deep red blood stain on her pillow. We were moved, at our request, to another room. Asked to speak to the manager on a couple occasions but all we got was a message via the receptionist apologising and offering us a free breakfast. The blood stain was really shocking and my wife was quite traumatised by it. The poor attitude of the management in the way they apologised to us and compensated us was the final straw.

The following day we noticed the unpleasant smell also in the lobby and the lift. The hotel is on a fairly busy one way street and is set back from avery busy main road. The windows are single glazed so don't hold the noise out very well.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Valor, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed just the one night at the hotel Tribuna in Malaga. The location of the hotel is just ideal ... next to the dried up riverbed on the edge of the old city centre. The service at the hotel is excellent and staff is very friendly. Rooms very clean and rather spacious ... We booked a single and one double bedroom for only 65 € which was a true bargain. Will surely keep this hotel in the back of our mind when visiting Malaga again ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianFrenchFries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Recently stayed at Tribuna Dec 16th-24th. My daughter was there going to school and turning 21 so I came to spend her 21st birthday with her in Malaga. The hotel's location was perfect and not perfect at the same time.. Let me explain. Hotel Tribuna is right in the Centre so I could actually walk everywhere, Tapas, bars shopping, food, drinks and the beach. Now the down side is from midnight to 5am you can hear all the party goers either on the way to the clubs or on the way home from the clubs. My room was 103 right on the main street 2nd floor. right outside the hotel were steps where it seems like eveybody meets to head out for the night and at 5am this is where they hug/kiss and say goodbye. All you hear is scooters, cars, horns and laughter all night long. Also the beds were like sleeping on solid rock. But for 8 days i sucked it up. Oh and the smell was not an issue. i think I did smell odors only 1 afternoon. No biggie. I live in NY city. My daytime activities wore me out enough to sleep hard. For those traveling to Malaga from other countries Malaga is one of the few cities that still participate in Siesta. So be prepared if you thought you were going to shop all afternoon. Most retailers pull the gate down promptly at 2pm until about 7-8pm. then its FIESTA time. Tapas and spirits!!!! Gracias.

Room Tip: rooms 103 is great.loud but great. you can stand on the balcony too see down the streets and all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuincyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#27 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Centro
Soho Bahia Malaga
Soho Bahia Malaga
#47 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Centro
Itaca Malaga
Itaca Malaga
#23 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tribuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tribuna

Property: Hotel Tribuna
Address: Calle Carreteria 33, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tribuna 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tribuna, located in one of the most emblematic streets of Malaga, embodies the tradition of the city. The basement of the property is part of the old Nazari walls of Malaga and part of the remains is visible from the restaurant. They are remains of the era of the Citadel, catalogued by the Ministry of Tourism of Andalusia. The hotel has 47 rooms and offers 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi Internet, business center and a restaurant, among other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tribuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kris Tribuna
Hotel Tribuna Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing