We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so”
Review of Hotel Tribuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tribuna
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well, I would not recommend this hotel. First of all, the smell in our room and in the corridor was quite unpleasant. The room itself was small. Moreover, our room was on the 4th floor, apparently, close to some cleaning equipment storage. Cleaning maids were quire noisy early in the morning.
What is good about this hotel is its' location - just 5 min walk from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We only stayed for 4 nights, and we wanted something reasonably priced, this fit the bill! The booking site we used was rubbish, said we got a 73% discount on the room... If that was the case i feel sorry for anyone paying full price! The room was basic but clean and well looked after, very much like a travelodge. The aircon was amazing and much needed! The location was ok. Looked dodgy but literally round the corner from the centre of town. The whole city had a smell which unfortunately entered our room on occasion. Not nice. Didn't use the restaurant as so many places to eat in the centre no need. Quiet at night, didn't bump in to many other guests all round warrants its 3 star rating. Wouldn't stay again as i wouldn't visit malaga again, did what we wanted to do in 4 days!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

very nice hotel great staff location very good not too far from the shopping center and the beech the museums cathederals and the sightseeing is spectacular the only downside was that it was expensive in the shops and you get a smell from the sewers at times

Room Tip: rooms at th back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel location is very good,staff is quite helpful and nice...but the smell in the hotel is just awful. Breakfast is not so good,below the average,and rooms have just the basic equipment,which often doesn't work...Would not recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 202Hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very small rooms. Doubles have a small bath, twins have showers, very slippy. The room we were in (210) had old windows and we could hear EVERY passing car and any conversations from passers-by. Draughty, and cold. Hate to think of middle of winter, or middle of summer!! Air cond./ heating did not work, so woke up to REALLY cold room.
Breakfast was awful. The "hot" food looked disgusting, and the cold food was passible."Hot" water for tea was lukewarm. Small cups. Only 2 slices of bread to toast when we arrived and no more brought for others arriving while we were eating or after we left. Service was absent at breakfast.

Room Tip: Would advise against chosing ANY room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the Tribuna, room 307, the first week of February 2012. We wanted a reasonably priced mid-range hotel for a six night break close to the historic centre of Malaga and had contacted the hotel by email well before arriving asking for an upper floor room.
On arrival only a third floor room was available (the hotel has 5 floors) which we accepted so as not to pay cancellation fees and look for another hotel.
It is impossible to class this as a 3 star property for the following reasons:

The only extra blanket in a double room was dirty and had cigarette burns.
Only one extra pillow was available (second was made available from reception)
Draughts and lots of street noise from a mis-matched pair of single-glazed balcony doors.
Excessive noise from corridor and adjacent rooms (it sounded as though our bathroom was being used by the guest next door!)
The main room area was approx 12 sq mtrs. the space from the bottom of the bed to the wall no more than 60cms.
The plain magnolia coloured wall was scuffed and dirty, probably from the efforts to carry luggage past the end of the bed.
On arrival the TV was not working properly. It was an old Akai CRT model ans a member of staff came and fiddled with the cables to produce an acceptable picture but the only English-speaking channels were BBC World & CNN.
The hotel's 'special offer' breakfast was 7 Euro/person. If you start the day with a cup of coffee and, for example, a croissant this is not a good deal as there are a great many pleasant cafes close buy offering better value for money in less sterile surroundings.
The PC/Internet available for guests was not working at any time during our stay. reception staff assured us on several occasions that an engineer had been called but never arrived. Luckily there are several Internet 'shops' offering internet use for 1Euro/hour.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
There are no drawers suitable for clothes, only two shelves in the wardrobe.
The shower mixer is not thermostatic. We experienced a few unpleasant, sudden blasts of cold, or more worryingly, very hot water when other guests turned on the taps.
There was a continual smell of sewage or something in the bathroom. We kept the bathroom door closed at all time to stop it spreading to the rest of the room.

We were, however, in Malaga to see and experience the city and all-in-all spent as little time as possible in the hotel.
To sum up I would expect this hotel to suit a business visitor for a couple of nights mid-week, something I had confirmed by the lady on reception - not for a lengthy stay. It is very likely that we will visit Malaga again but we have already chosen another centrally located hotel, offering a higher standard of bed and breakfast for only a couple of Euros per person more. Furthermore it does not have the main ring road outside the window!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freespirit1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

From the price we paid I wasn't expecting anything fancy or flash. The hotel was clean and central, nice bedroom (a bit of noise from outside, but just what you would expect on a city break). The breakfast room was also the bar/cafe which was very bright and pleasant, and the food was fine too. However on one morning we mentioned to the waiter the the coffee in the flask was cold. To prove to us that he thought it was warm he poured a cup in front of us - and stuck his finger in it! Incredible - I have never seen anything like this! He continued to argue with us, then eventually brought hot coffee from the cafe counter (not that hard to do) then said we would have to pay extra. Needless to say we did not pay extra - and he did not stick his finger into the steaming cup to prove it was hot!

Without this encounter, I would have given the hotel 5 stars - it was clean, central, great value with (mostly) helpful polite staff. I would still recommend it - but do be careful of that coffee!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanielize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Soho Boutique Bahia Malaga
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Itaca Malaga
Itaca Malaga
#34 of 89 in Malaga
408 reviews
Centro
Hotel Guadalmedina
Hotel Guadalmedina
#33 of 89 in Malaga
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tribuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tribuna

Address: Calle Carreteria 6-10 33, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: $51 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tribuna 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tribuna, located in one of the most emblematic streets of Malaga, embodies the tradition of the city. The basement of the property is part of the old Nazari walls of Malaga and part of the remains is visible from the restaurant. They are remains of the era of the Citadel, catalogued by the Ministry of Tourism of Andalusia. The hotel has 47 rooms and offers 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi Internet, business center and a restaurant, among other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tribuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kris Tribuna
Hotel Tribuna Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing