We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
19
18
9
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
19
18
9
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Malaga was the first stop in our 2 weeks trip across Andalucia and the idea was to spend some relaxing time by the sea before hitting the road. El Cenachero was perfect for this.The apartment had everything we needed + spacious private patio facing the back of the building. I don't have much to say about the interior (clean, Ikea furnuture and drapings), people at the reception desk are friendly, 10-15 minute walk to the beaches. The best thing about this place is the location - El Palo is such a lively area where you see Spaniards real life (playing domino in the yards, eating breakfast in cafes, walking dogs etc. The seaside is a former fishermen village and you can still find delightful and inexpensive fresh seafood there in numerous chiringuitos. Supermarkets, local bars (check out tiny but wildly popular El Pimpi Florida down the street) , cafes and farmer's market are all short walk from the apartametos. Public buses (#3 and #11) on Almeria Calle take you to the city center in 20-30 minutes. Two warnings: 1) the hotel is located on top of the hill, not too steep, but still older folks and people with disabilities might find it difficult to climb up. 2) paid parking in the basement is better suited for smaller vehicles, with a crossover you might want to find parking on the street (we struggled to drive out, luckily our receptionist helped us). On the way back we stayed in a different hotel in Malaga and regretted our choice

Room tip: Only apartamentos (not studios) come with patios
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

The apartment was very clean and the staff were very helpful. It was a short walk to the beach and the beach was lovely. We did not hear another English accent all week, which was also refreshingly nice. You cannot help but admire the Spanish and their way of life. We had an absolutely lovely 5 night stay there and would be happy to go there again

Room tip: It was nice. Nothing particularly fancy, but nice 😀
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmesj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

I travelled with a group of colleagues from Devon to learn Spanish for a week at the Spanish school. Out of all the rooms we booked we ended up with the smallest No.1 but it was fine. The beds were comfortable plenty of hot water and a well equipped kitchen. Wifi worked well.
The downside to the apartment is that it was quite noisy as locals stood outside talking till late. The water pipes run down the far wall which are quite noisy too. Room 4 was a much better room. It also had a large balcony which we used in the evening.
The staff were great and very helpful. The bus to Malaga was 5 mins away and a great Chinese supermarket was open when all the others were shut for siesta.great place to stay if you are learning at the school.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
3  Thank LowTideDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

Beautiful two bedroom apartment with balcony and garage. The staff is very friendly, cleanliness at a high level and the price is very reasonable. At check-in we arrived much later than we announced (reception works till 18:00 and we came at 23:00), but the owner came from home to let us in. and he was not angry at all... :)

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014

I stayed for a week in an studio-flat apartment on the top floor, whilst I attended a nearby Spanish-language school. Room was very clean and kitchen was equipped with microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee machine, a hob and a few cooking pots, cups, glasses etc. Wifi was mostly fine - just about good enough to skype - although needed to be reset at one point. There was air conditioning/heating unit that worked well at keeping the studio flat warm. There are a lot of bars, restaurants, bakeries and grocery shops very close by, including a small supermarket. You are very close to the seafront. The bus links into Malaga central are great - the bus goes about every 10 minutes during the day, and contines all night. The owners are friendly and can provide advice and links to services as needed, although I think they are not totally fluent in English (I don't know - I was practicing my Spanish). El cenachero is a good choice if you want to have the option of self-catering and stay in a 'normal' area of Malaga, whilst having good access to the centre.

Room tip: This is in quiet residential part of Malaga, but still the higher apartments are probably quieter (less dog barking type of noise etc). Be aware that you should let the owners know your anticipated time of arrival, so you can be sure someone will be there to receive you when you arrive.
Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank kaw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews