We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Victoria
Ranked #8 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel overlooks Malaga and is a family run operation by Victoria and her parents. We stayed for two nights in Room 105 which is quite large with a spacious balcony offering spectacular views of Malaga and the mountains. The beds are comfortable and the room is quiet. Things to consider when contemplating booking:
1. The wifi only works in the common area of the house.
2. The walk to the centre of Malaga is a pleasant downhill journey meaning the return trip is all uphill. A taxi from the cathedral costs around €5.
3. Breakfast is not included. However, for €9 one gets fresh orange juice, coffee/tea, cereal, a pastry, a slice of cheese, a slice of ham and several types of rolls.
4. Street parking is a challenge.

I would stay here again as the comfort of the hotel and the hospitality of the owners far outweighs the above four points.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was our fourth stay at this delightful hotel, as ever exceptional service from Victoria and her parents who go that extra mile to provide service of that standard .We had room 104 with own terrace which was perfect for afternoon siesta and also being able to have breakfast was also possible which we did take advantage of.Rooms are of a high standard with full bathroom and are very clean .Garden is a pleasure to sit in and also have breakafst or coffee.Finally
the views of course are lovely and especially being able to watch the sun go down and watch the lights come on around the city.Again many thanks to Victoria and her parents.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tapasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This place has an amazing terrace and friendly service. There are beautiful trees and flowers all over the garden terrace with tables and chairs.
The rooms are very clean with nice touches, and a refrigerator. It was well-spaced, and we had a huge window, plus it was a great value compared to other places we stayed of comparable price.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Quiet hotel in a villa with a nice garden allowing a magnificent panoramic view of the city...Excellent service. Family atmosphere. this is the place where you feel like at home. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flying-blue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here for a few days(oct 2011 ) in a Single room(#107) , I had a realy nice time here there is a small TV and a small fridge in the room , especially the bathroom is very nice ,big and so clean you also get shampoo and bathsoap.
There is also Airco but I did not need it, there is a small window in the room.
You can have breakfast in the morning, I did not do that because there is a realy nice local bakery down the street , You get a map with local restaurants at the front desk, there is a restaurant ISamoa and it`s a nice local restaurant also down the street on the small square.
There is Wifi in the hotel , but there is no computer so bring your own, or go to the square and there you can find internet (near bank) for 0.50 Euro you get 30min Internet and realy fast.
People wrote that`s a long and steep climbout to the hotel , yes it is but next to red house there is a stairs/steps wich you can use, people also wrote it`s far from the city center but it`s only 15min walk.
The people in the hotel are so nice and speak English very good.
I would ask everybody who is looking for a nice , safe , CLEAN place to stay in a local area to GO HERE !!!!!
You can pay with your credit Card.
I hope to come back here soon........Thank you Hotel Monte Victoria.....your the best!

Room Tip: #107 is a Single Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backpacker2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we have just had a great holiday here, thanks in no small part to Vicotria and her family who own the hotel. lovely terrace garden, rooms spotless, cleaned daily,with fresh towels toiletries.Peaceful relaxing holiday. Will definitely return.
A few tips, the hill is ok if you are reasonably fit, a bus does run in the mornings and late afternoon, not sure of the times 1.2 eu a trip. More regular buses drop you off in the square, for the 5 min . walk to hotel. 10 min stroll to plaza del mercad with a selection of bars/restuarants, or a further 10 min stroll to old town centre with more choice.Breakfasts for 2.5 to 3.5 eu if you look further you can find an english breakfast if you need one 5eu. 3 Course menu of the day 10eu or so. When you are "tapassed" out, and bocadilloed out there is a fantastic all you can eat chinese, NOT in mercad, at the back of the cathedral open every evening 17 eu a head, but theres fresh tuna, sushi ,seafood, chicken beef etc. pick your veg, meat and sauce and watch the chefs stir fry it for you. Tuna was amazing i just had it plain grilled.
On the walk to the mercad, there is a small bar /rest. called panini's try the chocolate churros for breakfast, perfectly addictive
The beach isn't too bad, gets crowded with locals at the weekend, we used to lie on the sand dunes with palm trees for shade. Cathedral is amazing, we went on tuesday and got in free, do not miss the chuch at the top of the square ( basillica victoria ) the church is free but go in the morning 10ish or so and for 2 eu you get a tour of the crypt and a back view of the altar, sounds mundane but go its amazing and only takes 20mins.
The gibralfaro castle is good too, get the 1 bus to the strip and 35 bus up the hill, be warned this is a hill, oh its free from 2pm Sunday,as is the Alcazar. We went to Granada on the coach, make sure you get the main station not the bus station by the main tourist office. Buses on the hour 20 eu round trip. The Alhambra palace was ok, go to the gibralfaro 1st Alhambra is like that on a bigger scale. We waited till 7pm to see the nazir palaces and i was underwhelmed, lots of intricate carved arches going from empty room to empty room, and thats it! By the way Victoria helped us book our tickets in advance by phone, i would never have been able to manage without her, try reading your bank card no. out in spanish lol.
Next time we'll try Ronda instead, picasso museum, doll museum, modern art museum, best of all the classic car museum 5 eu each. This is a great place to spend an hour or 4 with some real classics, ww2 mercedes, hispano sueza, caddys, rolls,etc. concept cars ,my fav. was a tandem 2 seater 1920s model powered by an aircraft engine! Have a nice trip

Room Tip: we booked a double with laterooms.com. Our room was large and spacious but a twin, the hotel only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alistair w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had an overnight stop in Malaga before boarding our cruise ship, and this hotel was a lovely relaxing start for our holiday.
The owners reception was very friendly and welcoming, and we had a lovely meal at a nearby restaurant (suggested by the owners). The room was clean, light and airy and the balcony in the morning was an added bonus as the views over Malaga were wonderful. Would highly recommend for a more traditional Spanish stay than the hotel chains.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,130 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#11 of 89 in Malaga
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Hotel Humaina
#65 of 89 in Malaga
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Victoria

Address: Calle Conde de Urena 58, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: $65 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monte Victoria Hotel is situated in the centre of the town on the top of the Mount Victoria, in front of the Mount of Gibralfaro, where the castle with the same name is. It has an excellent view over the city, in a quiet area with space for walking between trees and where its good equipped rooms will help you to feel at home. Opened in March 2003, it is an old family Villa of 1940 that has been restored for becoming a hotel keeping its smart appearance. It has been restored too the old furniture and all the old ornamental things that had belonged to the owners' family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monte Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Victoria Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing