We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in the MS Maestranza in November last year. We found it to be very central for bus transport, the beach and the historic part of town. The Hotel itself was lovely and clean and the Staff were very friendly and helpful. We only had dinner once in the Hotel (which was delicious) and had breakfast at the cafe downstairs adjoining the Hotel. I can highly recommend the Cafe - the food was delicious and the staff were very helpful.

Unfortunately, our trip to Malaga was cut short due to some health problems, but we hope to return to Malaga and to this Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: A room high up facing the rear of the Hotel overlooking the bullring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    429
    130
    19
    5
See reviews for
116
493
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and the moved to the AC Malaga Marriott . It was the difference between day and night for around an extra £ 10 per night . I thought Maestranza was cramped and a bit smelly . Unfriendly , abrupt guy in front of house . Wi Fi kept knocking off . 15 min walk into Center . One of those hotels you go to and wish you were back at home . Spend a few quid extra .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LISBURN37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have read mixed reviews for this hotel and, having just returned from a 3 night stay, I recommend it fully. It is in a great position with the top, rear floors overlooking the bull ring. We stay on the 2nd and 3rd floors and they were very nice, having been recently renovated. The sauna area was been done during our stay so it was out of commission. The buffet breatfast is over priced at euro 15. You can get better value by walking down to the front (down some steps opposite the front door there are 2 or 3 places to eat). if you take the train you can get off at the end of the line (Malaga Central) which is slightly closer than Maria Zambrano. with either station then make your way to the seafront and follow the road around - the hotel is behind the big white building near the marina. You can get a taxi from the rank behing the hotel to the airport - they are on meters and cost between 17-22 euros. Head toward the LHS of the castle for the old town area with plant of bars and eating places. The train service is efficient and cheap - can recommend a trip down the coast, even on a Sunday the trains are every hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked this hotel after reading positive reviews from others who had stayed here. We were not disappointed! Easy to get to from Malaga airport – the A bus stops just outside arrivals (friendly and helpful drivers!!) and took us to the last stop all for E3.00 – Very easy to do.
Hotel staff were truly lovely and always happy. We asked for a low floor room, which we got. The hotel was always spotlessly clean and our room smelt amazing after it had been cleaned. The hotel is great for exploring the Alcazabar and the Castle Gibralfaro,(very tiring to do both in a day!) a stone’s throw from the beach and a 10 minute stroll into town where there are so many bars and eateries to suit every taste. There is a supermarket just round the corner for groceries which was very cheap!
There is a small spa on the top floor and an outdoor seating area. The spa is well used and gets very crowded as it is quite small and will only take 6 people. However Sauna and steam room are ok and the gym met the needs of my husband.
The only minor grumble was that there was no kettle in the room, but apart from that a fantastic hotel that suited our needs – we could have been more central but chose this hotel because of location to the beach which was also clean and safe with crystal clear water – even in January!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for some amazing views of either the Castle or the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Could not fault this hotel at all. Would certainly not hesitate to recommend. great location too! highly recommended. Staff were very friendly and gave all the information we asked for. Hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: most rooms have balconys and the higher the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel, we stayed from January 20 to 24th. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and our room 1010 was very nice, the bathroom was large with a jacuzzi style bath, great decor huge bed and coffee making facilities. We had a balcony with a sea view to the left and a magnificent view of the Alcazaba and Cathedral to the right
Very good selection of food at the buffet breakfast.
Great location opposite the port which has lots of shops and bars yet a five minute walk to the beautiful old town.

Room Tip: 10th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 767Holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent location.The hotel was very clean. The room was very comfortable .brilliant views of the sea,marina and city from our room 1009 on the 10th floor. Staff friendly

Did not like the food in hotel but in general we didn't like any of the food in Spain. Only one English speaking station on tv .sky news. On holidays we didn't want to be watching 24 hours a day! A few more English speaking stations would be good and tea / coffee facilities should be in room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing