We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time was had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga
1 review
“A great time was had”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great hotel with lovely colleagues we were well looked after
The hotel was in a great location for all the local shops and resturants only 10 mins to the port and five minutes to the beach would use this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    444
    135
    23
    5
See reviews for
117
519
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had good view of bull ring as we were on the quiet side of the hotel. Nice staff. Clean but needs a revamp and more sight seeing information as we were unsure where to go first. However we soon realised we were pretty near Picasso Museum, Alcazarbar, port, etc

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location, higher rooms have a fab view of the port, castle and cathedral. Easy walking distance to many of the main sites and beach. If you have a car, go to the back of the hotel by the bull ring where the taxi's rank is and pull up, pop into the hotel and they will get someone to come out and take your car away to the car park.

Breakfast was average - I would suggest maybe book a room only and use the café next door to the hotel instead.

Our room was very nice, with a good bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities would be a welcome addition though.

The staff were very helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Malaga. So much so that I have booked again for this week to see the Christmas lights.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Good location, you can easily walk to the city center. Also it is close to the beach. The hotel has a spa and a roof-terrace. We didn`t use it because of the wheather- but it seemed nice. Also the hotel is close to the hop-on-hop-off buses. The breafast was good and had enough to choose among unless you are very spoiled...lots of good fruit!
The room had a nice view from the balcony. We asked for a room high up before we arrived (e-mailed the hotel). The bed gave us a very good nights sleep.
We can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We used the hotel as a base for a long weekend during which we visited Granada and Ronda and pottered around Malaga. It is fairly centrally located for bars and restaurants in Malaga. The room was well appointed, the bar convivial and breakfast pretty comprehensive. Staff were friendly and helpful. They take your car away to park it but you have to watch out when you first arrive because satnav will bring you to a busy road where you can't stop. You actually need to go to Calle Marstranza and initially park up by the bull rink. We enjoyed our stay. The only downside was 24 hour traffic noise but that would probably apply to any city centre hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CW1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent a grown up weekend at this smart city hotel. It's location is a good one, you can walk easily to the sights and shops. The views of the marina from the restaurant in the morning are wonderful, breakfast is done well too. Our room suited us, views nice furnishings and the spa and gym are nicely done. This was our first visit to Malaga and we found it a great city. Still warm and sunny in November, just bring a cardi for the chill air at night. A good choice for city sun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The room was large and clean and the staff friendly enough. We had a nice view of Malaga from our balcony. There is a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and small gym on the roof which is nice and there are really great views from up there. The location was great, very close to the beach and lots of nice restaurants right outside. Just a short walk along to the old town where there are lots of things to see and do.

My only issue with the hotel is that it lacks personality and I found it a little boring. There were no personal touches added even although we had mentioned it was our honeymoon, which I guess is the down side of booking in a large hotel. The other hotel we stayed in made us feel special and went out of their way to accommodate us.

Overall it is a nice hotel and offers you everything that you would need for a comfortable stay, but service is a little robotic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,958 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
465 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing