We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel MS Maestranza
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Tønsberg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with perfect location - 5 min. to the beach and 10 min. through a lovely garden/park to the city center. Great view from the terrace on the top floor, where you also find a jacuzzi and a few sunbeds. The breakfast restaurant is a bit small, so you might have to wait a few min. for a table, but there's sofas to wait in and newspapers available. The food variaty is good and the restaurant staff is very friendly. All in all a good choice and I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKHT_nsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    444
    135
    23
    5
See reviews for
117
519
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during La Feria the town festival in Malaga. Nice room at the 9th floor with direct view to the bull fight arena. Quite spectacular view. In walking distance to everything: the harbour front, the beach, the city and the museums. Breakfast tradtionelle broad and I would add outstanding.
Malaga is not a beach city so in order to go to the beach you a 10 min walk away and you have the ocean and beach in front of you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Milkman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good bits and bad bits:-

It's situated in the Spanish holiday quarter, so no British chavs to worry about. The only other Brits were like us, doing a couple or three days of beach after a cruise.

Good rooms, with good air con, although we had twin beds that didn't fasten together, so if you want that "cuddle factor" during the night you will find yourself on the floor!

The Malequeta beach is literally 200 metres from the hotel. (turn left out of the door), and there are plenty of bars/restaurants around the hotel or down by the port. (turn right out of the door, then left at the roundabout)

There is also a great little coffee bar attached to the hotel.

The breakfast in the hotel was average-good, nothing wrong with it at all.

I was at first surprised that the hotel doesn't have a pool, but a rooftop terrace. However the beach is a five minute walk so it wasn't a problem.

Our room overlooked the Bullring, and it was the Malaga festival week, so we saw a few bulls having their necks slashed, which I didn't think was fair game. (Four onto one. I mean come on, if you're gonna put your gonads on the line for a "fair" fight I can understand it, but you just slaughtered the bloody thing. Coward.)

Did a city tour on the horse carriages which I would avoid unless you;re only there for a day. We had walked 95% of the trip in the previous day. It's 30 euro for about 30 minutes. Just walk it.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has shade in the evening, but overlooks the bullring. (NB: This is not the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in mid May 2012 prior to departing from Malaga on a Royal Caribbean cruise ship. We stayed two nights and booked a superior room. The hotel is pretty central without being right in the middle and near all the noise. One down side though is the rooms which face that back of the hotel directly overlook the bullring - to some that may be an advantage but as an animal lover and one with an abhorence of barbarism and cruelty if there had a been a bull fight on whilst we were there I would probably be writing a very different review!! (bullfights are, I think on some Sundays).

The taxi from the airport had to drop us on the pavement which wasnt too easy as the traffice was very busy, but it wasnt a problem for us. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and the porter who helped us with our bags up the steps and into the hotel, and then took them to our room was very pleasant and helpful to us throughout our stay.

the hotel is compact but very pleasant, the bar / restaurant area is quite cosmopolitan but there wasnt anyone around in it when we stayed. there is also a computer with free internet access outside the bar area.

On the roof of the hotel is a sauna and a hot tub a gym and loungers on a terrace. It was a bit quite when we were there but nevertheless the set up is very pleasant.

Our room was on the corner of the hotel with a lovely big balcony with views down the central gardens (which are lovely) and form a very pleasant pedestrian only walkway down to the centre of Malaga, and also we had a view over the port area, again, very very pleasant.

the bathroom and all facilities were really nice. TV a bit disappointing but that;s usual in countries where you dont speak the language on the telly but that was a blessed relief to me as a TV hater !!

All in all, very pleasant and I would recommend it. the price was reasonable too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on sort of triangular bit of the hotel, they have large balconies and get lots of sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzifloozi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at MS Hotel Maestranza for one week, booking three rooms. This hotel is located near Malagueta Beach in Malaga, just 300-400 m away from the beach, and walking distance from city center and very beautiful Paseo del Parque.
Staff is very helpful, rooms were clean, good breakfast. Beautiful view from the Hotel`s roof terrace, where you can rest and use sauna and Jacuzzi. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SofiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent four nights in this hotel. Room very spacious and clean with large double bed. Located in the middle of some main roads. My previous visits to Spain have taught me that the red lights and pedestrian crossings are optional to traffic so extra caution is required when crossing the roads.
However this hotel is well located for what the city has to offer. The beach is 5 minutes away as is the restaurants and marina and shops. At night at the marina there is also a craft market selling jewelry and paintings.
A fifteen minute walk through the gardens or along the marina takes you to the main town. Top tip from me is don't go out to eat until about 22.00hrs as that is when the atmosphere in the town gets going.
The staff at reception are very helpful if you need to ask anything about the area.
We got the bus from the airport to the hotel to save a bit of cash and a taxi to the airport to go home. There is a taxi rank next to the hotel.
We had a fantastic trip. The people we met were really kind and helpful. We found the prices of food and drink and transport very reasonable.

Room Tip: High floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giniEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Business style hotel with good location to see malaga over looking bullring and very close to beach and port bars hotel bar limited and good for a bed, hotel has a small gym and sun terrace facilities limited parking nearby prob closer to 3 than 4 stars

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astondb9Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,952 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
464 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MS Maestranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MS Maestranza

Property: Hotel MS Maestranza
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo 1, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > La Malagueta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel MS Maestranza 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel MS Maestranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestranza Hotel málaga
Hotel MS Maestranza Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing