We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, could be a bit better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Ranked #21 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, could be a bit better”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days last week, rooms was fine nice and clean, asked for towels after a 2 days as they had not been changed, no bother got 2 replacements.
Breakfast was great €5, well worth it, communal cooking area was fine although the small 2 ring electric cooker just wasn't up to the job. Nice roof top area for sitting out.
Only down side was the mosquitoes in the room, the reception gave us a plug in machine to help, but by that time we had quite a lot of bites......

All in all very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
31
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
179 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

First, I'd recommend this hostel to anyone and I'm not a fan of hostels generally, as I much prefer the privacy of a private room. This place was great, friendly and attentive staff, a beautiful terrace (with breakfast on the rooftop in summer for only 5 euro-worth it), comfortable beds, clean as a whistle and clean bathrooms. I have only one complaint and it was the noise. The hostel itself was quiet, but there is way too much street noise. Even with the windows closed, I got about 2 hours of sleep due to the noise of both cars and people outside. The only other thing I noticed, and an Irish guy I met there said, was that the windows in our room didn't close fully and it let in biting flies, we both woke up with bites all over our arms but really it wasn't a big deal. I'd recommend this place and if I'm in Malaga again I'll stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Glubetrutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in Casa Al Sur Terraza for 3 nights in a room with private bathroom and balcony. The hostel opened a few months ago, everything is new and fresh. The room is very nicely decorated, with an eye to details. It is equipped with everything you need (heater, fan, towels, warm bed linen, soap, hairdryer ...). The bathroom is new and very clean. The room is quiet since the hostel installed new double glass windows in most of their rooms recently. The communal areas are great, there is a big roof terrace with seats and tables to relax or have breakfast. The lounge with kitchen is fantastic, you get Wifi there and you have the possibility to buy beverages (beer, water or bottles of wine) to very fair prices. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located very close to the historic center, a 10-15 minute walk to the cathedral or about 25 minutes to the beach; the trainstation that takes you to the airport is within a 10 minute walking distance. We definitely liked our stay and will surely come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Hostel itself is great. The rooms are delightful. The bathrooms are great. The terrace was nice (although part of it was flooded with water from a rainstorm). The common area had a basic kitchen, free coffee/tea, and a fridge where you could help yourself to beer, pop, water etc. on an honour system. The overall design of the place is cute and contemporary. Each door bed had a small safe: enough for small valuables but not a lap top or ipad. The owners are lovely and helpful.

The problem was that for the two nights I stayed I was subjected to drunken revelers in the streets. The first night there were drunk kids singing and yelling at the top of their lungs up and down the streets for more than an hour in the middle of the night, and the next night there were drunken men yelling at each other. It sounded like they were outside my window even as they were a block or two away. Even with the shutters closed and wearing ear plugs, the sound was brutal (and I'm fairly relaxed as you have to be as a hostel traveler!). Maybe their other location is more quiet?

I spent the rest of my time in Spain making sure that all accommodation was quiet and that rooms were away from any main road. The noise was so disappointing because the owners are great, hardworking people who will make you feel at home but I'm not sure they are able to install double-glazed windows any time soon.

Room Tip: If they have rooms away from the street, I would choose those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googlywoogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Owner at Casa Al Sur Terraza, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy you enjoyed our new place. We do try to fill both hostels with what we hope is a clean, relaxing atmosphere. Malaga is a vibrant city with lots of culture, outdoor activities and nightlife, sometimes, like any other city, the weekends can get a bit louder than usual. We hope that because we are in a more relaxed neighborhood, the hostel stays quieter than most, but of course there are always exceptions...specially on the weekends.
Because of this, you will be happy to know that, as predicted, all rooms have been fitted with double glass windows as of today... Thank you again! Saludos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Casa Al Sur
#20 of 145 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#8 of 145 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Centro
Picnic Dreams Boutique Hostel
Centro
Feel Hostels City Center
Feel Hostels City Center
#39 of 145 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Al Sur Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Al Sur Terraza

Property: Casa Al Sur Terraza
Address: Calle Marmoles 28, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro , La Trinidad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Al Sur Terraza 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Al Sur Terraza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Al Sur Terraza Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing