We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in the hills above Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 6 wonderful days at the Hotel Villa Guadalupe. We were made to feel more than welcome - we were at home. Our spacious room had a terrace with a fantastic view of the city and sea. We enjoyed the pool which also commands a very nice view of the city. When our arrival flight was delayed they kept the kitchen open late so that we could enjoy dinner on arriving! We walked down to the bus stop (about 10 minutes but a bit steep) and rode in airconditioned buses into Malaga to visit all the sites. We did take taxis back (form 8 to 10 Euros) because it was hoter by days end. Typically after a dip in the pool we would eat at the hotel's restaurant which is absolutely excellent (and offers a nice price break for those staying at the hotel). We will plan to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 512 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night (unfortunately) in the hotel, and we were very happy with all aspects of the place. The views from our balcony, and from where you have dinner were excellent, the restaurant food was very nice, nice swimming pool and small lounging area and the hospitality 2nd to none. They really have a great place there. We got a great deal as well and would recommend staying there if in Malaga.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in October 2012, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay (see my last review on 30th October 2012).

I had to visit the Malaga region again this month, but for only a 2 day visit, and decided to stay at the Villa Guadalupe again for 1 night. It was very nice to receive a warm welcome from Candace who remembered me from our previous visit.

This time, because my booking was short notice, the only room available was without a balcony or terrace, but as it was for 1 night this was not a problem. The room was well furnished, clean, had good views over the pool area and distant mountains from a bay window, had plenty of wardrobe space, and had complimentary Wi-Fi and room safe. The en-suite bathroom was well equipped and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

What really makes this hotel special is the restaurant, with magnificent views over Malaga and really excellent food prepared imaginatively by the chef Amador. The service is also friendly and efficient. There is also a large terrace just below the restaurant, which overlooks Malaga and is ideal for a pre-dinner drink. Breakfast has a reasonable choice of cereals, meat, cheese and breads with eggs cooked to order.

The hotel has a small but well maintained swimming pool with comfortable sun loungers and nearby showers and changing rooms.

Another real advantage of this hotel is the fact that car parking is free (unusual for Malaga), and although located on a hill on the outskirts of Malaga, at the bottom of the hill (which is very steep!) there is a bus stop on a direct bus route (Number 21) into the centre of Malaga, and the fare is only €1,30 each way.

Because the hotel is located in a residential area, you do need to travel by car or bus if you want to see the sights or visit the bars and restaurants of Malaga, but this was not a problem for me.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone who was looking for a smaller, more personal hotel, with good facilities and an excellent restaurant, but close enough to enjoy all that Malaga has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2 have great views over the city and sun on the balcony for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel and fantastic restaurant with views over Malaga and the sea. Very helpful staff. Quiet area, but only 10 minutes by car to the center of Malaga or the airport.
We had the best lunch and dinner in Andalucia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grete53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an exquisitely located hotel run by two brothers and families.

The chef is nothing short of exceptional. You could in all honesty eat there every night for a week and have had a great culinary experience.

The hotel is simple. The view is not. It is exceptional as you look over the city all the way to the sea.

Please visit this hotel and restaurant. You will be beyond surprised by the elegance of a simple hotel with an outstanding restaurant in an ideal location.

Room Tip: go for the room and full board. it is more than worth it.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drsjadfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very helpful and charming staff, great restaurant with superb view over Malaga, has a pool ideal for cooling down, car parking space, and the quiet location is set high up about Malaga just off the motorway but easy to miss the turnoff to the winding, uphill road to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you like a small (11 rooms only), family operated hotel with a gourmet restaurant, fabulous views over Malaga, and a quiet tranquil location, Villa Guadalupe is it. Rooms are very clean and well furnished. Owners are there at all times and very friendly as are the staff. Fluent English spoken. Great value for money and highly recommended. If arriving at night by car could be difficult, we had satnav so no problem. We stayed 5 nights so worked our way through the superb gourmet food served in the restaurant (at lunch time too).

Room Tip: Room 10 had lovely private covered balcony and those superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,272 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#27 of 89 in Malaga
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 89 in Malaga
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Address: Calle Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Malaga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $69 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga
Hotel Villa Guadalupe Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing