We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ugly room”
Review of Hotel Acacias

Hotel Acacias
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Acacias
Ranked #73 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed January 20, 2007

I love the hotel architecture and location. The breakfast was also great. However the room was ugly and it was better for a single person- we were two!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank soraya-marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 22, 2006

I've just come back from a week at the Acacias and really thought it was a blueprint for how small hotels should be. Stylishly decorated, spotlessly clean and friendly but discreet service from the staff.

The hotel is a 19th century villa set in a walled garden full of lemon trees. Its interior is welcomingly dark and cool, red and ochre washed walls, rich parquet floors and old wooden shutters on the windows. Our room was large, high ceilinged and airy, with crisp white linen on the bed and a sparkling mosaic tiled bathroom. There are deckchairs and parasols on the aforementioned garden where you can chill out with a beer or soft drink later in the day (breakfast can be had outside too).

Breakfast was standard continental (sweet) but none the worse for that. We didn't try the garden restaurant but heard it was pretty good. The staff were really nice, most spoke some English and if not they did their level best!

My only gripe was that the aircon was a bit erratic - we were frozen on cooler evenings and roasted during hot nights. Not sure why that was.

Great as a place to spend a week kicking back or as a base for exploration. Pedregalajo beach is 5mins walk away - it's a bit scrubby but fine and there are lots of seafood restaurants and bars to keep you fed and watered. Some good cocktail joints too. Most people were locals or Spanish tourists. If a picnic is more your thing, there's a good supermarket called Super Sol quite close to the hotel.

Malaga centre is a 20min bus ride away - take the number 11. It has loads of great tapas joints and the old Juderia district around the cathedral is a very evocative whirl of narrow winding streets and alleys. I'd also recommend a visit to the hammam - it's a wonderfully atmospheric building and very reviving experience. Also worth a visit is the Alcazaba - maybe a little underwhelming if you've been to the Alhambra but less thronged, interesting in its own right and boasts some fantastic views over the city. A rather sweaty 20min walk takes you from there to the top of the Gibralfaro (even more fabulous views - Morocco on a clear day) but you can recover with a mint tea in scented gardens full of honeysuckle and jasmine.

Great little hotel and a lovely, very underrated town. I could easily have whiled away two weeks if not more.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nanoniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2006

The Hotel Acacias is a charming little villa set in a residential part of Malaga about 15 minutes from the city center. The rooms are spacious and clean, nicely decorated, with beautiful large windows. The bathrooms were clean and spacious as well. Breakfast was served daily, a satisfying selection of bread and pastries as well as fresh fruit, coffee, and orange juice. There is free internet available in the lobby, and there is a cute garden in the back with flowering trees, orange trees, and olive trees providing shade and scenery. The staff generally spoke excellent english.
As for location, the hotel is a five-minute walk from the beach, which is a great place to people-watch and get a plate of fried fish. Getting back and forth to the city center was no problem as the bus was a block away and came frequently (every 8 minutes on weekdays and every 11-12 minutes on the weekends). Do not be put off by the idea of staying out of the city--the inconvenience is minimal and the hotel is worth it.
The best part of the Acacias, however, is the value: 60 Euro/night with an early booking bonus. You might find something cheaper downtown, but I'd be surprised if it's as elegant and comes with as many amenities as the Acacias.
Long story short, the Hotel Acacias was one of the highlights of our nine days in Andalucia. The trip wouldn't have been as special if we didn't have it to come home to every night.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MyDogRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2005

This house has a beautiful architecture, simple but clean rooms and free internet access for its guests. Reception has a good contact for car rental (28 euros per day cat. B car for 2 weeks). The hotel is not really in the city center, but the stop of bus 11 is very close and brings you right to the center of town in approx. 15 minutes. We always travel last-minute which means we have to arrange everything upon arrival. This place was a nice start for our Andalucian tour. We paid 64 euro incl. breakfast for a twin room.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
620 reviews
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#37 of 151 in Malaga
104 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acacias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acacias

Address: Avenida Juan Sebastian Elcano 117, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acacias 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acacias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acacias Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing