We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent central location, very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent central location, very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed for a few days earlier this year, the hotel is in a great central location, and in front of a lovely market,
staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable,
the only down side is that the parking does not belong to the hotel and it is not the most easy to find altough being reasonably close, that was not a big issue though,
so overall i would strongly reccommend this hotel, and it is very good value for money as well

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronicaPita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    335
    134
    31
    21
See reviews for
78
418
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location of this hotel was excellent, a short walk to the beach and to the shopping and restaurant district. The staff was very nice and there was a 24-hour reception. However, you should eat breakfast elsewhere e.g. in a nearby cafe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-BirdieFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

staff were very helpful, particularly when i realised I'd left some clothes behind... The twin room was big enough for both our large bags, could have comfortably stayed for longer, the linen was v clean and reasonable quality, we were on an upper floor and it was quiet.. Bathroom also big enough, shower powerful, and shower gel etc provided. Breakfast / bar area is nice with a big window for people watching or nearer the bar more subdued. You can pay more for a substantial breakfast, but the standard tostatada & coffee is as cheap as anywhere outside.
Staff speak good Engish if you need it but are happy to help you practice your Spanish!
The hotel is really well located near the central 'tourist' area (look out for the fish market just along the road) about 5-10 mins walk from the train station.
felt like good value for two of us at 52euros total, but nothing particularly notable about this hotel to distinguish it from another.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeistyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We cruised from Malaga port and decided to spend a few days afterwards in Andalucia, and needed a home-base hotel in the region. Ataranzanas Malaga was the perfect place! The hotel is well kept, clean, and centrally located - only 2 blocks walking distance to the charming historic section of the city with tapas and shopping. Only a 10 minute taxi ride to the seaport, and 4 blocks walk to the metro - which takes you the 4 stops to the airport for only 1.50 euro pp vs. 25 euro by taxi. After the cruise we rented a car for 3 days to explore Granada and Sevilla, and the hotel stored our extra bags for us for 2 euro per bag. This was a huge help because we could take just what we needed for 3 days and we didn't have to drag the extra luggage all over the place. All the staff were friendly and helpful - the girls at the front desk recommended great tapas places; the breakfast staff were friendly and very nice to our children; we really felt very much at home here. I will certainly stay here again if I have the chance to return to Malaga.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The location is great and the staff is helpful. The rooms are small, but kept clean. Everything is within walking distance (except the airport).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for over ten days for business and I really like the hotel. It has the best price for its offering. Walking distance to public transport, shopping center, restaurants, etc. Plus there is a grocery right next to the hotel to buy something simple to eat in order to save money on food.

Especially, when you are commuting with a rental car you will be fortunate enough to get a free parking between 8pm to 9am at the only open/public parking space in the downtown area (I believe) which is right in front of the hotel. If you can't, especially during Thu, Fri and Sat you can park your car nearby Parking Complex overnight between 8pm to 9am at a price of 4.90 Euros with a discount ticket offered by the hotel.

I am planning to stay there again after staying over in Marbella on a golf weekend. The location of the hotel is making my stay in Malaga more enjoyable especially the night life after work and eating good/excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photovoltaics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have now stayed at the Atarazanas a total of five times in recent years. From this it can be concluded that we are happy with the accommodation. The location of the hotel is excellent and now, with the re-opening of the Alameda Central train station, after the 11 minute journey in from the airport, it's only a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the staff friendly. The re- opening of the Mercado Atarazanas across the street has brought additional life and colour (and maybe a little extra noise) to the location. Malaga is a wonderful and convenient location for a 'city break'. It is a lively and attractive Mediterranean port city offering an enormous variety of eating establishments and monuments like the Alcazaba. We always find the time to visit this Moorish fort - rather like a mini Alhambra. Another attraction not to be missed are the botanical gardens of La Conception on the outskirts of the city. They are easily reached using the No 2 bus line from the Alameda - though you do have to complete the journey with a 15 minute walk. Also now on the ever expanding ‘not to be missed' list is the new Carmen Thyssen Museum. So far as restaurants are concerned, for us, no stay in Málaga would be complete without visiting the Cáfe Central in the Plaza de la Constitución. The great pleasure here is to sit outside to enjoy a meal and watch the multitude of people passing through the square. Another favourite is Vino Mio on c/Alamos. It’s a friendly, lively place offering contemporary European cuisine in a relaxed environment, AND it offers a flamenco show. Speaking of which check out Kelípé. There, in the rather odd surroundings of a unit in the basement of the Galerias Goya shopping centre, you will be transported to another place by the music and dance of ‘El Indio’ (Shane González) and his wife ‘Yedra’ (Susana). Already looking forward to our next stay in Málaga.. We'll be returning to Málaga, and to the value for money Hotel Atarazanas.

Room Tip: There can be some intrusion of street noise, so ask for a quiet room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Itaca Malaga
Itaca Malaga
#23 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#28 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Hotel Del Pintor
#15 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel

Property: Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Atarazanas 19, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, air-conditioned rooms at Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel have a balcony, plasma satellite TV and a safe. Private bathrooms include a hairdryer and vanity mirror. Beach towels are available to rent.There is a luggage storage and weighing facility. Staff at the 24-hour reception can provide information about what to see and do in Malaga. The Picasso Museum and Thyssen Museum are both a 15-minute walk from Atarazanas Malaga Hotel. The hotel has a reserved loading bay at the front and private parking is available nearby for a fee. It offers great transport connections, with Malaga Airport just 10 minutes' away by car and Malaga Train Station, 1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atarazanas Hotel málaga
Atarazanas Malaga Boutique Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing