We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining experience ever in Malaga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Meson de Cervantes

El Meson de Cervantes
Reserve with
El Meson de Cervantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,956 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Meson de Cervantes es una parada obligatoria para aquellos fanaticos del buen comer. Tapas tradicionales y tapas creativa de autor, amplia y cuidada seleccion de vinos y cervezas.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever in Malaga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I have been travelling to Malaga three or four times a year for the past 10 years and in that time we have tried numerous restaurants of varying quality in the centre of Malaga.

We found el meson de cervantes after doing a search on Trip Advisor and ate there on 9 April. I can only say we were absolutely overwhelmed by the experience. The restaurant itself is beautifully laid out - very welcoming and friendly. We had not made a reservation but Yolanda met us at the door and swept us to our table, assuring us nothing was too much trouble and then entertaining us to her impish sense of humour as we made our choice of a range of dishes. The restaurant offers full or half portions of all its main courses - including steak - so it absolutely invites you to try out a full selection of what is on offer. The kitchen is open at the back of the restaurant and we noticed the care the chef was taking to ensure each dish was beautifully presented before being brought to table. Everything we tried was exquisite and we had a wonderful fun filled and enjoyable evening, ably assisted by Yolanda and her gentle teasing - she is an absolute sweetheart.

This will be our "go to" restaurant now every time we return to Malaga.

Well done to all involved!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maryhand2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,919
    688
    187
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We tasted the food from both restaurants, El meson de Cervantes and Tapeo de Cervantes. We went for tapas ( half portion) to get the chance to try a variety of local food. Both restaurants share the same values for healthy eating and intriguing tastes. We particularly liked the El meson de Cervantes as it's more spacious and it appeals more to young people. The latter has a more traditional feel to it. The dishes were immaculate, a great combination of ingredients and textures. A gourmet restaurant without the hefty price! The staff is very friendly and cheerful as well. We were served by Beatriz who was very helpful and suggested some lovely tapas to try such as the octopus with beetroot pure which was surprisingly delicious! We're definitely going back again and we are strongly suggesting it to everyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ilias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Albano, you are a star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I feel home at Meson de Cervantes, I know the all family and I can guarantee it's always a superb personal and gourmet experience.
Sometimes I just don't want to choose from the menu, I call Albano and ask: give me some fish/meat choice, medium hungry.
After few minutes, like in a starred Michelin restaurant, I have a set of delicious dishes, just enough for my appetite!
This is the posh version of tapas, keeping the traditional flavor and the good quantity, but with a light touch!
PS: I'm also going there tonight, in their smaller Tapeo de Cervantes! Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, vert good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nice food and nice people! We had a lot of different dishes and it was all good. It's worth the extra cost for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Believe the favourable reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We picked this out on the strength of recent reviews and were not disappointed. Good selection on a short menu with an excellent, locally-sourced house wine and friendly service. The tapas came out of the kitchen in a sensible order and a pace that meant they were not sitting getting cold while we worked through them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson de Cervantes also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Meson de Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing