We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Debambu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Debambu
Ranked #2 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Oh what a joy it is to stay here. Location fantastic, close to everything, staff brilliant. They've only been open a year so are achieving great things already. Five fantastic stars from me.

DeBambu is in a quiet side street in the pedestrianised shopping centre. From the airport we got the airport bus (Line A) from the concourse just outside the terminal building. 3 Euros (buy on board) takes 20 minutes but allow for peak time traffic. Alight a couple of stops after the bus station, at Alameda Principal, cross the road, walk up the wide main street Calle Larios. Take a left on to Calle Liborio Garcia (opposite Mango) walk to the end, take a left and then first right and deBambu is a couple of meters along on the left. Takes about 5 to 8 minutes to walk on a level smooth traffic free surface, perfect for wheeled suitcases. You can also get a train to Malaga Centro (stop after Malaga main station), journey is quicker but it's a slightly longer walk.

The studio apartment we stayed in (3A) had been refurbished just before we arrived. It used to be on 2 levels but no longer. We had a large wet room with basin and loo. I was sceptical at first as usually wet rooms are precisely that & you spend your time paddling from one area to the next but this one drains beautifully and is nicely finished off and most importantly with a non slip surface. I'm sick of practising my skating skills in hotel bathrooms.
The main room is simply furnished with white units and with white walls and wooden flooring. We had a really especially comfortable bed, nice big pillows, flat screen TV with satellite channels, wardrobe and small table & 2 chairs. Aircon. The kitchen had a large frig/freezer, 2 zone induction hob, combi m/w, kettle, coffee percolator. For those unfamiliar with Spanish toasters, they look like 2 bar halogen heaters. Ours didn't have the word toaster on it, we thought it was a heater & didn't use it, We told Jose we were using the grill on the m/w, he was devastated we didn't have a toaster, provided another and then of course we cottoned on... Duh!

Once in the room it was so quiet, well soundproofed with no noise from other rooms & very very little from the street outside. Only occasionally did we hear doors close. There is now an electronic key card system for entry into the hotel and the rooms, so very secure. There is also a lift and free wifi.

The cleaning staff and the reception staff, brothers Alex and Jose, deserve an extra special mention, they are outstanding. We had a few queries during our week there but they were dealt with quickly and with charm as well. I know you are reading this Jose, so today's English word is....cutlery.

Everything you could wish for is within easy walking distance, tapas bars, bakeries, restaurants, shops, visitor sights etc. The market is about 3 minutes walk away. Even if you are not intending to cook, make an effort to go inside. It's in a wonderful building with a lovely arched stained glass window. The stalls are amazing. Just wander around, take in the sights and smell, you'll see produce in there that we never have in the UK. Super Sol supermarket is a couple or so yards from the market. For a larger selection go to Corte Ingles a few hundred yards away from Super Sol (you can see it from there).

We are already thinking of returning to Malaga as it is such a lovely city, and our stay at deBambu was the icing on the cake. Well done guys, you deserve every success.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 270 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Rarely does any hotel deserve a 5 Star rating but this one thoroughly deserves that rating. It is a family run business that has only being going just over a year and the family are actively involved in the day to day running. They make great effort to ensure you enjoy your holiday and any error or omission is rapidly resolved. They will give you ideas about what to see and where to eat if you want. Needless to say, it gets very booked up for up to a year ahead so if you see a vacancy available, go for it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had an apartment for 3 persons (1 separate bedroom and a living area) and it was all new and shining. The reception was most helpful giving us just the right information we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsinkivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great location just off Calle Nueva. Its my first time to stay in a city apartment and when I return to Malaga these apartments will be top of my list. Very clean and centrally located but in a quiet side street. Staff were very helpful on check in. Apartment style is modern Ikea sytle furniture with some extras that is more commonly found in a hotel - toiletries, tea coffee. Very small gripe is if a few people are sharing the accomodation there is just one mirror if a quick turnaround is needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick1962Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went there in October and the apartment was quiet new. Everything was cleaned up perfect, the interieur is stylish, the location is very central and perfect for going out at night. I wolud recommend this flat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hoc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fantastic location, great standard - better than I expected. Also very nice and friendly staff, cannot complain on anything - it was a perfect choice for us. The main advantage is location because it is located on one of the quiet street but just 2 minutes on foot from the main street of Malaga. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Polsol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were in Malaga in november 2013 and this apartment was a great experience !
The apartment is very clean, modern. The decoration is very "design". The location is really convenient and just near the port of Malaga : great for sea and shopping.
Great apartment and great location !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stef s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,271 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
570 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debambu

Address: Calle Cinteria 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: $63 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Debambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in the center of Malaga, next to the Plaza Félix Sáenz. Very quiet in an ideal location. Debambú Apartments, the best of a hotel ... the best of an apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Debambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debambu Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing