We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tapas, atmosphere, & staff necessitated 2 visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tranca

La Tranca
Ranked #9 of 1,985 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Carreteria street, downtown in Malaga, the tavern La Tranca will conquer you with its selection of tapas, wines and atmosphere. The look is a traditional Spanish bar where you can have Spanish homemade tapas standing in the barrels that make table or at the bar. Try their chilly beers, wines on tap, as the vermouth, moscatel or pajarete, In this tavern you can also enjoy the first drink, all in a warm and authentic place in the city center. Enjoy it!
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tapas, atmosphere, & staff necessitated 2 visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not only was this the neighborhood bar, but the atmosphere and service exemplified that idea. After several attempts at a few other locations, we fortunately persevered to find this locale. Retro 60's and 70's (I believe) Spanish musicians provides the thematic focal point with record labels hanging on the walls, playing music and singing to the tunes. We felt extremely welcome & even when we returned that evening to experience the night life and a their liquor drinks that we observed during "lunch", the bar staff remembered us...with 2 visits we felt local and we wish we had this place in Boston! Gin & tonics are provided with the gin in glass and bottle of tonic to add as much as you please. Out of the 3 items we consumed, we would suggest either one of their empanad specials (we had olive, egg and beef in ours) OR the Tosta de Quezo de Cabralas con carmelized onions (in spanish).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Murat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    125
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent authentic tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

La Tranca is a true gem. The staff is wonderful, it is authentic and well decorated, and the tapas are very good and cheap. The drinks are also cheap and they have a great selection of barreled wines like vermouth. Very authentic but the staff speaks English.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Symonds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited La Tranca for lunch (although it was around 4 in the afternoon) and we absolutely loved it. Despite the fact that we were alone, the barman took great care of us. He was very friendly, delightful and he was singing while preparing our tapas. The tapas were simple but excellent, the music was fantastic and very appropriate for the small tapas bar that this place is. This place is value for money. Cheap prices for sufficient and tasteful food. It's a small place and gets very crowded especially in the evening so go there early. I would definitely visit this place again if i ever returned to Malaga.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SC81Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

if you want some noisy local barin malaga, this place is it.
Cheap price compared to other bars, great food and great drinks.
I've been to other top-rates restaurants in Malaga, and this place is BEST. (if you want some meals, try other restaurant)
hope this bar remains as same until i come back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great local bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

There's a great atmosphere in this small local bar - mainly frequented by locals, but everyone is welcome! The owner is gregarious and you may well find him singing along with the old TV shows being played from DVD. Don't expect a quiet night out as it's small and usually very busy, but that only adds to the great atmosphere. The tapas dishes are pretty good as far as grilling, decanting from a jar or microwaving goes, with the usual excellent hams and prawns that you'd expect from this part of Spain - just don't expect gourmet offerings and you won't be disappointed. You can have a great night out here with good food an drink and it won't break the bank either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tranca also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Tranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing