We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor vs average”

Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente
Ranked #113 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor vs average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have chosen this hostel because of its price, at the given time it was the cheapest option in Malaga and according to google maps it wasnt THAT far from the University of Malaga where I had an exam... Which google maps did not tell me and probably will not tell you, is that it is also close to a place called Palmilla (or something like that) which the most dangerous area in Malaga and that you will get robbed within a second. Fortunately it was not my case as I was there with my boyfriend who is Spanish and made sure we avoided it. Being just a tourist, not having an exam in couple of days I am pretty sure that I would somehow ended up there- with my luck.
The room was as you can expect from an hostel. The hostel had an elevator which was good as we had lot of luggage. For our purpose, the room was OK, one thing what I really did not like was that the doors on the bathroom could not be closed fully and that one of two sockets we had in the room was kind of hanging out from the wall - safe? not so sure... Another thing which I really did not like was that it seemed there are people living from the other side of the building, I mean Spanish families and when they were entering, they slammed door so hard, that it woke me up, all the time... The same when the car was entering... No matter what hour, day or night.
Breakfast was included in the price, but it was the most basic of the basic. I thought that they will at least give their typical breakfast which is a toasted bread with crushed tomato and olive oil. Instead of that there were big bottles of jam and pate placed on the table and also butter. Bread was also available in supermarket package and could be toasted. From drinks coffee and coco was available.
In the end, I paid more than I planned because I was offered a room with a shower inside which went from 17 euros to 22, if I am not mistaken, and later I realized that for the same price I could have a room in the centre, also in a Hostel, with a gym...
All in all, if you have a limited budget and the area is OK, the place is not that bad. Plus 100m down the street is a GREAT sushi restaurant, something like Yo sushi in UK, where for the fixed price you can eat all you want and the food was really worth it.
At our departure there was nobody present at the reception, we left the keys in the room - the lady who was cleaning the rooms suggested it.

Room Tip: Definitely not the one that is facing the drive way for the cars which is located on the left side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia_Alexandra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent one night there in a room for four, the fourth bed was on terrace that had been closed, but the windows let a lot of wind in and during the night it was chilly, the one blanket per bed was not enough. Other than that, the room was simple but the clean, the shared bathrooms were also clean and the price was super (€68 with breakfast for 4 people). Keep in mind that if you book here you have to go there with a hostel mentality and hostel expectations because this is a student residence.. if you expect a hotel double room than this is not the right place for you.
Connection with the city center is also great, there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskettara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

The Good:
It was very cheap
It was clean
There were no outstanding problems that made it unliveable.

The Bad:
The room was small, with no air-conditioning
It was located in the middle of nowhere - a 25 minute bus ride gets you to the centre
No power sockets in the room(!)
The included breakfast was very poor
Due to recent lock changes, you have to ring the buzzer to get the front door open - however, sometimes no one was manning the buzzer.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverendingnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Leigh, Lancs, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

No aircon, lousy location, shabby furniture, no facilities worth mentioning.

OK this is a cheap hostal but even by hostal standards this was poor. If nothing else the location will put you off. A good 20 minute bus ride from Malaga City Centre with few places of interest nearby. A few local bars/restaurants with freindly enough locals but not of a particulary high standard. Much more choice in the City.

Our twin bedded room was stiflingly hot and there was plenty noise from other guests coming & going. Very difficult to get a good nights rest.

Do yourself a favour - if your budget can stretch to 10/20 Euros a night more go for a centrally located Hotel or hostal. The Las Vegas Hotel by the beach (15 minutes walk from cenral Malaga) was not much more expensive but 10 times better.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank manofleyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2004

It is dirty and the service is really bad.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#22 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga
#12 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente

Property: Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente
Address: Avenida Jacinto Benavente 25 2A, 29014 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria Jacinto Benavente Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing