We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alejandra was the best guide ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fundacion Picasso - Museo Natal

Fundacion Picasso - Museo Natal
Book In Advance
$32.01*
and up
Málaga Pass
Ranked #39 of 192 things to do in Malaga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The building where Pablo Picasso was born in 1881 and lived until 1884 houses works and personal belongings of the artist and his family. A specialized library and an on-going program of temporary exhibitions and cultural activities complement the offer of Picasso's Birthplace Museum.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Alejandra was the best guide ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went in knowing nothing about Picasso. I left as passionate feeling like I want to learn more. I usually cruise right through s museum, i spent 2+ rich hours there happily looking to learn more. Thanks Alejandra!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    134
    116
    36
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Museum, and Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I managed to spend 2 hours in the museum without really noticing. It was a great overview of Picasso's work and the gallery arrangement let's you chart it's progression.

In addition I took in the temporary exhibition "The Grotesque Factor" which was a collection of Picasso's and other artists works based around the differences in the human form and how they are depicted. From the humorous to the grotesque.

The entry price was reasonable too, just nine euros for a combined ticket.

As well as the two main exhibitions there is also a cafe, book/gift shop and the basement which houses an archaeological dig site, depicting walls and rooms of old Malaga. It's not that big, but worth a look, and is a nice little extra.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank iain_darkflare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Malaga is Picasso's birthplace. But like so many great men he left the city in his youth -- and never returned. This museum is quaint, and small enough to see in an hour. The collection is comprised of donations from picassos daught-in-law and grandson. It sits in the shadows of the Malaga Cathedral, down a cobblestoned street where sidewalk cafes live. Traditionalists will see Picasso's early work, laboured portraits. Another room holds abstract war-time paintings. Yet another room holds explosive 60-ish psychadelic paintings. His later work shows the artist in full bloom. Some are famous. The gallery houses a quiet modernistic tea room -- chrome and glass, blended teas and delicious mini-edible art. The gallery gift shop has something for everyone -- i bought a Picasso collar-less, quarter sleeved striped shirt for my grandson ( on sale for €10).
A wonderful way to spend an afternoon in Malaga!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vancouverladyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagoveschensk
Level Contributor
313 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“not much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We happened to be in Malaga on Monday, Picasso’s museum was closed, so we went to Casa Natal de Picasso. It is not big. Since it is a birthplace, it contains some touching personal objects, like Picasso’s christening dress, and very nice pictures from his childhood, with his dad and mum. It also possesses a limited number of prints and ceramics. Actually I felt somewhat disappointed that Picasso's birthplace has been left without his masterpieces. Having seen great expositions of his works in different museums I’d expected to see more in his native place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Feel Picasso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Its nice to see where the mistro from the south lived and what he saw as inspiration for his art. Nice cafes around the square too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fundacion Picasso - Museo Natal also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Fundacion Picasso - Museo Natal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing