We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Buy anything as long as its a kilo !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza de la Merced

Plaza de la Merced
Book In Advance
$123.33*
and up
Half-Day Private City Tour of Málaga
Ranked #18 of 193 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Buy anything as long as its a kilo !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place in a distinctive old building deserves a visit. You can buy farm fresh produce but only in weights / multiples of one kilo. That can be a lot of oranges, strawberries, grapes, olives, etc for one person...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinVinnieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    465
    203
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting place - very good tapas bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I have visited a couple of sites on or near Plaza de la Merced in Malaga: the Picasso Museum and the Picasso Birthplace Museum (which I have reviewed separately). the square is lovely, spacious and surrounded by eateries and tapas bars. I would like to recommend a tapas bar, La Esquina de la Merced (which isn't yet listed separately in TripAdvisor). We had four tapas - boquerones en vinagre, potato salad, serrano ham, and cheese, with two beers, one large (jarra) and one small, followed by two espresso coffees (a single and a double). Everything was fine: the boquerones were very tasty, the serrano ham was perfect, and the tapas were just the right size (even the potato salad!). The bill came to just over 10 Euros. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_Male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“buzzy and pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We often visit this plaza. La Plaza bar is really nice to sit outside when the sun is shining and have ´posh´tapas. Great selection, something different and great flavours. Main meals are good too. Not the cheapest but a nice change from the Andalucian ´norm´

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellygMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, Devon UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bustling place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A good selection of reasonably prized cafes and bars around the square which had a lively local craft market on the Saturday we visited.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun but a little "seedy"!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very interesting mixture of people and definitely worth a few evening sit-outs! Can be seedy late at night but safe and very vibrant!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnpaul4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de la Merced also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Plaza de la Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing