We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in the middle of now where”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cortijo la Reina
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good choice for us for ending our 2-weeks vacation through Andalucia, though the road up the hill is quite curvaceous. Be sure to have a good navi! (Once You found the right country road, it`s marked well). The well decorated interior is a treat for the eyes.Good food, but a bit too expensiv. Enjoyed the round-hiking-trail up the hill, marked from the hotel: Take a little filled backpack (blanket as well) and enjoy a picknick on top of the hill! New owner, fixing the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cortijo la Reina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived later in the evening at this hotel, after having 'fled' the hotel we originally booked (because of bugs in the rooms, eehhhhww!). Because of our experience with the former hotel, we wanted to check the room first, and that was no problem at all; the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, the restaurant was only opened till 22:00, but the staff were happy to serve us even though it was 21:50 by the time we sat down. The meal was fantastic; it was one of the best we have had during our whole trip through Andalucia.
Our room was lovely too: with wooden panels in front of the balcony doors, and a beautiful wooden floor and ceiling. The bathroom was getting a bit old maybe, but everything was clean. Breakfast was nice too: someone served us at our table.
All in all, it was a very nice and lovely hotel and we certainly recommend it. Unfortunately I think they close down for the winter. But do go see the place when you are in/near Malaga!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neechan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We were let down with our booking by travel republic but the hotel still made us welcome and at a cheaper price than travel republic.
This is not the average hotel it's a large old Spanish farm house converted to a hotel and We were given a room in the main part of the hotel and the room was well furnished with antique style furniture and a big double bed and fire place in the corner
The bathroom wasn't modern but suited the room style perhaps could do with a refresh but good hot water nice bath and sink
The main areas of the hotel are immaculately clean with plenty of furniture inside and out to sit and relax and enjoy a drink which the hotel waiter has no problem fetching for you whatever the time
There is a good size pool with nice sun beds around it. the pool was cool but it was the end of September.
Breakfast was basic continental bread jam cheese meat and fruit fresh squeezed orange.
We only had only one evening meal on the Monday night before we departed which was some of the best steak and pork we have ever tasted, but could have done with some vegetable accompaniment, the sweets were excellent as was the service
This hotel was taken over in march so most of the other reviews aren't valid re the food and service, it's obvious they are constantly working to improve. overall a great experience

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night; we own a holiday home not far away and decided to treat ourselves to a night away. Although out of season, we still enjoyed our stay; it's a beautiful old property, nicely furnished in traditional style; the staff were professional and made us welcome. On our arrival we lay on sun beds in front of the cortijo overlooking the extensive garden and moutains; the waiter came and took our order; we enjoyed the sunshine with a glass of cava. We stayed on a Monday and as our agent hadnt pointed out to us at the time of booking that the restaurant was closed Mondays, a special arrangement had been made for us in advance; the chef and waiting staff were called in to accommodate us. We enjoyed our meal with the wine to accompany it; the service was also good the dining room. Our bedroom was beautifully furnished and overlooked the gardens and mountains. There is a large outdoor swimming pool with an attractive seating area which I understands opens from early May. Breakfast was good and served in an attractive dining room. Good value for money, really hard to fault the place. Takes a bit of finding, Sat Nav required. Would like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel offers numerous rooms which are well furnished and a good size. The room we had was well furnished with older furniture and a four poste,very comfortable bed. The grounds are large offering a pool and additional accommodation, including two log cabins and a conference/wedding/celebration area. The hotel was a little tired - a pity as it offered numerous well decorated and furnished rooms in keeping with its Spanish character. The dining rooms were pretty but only two tables were occupied. The food was pleasant and a reasonable cost. Our only concern was the ineffective air con. We were kept awake at night by the heat but were able to open windows to create a through draft. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good value with a pleasing choice. It was a pity that water and juice were served at room temperature, not chilled. This is a quiet and peaceful hotel which with a few minor changes could offer a great summer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with effective air-con.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandrewStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The majority of the reviewers criticise the place. Well, I won't.

Be ready that it is a rather remote property surrounded by mountains and on the edge of a small village, you certainly need a car to get there and to be able to explore the region and dine out. For us it was a definite plus - it meant that the place is far enough from the crowds. They have a big parking and it is for free.

Due to a late flight we arrived well after the midnight. The isolated and silent villa looked great. The only person there - a night guard-receptionnist greeted us, checked us in very quickly, showed us to the room and helped us with the luggage. Despite the late hour he was very friendly and polite and curious about our trip, whether we knew the region and so on.

We booked a Junior Suite and were really glad to find a spacious, clean and elegant room with a tine balcony. As it was chilly outside they put an additionnal heater in the room and our night guide told us that he switched it on in advance so that for the time of our arrival it would be warm enough. So nice of him!

It is a truly quiet place both inside and outside so we really enjoyed sleeping there.

Breakfast... The weakest point of the whole place. So much is said here about the limited choice and lack of freshly cooked food. I won't argue. All of you are right. But as the main thing I need for breakfast is some meat like chorizo, and as I got it, I won't criticise it much.

Speaking about more negative points - we had some problems with hot water, it seemed to run out and stopped suddenly then abruptly appeared again. A bit disturbing if you have eg long hair to wash as I do.

We had a wonderful walk along the mountain paths - they gave us a map with the itineraries and you can find signs of your itinerary on trees and stones etc. We enjoyed playing tennis - they give you rackets and balls, for free and you can play as much as you want. We enjoyed nature and views from the pool area (the pool itself was closed yet).

Yes, it felt unusual, yes it didn't seem like a four-star hotel. But it gave us peace and tranquility we usually lack so much in our crazy city. Actually it didn't seem like a hotel at all. We felt as if we were staying at some far friends' relatives: they allow you to live in their charming remote property in nice settings, they don't bother you much but have no intention to pamper you during your stay.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My four children aged 18 to 24 and I stayed at Cortijo de la Reina for a rural weekend break. The evening walks are lovely and we watched the sun setting over the Malaga mountain ranges....stunning. I am sure there are more hiking paths from the hotel too.

The staff were friendly and arranged a special vegetarian dinner for al 5 of us. We would definitely go there again. We found some nice sitting areas in the grounds of the hotel where we could relax and enjoy the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The connecting rooms which are set apart from the hotel are lovely and have their own terrace for pr...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lizzie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Humaina
#67 of 89 in Malaga
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortijo la Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortijo la Reina

Address: Ctra. Malaga-Colmenar A-7000, km. 17,8, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Malaga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cortijo la Reina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cortijo la Reina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo De La Reina Hotel
Hotel Cortijo La Reina Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing