We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
125
302
124
30
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
302
124
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath train station eurostars hotels old town malaga centro minute walk recommend this hotel city centre walking distance buffet breakfast rooms are small balcony room would stay again local train nice bathroom late check excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 595 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Rooms and facilities
The room was closer to a four star in our opinion with a very comfy bed and lovely bathroom (plus free toiletries) with a Jacuzzi bath. Although a little on the small side, it was fine as a base for exploring the city.

Location
It's ideally situated with a 10 minute walk into Malaga city centre and a 10 minute walk to the main railway and bus stations. The local railway line that runs to the airport is literally 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Be warned though that when exiting Malaga airport to the airport train station is a bit of a trek so if you have a lot of luggage I'd suggest taking a taxi.

Must sees in the region include the Alcazaba, a 20 minute walk to the old Muslim fort in Malaga, taking a 90 minute bus ride to Granada to see the Alhambra Palace (a must!) and a 3 hr train ride to Cordoba to see the Grand Mosque.

Guests
We rarely saw any guests as a consequence of not being on a breakfast board basis.

Food
Same as above regarding the hotel. We ate out and there is masses ofd choice on offer within the city. We regularly ate at the Modern Art Museum which is a stone's throw from the hotel entrance and does a great line in tapas and snacks among very cool clientele.

Staff
The reception staff were a touch on the grumpy side but helpful enough.

The Astoria offers a reasonable value for money considering the location and the room and ideal for a city break.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Continent_Jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

During a trip around the south of Spain this summer, I chose to stay at this hotel for the first and last night of our stay as my husband and I had out flight in and out of Malaga.

The hotel was ideally located for the Central Alameda Train station which was less than 100 metres from the hotel. It was very easy to get the train from the airport to this stop, which is at the end of the line in the centre of Malaga. The train fare is only 1.15€ single.

The hotel itself is a standard 3 * - our room on the first night was at the front of the hotel and had a large window overlooking the river and on the last night we had a room at the back of the hotel, which was a bit poky with a small window looking out onto other windows.

The breakfast at the hotel was very good but there were only ever one or two other people eating breakfast when we were there.

I would recommend this hotel if you are on business or have a very short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank scholesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Stayed at the Eurostars Astoria on Avenida Comandante Benitez 5, between 30th July and 3rd August .

A basic, but spotless hotel, just ten minutes walk to most attractions, shops, bars and restaurants as well as to the port. three minutes walk from the train station and fifteen minutes walk from the bus station.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, spoke English, and German very well.

There are two lifts to the seven floors

The soundproofed Room was quite small but adequate with a mini bar / fridge, phone, a safe and TV. Mini bar quite expensive but aren't they all? (Theres a supermarket just around the corner which is handy to get most things that you may need).
There are plenty of powerpoints in the room, loads of coathangers and adequate shelving for clothes The bed was comfortable and the Air con was not noisy.
The TV only has one English channel, (CNN) which is fine if you like to keep up to date with the business world whilst on your holidays. good news though if you speak Spanish or German as you will be spoiled for choice.
There is a nice bathroom with whirlpool bath( I think I had the same room as the previous poster whose bath leaked, shower, basin toilet and bidet. There is no hairdryer,
The maids are a credit to the hotel for keeping everything neat, clean and in order.


If you are a non smoker, specifically ask for a NS room as mine smelled a little of stale smoke. (my own fault for not specifying as NS rooms are available.)

There is a coffee bar but no bar or restaurant although there is a nice bright modern Breakfast room, with a good selection of fresh fruit, fruit juices, cold cuts, cheese, cereal, bacon and eggs, toast, pastries and all the usual stuff. If you intend to have breakfast you can pre book on check in and it will cost you €7 per day. if you just turn up on the morning, it costs €10

There is an internet terminal in the hotel's coffee bar at 1 € for 12 minutes or €2 for 30 minutes

All road works around the hotel are finished and the result being a nice new paved area to the front.

Getting there from the airport by train is so simple.
Board the train for Malaga (line C1) and stay on until the end of the line (Malaga centro) there are two exits from the underground platform.

FIRST EXIT FROM STATION, take the left exit as you leave the train. The steps go straigt up from the platform to the street. When you get to the top of the stairs, there will be a white and blue ice cream kiosk facing you. look to the right accross the river (which is actually a grassed area at this point) and the hotel is approx100 mtrs over the bridge and directly opposite. next door but two, to the right of the Santander bank

SECOND EXIT FROM STATION.You leave the platform to the right as you leave the train and continue through a long subway at the end of the subway you will go up some stairs and will see a red Tourist information kiosk facing you as you come up the stairs do a U turn and the Astoria is about 40 mtrs on your left.

The ticket machines at the station are all in spanish only so you first select the station you require i.e malaga centro on he touch screen , Then select either "Ida" for one way or "ida y vuelta" for return then insert the correct amount when prompted. **TIP** dont try and save time by buying a ticket for later i.e for your return journey as the ticket is only valid for two hours from purchase
When returning to the airport get off at the one announced as Aeropuerto and not the one announced as T 1 Car park. All trains leave Malaga Centro on the hour and on the half hour promptly. It is impossible to get on the wrong train

HOTEL SUMMARY

In summary a nice base to stay at whilst in Malaga. I would recommend to anyone who wants clean modern accomodation but not too bothered about luxury.

DISTANCES IN TIME FROM HOTEL

10 minutes walk to Shops, main attractions,Restaurants and
bars
3 minutes walk from Train station
15 minutes walk to main Bus station
10 minutes walk to Port
20 minutes walk to beach
20 minutes walk to Alcazaba
15 minutes by train to Airport (COSTS €1.25EACH WAY)
1 hour by train to Fuengirola (COSTS €2.80 EACH WAY)
45minutes by train to Benalmadena (COSTS €1.25EACH WAY)
30 minutes by train to Torremolinos (COSTS €1.25EACH WAY)
1.5 to 2 hours by bus to Granada (take a hat) (COSTS €9 EACH WAY) No train service
2.5 hours flight from UK

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

This hotel is only a few blocks from the bus station. $74euro/double, clean room with shower, hair dryer, comfortable bed, good AC. Food too pricey, but a few other places close by to eat. No problems booking with email, they also speak English and had great service. Would stay again. Pretty good location, Malaga is just big, but OK for the main things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TexasCorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Have just returned from a week at the Astoria in Malaga and would not hesitate in recommending it.

Has to be one of the best located hotels in town for transport links - opposite the Centro Alameda metro link from the airport (end of the line, only 1.15 euros). Moreover, less than a 10 minute walk from both the bus and train stations from where there are brilliant transport links to Seville, Cordoba, Granada, Gibraltar etc etc if like us you are looking for a base to visit Andalucia.

The staff were friendly and helpful (spoke English too - the Reception staff for us were much more helpful than the people at the Tourist Information Centre!) and the rooms were great - ours looked out to the 'river' and street but the double glazing keeps out any noise. No roadworks outside during our stay. Excellent for the price we paid with air con, fridge, safe, satellite TV including CNN in English etc. The water did leak out from the shower over the bath on the first night but there were ample towels and a flannel in the right spot by the shower screen stopped that happening again.

We got a good last minute price that didn't include breakfast but supermarket and bakery and anything else you might need within a 5 minute walk.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank EdinburghTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews