We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel!!!”
Review of Casa Al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Al Sur
Ranked #21 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Paris, France
1 review
“Excellent hostel!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hostel was great! It is very clean, calm, people in dorms are very respectful and careful not to make to much noise. Yet there is a very friendly atmosphere, ideal to meet other travellers, alone or in group, students or adults. The inn-keepers are incredibly nice, open and helpuful! I am staying in Malaga for three month and they helped me out with my installation (finding a flat, advices...). They were also very flexible. Really, it was a very welcoming and high-quality hostel. I was very glad to have found it and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a bit quieter, but the rooms are all more or less the same, and you can easily c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hortense P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
50
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Small and comfortable hostel. The people are very nice and the rooms are clean. All furniture are new and fit very good to the mediterrane and relaxed athomsphere. The rooftop is awesome to enjoy your self made food or just have a nice drink. Its right in the center of Malaga and near to lots of Bars and Restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in Malaga alone following a trip from Seville. I arrived early but I was greeted with a smile and welcomed into the lounge area to wait until my room was ready.

Victor then carried my suitcase upstairs and showed me round. I stayed in a shared dorm with 6 people. The room was light, bright, spacious, clean and airy. Just what I needed. Each bed had its own safe which was handy.
It was a shared bathroom, but there is three bathrooms in the hostel, so i never had to wait.

There is also a lovely roof terrace which is very relaxing.

Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC_0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Casa Al sur is a very good place to stay in malaga..it was very clean and in a very good location.the room has a good size and bathroom was kind of modern too. the only negative point was that breakfast isn't included:(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed in a variety of hostels, but this is hands down one of my favorites. The rooms (I stayed in a dorm-style with 6 beds) were very clean and bright, with cute balconies so that you could lean out for some fresh air. The bathrooms are shared, but very clean and feel like something from your own home. The upstairs terrace is a perfect place for a picnic, and the kitchen was very well equipped, with all the cooking equipment you could possibly need. Victor and Christina were incredibly nice and approachable and gave me a lot of tips on free walking tours, tapas restaurants, and a local market place. The rooms were a bit cold at night and since we were on the procession route for Semana Santa, a bit loud (although I really think any other time of the year you would be fine). The location is fantastic - I never had more than a 15 minute walk to anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellycal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying here! It has all basics you could want in a place to stay, well priced, very clean, comfortable beds, strong hot showers and located within easy walking distance of major sites. There is a bit of noise leaking in from the main street, but I stayed in the dorm style room and use earplugs so I was fine. Its lounge is comfortable and has a relaxing fountain, a nice large clean kitchen with free tea & coffee at any time, a pretty and quiet rooftop patio, it's candlelit throughout at night which makes it feel even more warm and inviting, but what tips it over the scales are the owners. Victor and Christina are wonderful and they know how to make someone feel at home! They offer up good advice about what to do or see in the area as well as advice about how to deal with homesickness ;) Thank you again for a wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottakeepgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A wonderful little hostel. Staff (owners) very friendly and helpful, decor fresh and bright, all areas clean and well-kept. Dorm bed was comfy, good kitchen facilities, great location. Earplugs for outside noise may be helpful if you're sensitive to that but I slept well. The area is safe and the hostel is secure. Don't hesitate to book a bed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Casa Babylon Backpackers
#51 of 87 in Malaga
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#24 of 145 in Malaga
85 reviews
Centro
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#23 of 145 in Malaga
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Al Sur

Property: Casa Al Sur
Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 5, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Al Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenido a Casa Al Sur! Our brand new hostel is a charming 100+ year old typical andalusian house with a friendly, urban feel. Casa Al Sur is located in the historic center of Málaga. It is a great starting point to explore the city. Our house is tucked in an idyllic side street within a short walking distance to all the main sites. We offer private or shared rooms with or without balcony all with a comfortable, modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Al Sur Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing