We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, clean, cosy.”
Review of Casa Al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Al Sur
Ranked #20 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cute, clean, cosy.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed a night in the 3-bed private room with shared bathroom. The price was reasonable, it was not the cheapest in the world, but for a private room it was very good. What is more important is that everything about the accommodation exceeded my expectations. The location is really good: a 5-10 minutes walk from the Plaza de la Constitucion. The room was cosy, nicely decorated and warm!!! (heating is a rarity in Andalusia), with blankets and towels provided. There were even books to read and cards to play. The bathroom was shared, but it was absolutely clean and it looked like a bathroom you would have at home, not the dorm-type bathrooms one often finds in hostels. The kitchen was clean, well equipped, and coffee and tea were available for free. The living room/bar was charmingly decorated and there was a computer available for free, as well. What was the best thing about this place though, was the staff - Christina and Victor. They were nice, always smiling and helped us a lot to plan our day in Malaga. If I stay in Malaga again, I will definitely stay at Casa al Sur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    57
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
49
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've stayed in a few hostels, but this was the BEST! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms done to a high standard and the little touches (fridge with drinks, books and games available, kitchen area etc) were really well thought out. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJones1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first trip to Spain and Victor and Christina were so helpful. They recommended everything form where to get Tapas to helping with my day trips to Granda and Sevilla. Their hostel was very warm and cute and open feeling. I loved the decor and the terrace was my favoriet! I did get lost finding it coming from the airport but to be honest I get lost everywhere. Once I got orientated with my surroundings the location, was perfect. Everything was so close, from shopping, sightseeing to bars and restaurants. Malaga was a beautiful city and the Hostel was a great place to stay. I had a very relaxing, quite stay at Casa Al Sur, which is exactly what I am looking for in a hostel. When I come back to Malaga I plan of staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perfect place to meet fellow travelers and be taken care of like you are in your own homw. Quaint and cozy. Victor and Christina speak English, Spanish, and German between them, so communication is easy. Awesome kitchen for personal use (or groups meals!!) and great area, close to shops and restuarants and a supermarket. Amazing stay, you will love it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent a whole week at Casa al Sur. The owners have put a lot of love into the place and the moment you enter you feel like home. The bathroom is very clean and the rooms are comfortable and cosy. The hostel is in the city center and close to all the sights. The couples who runs the place is very friendly and you can tell that it is very important to them that you have a memorable experience at Casa al Sur. The price and value is very good. The next time I visit Malaga, I would for sure come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got back from my stay at Casa Al Sur. Great value, so clean and just a real cozy feel. All the sights are within a 5-10 min walk max. Everyday after enjoying the city I would pick up some vino and enjoy the late afternoon on the hostel's terrace- so relaxing. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hostal is very clean, very close to the center. I think about 20 mins walk to the bus and train station. Victor and the wife seems like a lovely couple. Only interacted with victor and seems knowledgeable. One thing, no reception after certain hours, but that didnt bother me. If you want peace and quiet for a good price, then this is the place for you. If you are a backpacker and hoping to meet people, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#19 of 144 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#8 of 144 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Centro
Picnic Dreams Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Centro
Feel Hostels City Center
Feel Hostels City Center
#39 of 144 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#24 of 144 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Al Sur

Property: Casa Al Sur
Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 5, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Al Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenido a Casa Al Sur! Our brand new hostel is a charming 100+ year old typical andalusian house with a friendly, urban feel. Casa Al Sur is located in the historic center of Málaga. It is a great starting point to explore the city. Our house is tucked in an idyllic side street within a short walking distance to all the main sites. We offer private or shared rooms with or without balcony all with a comfortable, modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Al Sur Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing