We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hit and miss with the service but good food”
Review of La Plaza

La Plaza
Ranked #50 of 2,047 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Barnsley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very hit and miss with the service but good food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Liked: The vegetarian food on offer, it was amongst the best I've had anywhere (even in full up vegetarian restaurants) Clean (especially the loo !)
Disliked: The hap-hazard service and hit and miss opening times. I ordered a vegetarian breakfast, toast, eggs and tomatoes; when it came it had bacon on it? Bacon wasn't even on the menu or mentioned near the dish I ordered plus we had the same breakfast the day before! Good food, very frustrating

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    301
    67
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
218 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“best tapas so far”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a sheer fluke - it was only chosen because it was most in the sunshine. The other three tapas bars adjacent were in the shade, but it turned out to be spectacular tapas. The owner (I presume) was a Brit with a great sense of humour - even reckoned that he has introduced the tapas bar to apple crumble and sticky toffee pudding. We stuck to tapas - garlic mushrooms, fried green peppers, choriso, chicken in garlic, salmon and salad. It was wonderful. The service is slow on account of the quality of the cooking. Not over expensive. What a find!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevelyonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Exotic Touch”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Usually fusion = confusion in my dining experience, but this elegant restaurant manages to pull it off - local fare is served with a nice touch of exotic far eastern flavors. Service is good, staff is friendly, wines are really good - try the local Malagan reds! Great value for the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meralbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - bonega”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate here on 28 December 2012 and liked the lunchtime tapas so much that we came back with family in the evening for a meal. Plenty of choice on both the tapas and main menus, including lots of options for the vegetarians in our group. We found the service to be excellent - friendly and courteous - even though the waiters were very busy and juggling queries in a variety of languages. Would thoroughly recommend that you try La Plaza.

Ni manĝis ĉi tie je la 28a de decembro 2012 kaj tiom plaĉis al ni la tagmeza pladetaj manĝaĵoj ke ni revenis kun familianoj por vespermanĝi. Estis granda elekto de pladoj, tagmeze kaj vespere, inkluzive por la vegeteranoj en nia grupo. La servado, laŭ ni, bonegis. La gekelneroj estis amikecaj kaj ĝentilaj kvankam ili estis tre okupitaj kaj devis 'ĵongli' demandojn en plurajn lingvojn. Ni certe rekomendus ke vi vizitu la restoracion se vi troviĝos iam ĉe Malago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eriketo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb tapas restaurant in very pleasant square setting”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've eaten a couple of times at La Plaza and agree with another reviewer that its a gem of a restaurant. We went for tapas both times and were very impressed with the variety and quality of the tapas menu. The vegetarian and fish options are particularly good; we really recommend the lentils shephard's pie, and the warm goats cheese and onion was great. The restaurant staff are in the main extremely friendly and affable and the service was very good. The food was pretty good value given its excellent quality. La Plaza is in a great location just off an attractive square, very close to the alcazaba in the heart of the old city. Our second visit was on 18th December and the climate was still pleasant enough to eat outside (although the patio heaters did help a little!). We thoroughly recommend La Plaza, particularly for its tapas and have heard that its one of the best for tapas in Malaga. The old city is also outstanding and well worth the visit. We hope you find both to be as just a delight as we did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plaza also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing