We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the hike to teh top”

Castillo de Gibralfaro
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.79*
and up
Malaga Electric Bike City Tour
Ranked #8 of 201 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike to teh top”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My first visit to Malaga and this (along with Alcazaba) was my first stop. This is an indispensable introduction to the history of Malaga and this region of Spain in general, and picks up where the history of the Alcazaba leaves off. The small museum at the top is well worth a visit. Don't forget to obtain the English language brochure at the ticket booth to the museum. Even though it is skimpy, it helps understand the exhibits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank avalok11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    1,370
    368
    53
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best View of Malaga!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited here on the hop on/ off open top bus tour. We thought the entrance to view the castle was very good value. You can walk all around the exterior wall of the castle, which took in fantastic views of the city/ port and bull ring. There are a few nooks and cranies which our 7yr old loved to explore, and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. I would say to allow a 1 to 2 hour stop here. This is a must place to visit not only for the castle itself but to get the amazing views of this lovely city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed this gradual incline of walking up to the castle. The views are spectacular. Although, seeing we visited in April it wasn't exceptionally hot. I think the summer months it could be more difficult, especially for the older visitors. However when we reached the top, we found out that there is a bus that goes up the other side. Pleased we walked it though!! You don't need to pay to do the walk but there is a fee to enter the castle at the top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vivific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Castillo Gibralfaro is a Roman castle in Malaga, I went there with my family and it is so easy to imagine how Romans must have lived. The castle itself has no out-of-bounds areas,except for a small ruinous section. The castle is a good family visit, being both educational and incredibly fun- although, perhaps it would not be good for younger children with no interest in Romans or ancient history. It is a bit of a walk around, but that's half the fun. The best thing was to be able to clamber on to the battlements and see all of the city and the marina. It did cost about 3 euros per person, but that is well worth the experience. In all my life, that Roman fort has been my favourite.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not a lot to see for your money”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is well worth the walk or bus ride for the views, but you can enjoy the views without paying to enter the Castillo.
Next time I will not go inside and keep my 3 euros per person for a bucket of beers each at the port.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GGT_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de Gibralfaro also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Castillo de Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing