We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Golf
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have always wandered how somebody could rate somewhere as terrible when others were gushing about it well now i know! Firstly i have no comment on the hotel or apartments as i never stayed there. My comments relate to the golf course only. I have been travelling to the costa del sol to play golf with friends for 11 years and this is by far the worst i have ever played. The only reason we chose it was it had previously held the Andalucian Open!!!!!! The course layout is ok but the condition leaves a lot to be desired. Fairways covered in sand and patchy, course maintenance generally poor and pace of play sower than a slow thing. Not a ranger or a greenkeeper in site! One tee on a par three was like playing from a bunker and a number of the other tees were on the fairway, which no one mentioned before we went out. This course is obviously over played and they can not cope with that. There are hundreds of golf courses on the Costa del golf and this is one that should be avioided at all cost. Do not dismiss this review out of hand as you will be disapointed spend your money elsewhere. By the way the planes overhead are constant throughout the day, however, that is obvious as it is near the airport doh!!! If you have booked this place for golf change it for another, choose from reo real, la cala, calanova, santa clara, esmerelda, los naranjos, which are all nearby and excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Malaga Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

The location 5 minutes by taxi from the Malaga Airport is just one of many positive elements. The excellent breakfast, very nice rooms and the receptionists that make you feel very welcome are other positive elements. You might dislike that the aircrafts are landing over the golf course during the day, but if this was not the case, you would be further away from the airport.. Quiet nights and bright mornings with golf on your doorstep is excellent..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This parador has pulled its calcetines up a bit! The hotel was always clean, well appointed, with good professional staff but it was let down a bit by the food. The menus have been re-done, and the results are good. I have used the hotel 3 times this year, and each time the dinner experience has been impressive. Good local menus seem to be appearing in paradors now, improving their old Achillies heel.

The rooms are relaxing once you become accustomed to the plane noise. they are a good size, clean and with fair sized balconies. The little private beach is fine for sunbathing, but I wouldn't let small kids in the water alone, the current and winds spoil things a bit.

Torremolinos is a nice walk away as is the mega-mall five minutes over the motorway. This parador is too nice to be considered just a stop-off for the airport. More a weekend break sort of place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I needed to spend a night close to Malaga Airport before a morning departure. This was booked for me by my hosts and I was very impressed.

Nice decor, helpful staff, clean room, free Internet, good restaurant. It was exactly what I wanted.

(Note, however, that there is no shuttle to the airport. You'll need to take a taxi.)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed one night after visiting nearby Malaga all day. The hotel is modern, with comfortable rooms spread out in a nice golf course setting. There are tennis courts too. The airport location is good for those who want immediate access to the golf course. The breakfast was outstanding and typical of the Parador program. I highly recommend this accommodation, particularly for golf.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This was our 5th visit to this hotel. We arrived (by taxi) slightly late due to flight delays and the receptionist was very welcoming despite the late arrival. Our usual lovely room overlooking golf course and pool (superior room) awaited. We stayed for 3 nights, first day 'himself' played golf and we meant to go into Malaga on the second day but the idea of walking along the beach followed by relaxing on a sun lounger appealed more!
Great breakfast buffet and lovely fresh food in the restaurant. One of us suffers from a 'garlic intolerance' but the chef produced the most superb 'garlic free' version of a signature dish without a murmur - delicious it was too. The younger staff are very friendly and helpful but some of the older staff appear a bit off hand especially in the cafe terrace area.
Golf club staff are very good.
The noise of the planes overhead did not disturb us at all and we enjoyed playing 'spot the airline logo' whilst enjoying a drink!!
Did not even need a car until we moved on to our next destination.

Room Tip: Rooms 131 and 231 are to be recommended at the end of the east wing and worth the extra cost if stay...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

As others have said you soon dont even notice the aircraft. This is a really good hotel in a relaxing environment. Walk the course, go to the beach, use the pool, sleep on the lawns, do nothing!! The restaurant is of a high standard with fresh fish every day, yes the service is slow but why not, it is worth waiting for.
If you want something faster take a 10 minute walk over to the Plaza Mayor!
We will stay again (this was our second visit)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the furthest section of the left wing preferably on the first floor (e.g. 231)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chailey_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#9 of 89 in Malaga
1,035 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Golf

Address: Autovia A7 Malaga - Algeciras | Salida Coin - Km 231, 29080 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#14 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#21 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $89 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Malaga Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Golf Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Hotel
Parador De Malaga Golf Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing