We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surroundings and a cozy hotel but with terrible food...”
Review of Hotel Humaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Humaina
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings and a cozy hotel but with terrible food...”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in the evening and saw the lovely national park. We then decided to have dinner at the hotel, but despite the good service the food was terrible! I looked like something that had put in the Microwave... The next morning we took the fantastic walk of 1,5 h in the National park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    17
    7
    12
See reviews for
27
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not too difficult to find. SatNav took us there from Malaga Airport with no hitches. About an hour's drive up the winding mountain road. Very, very, remote. If you like forest walks, this is the place to come. Bird life is wonderful and the wild boars were a rare treat. Only downside is that if you like walking to another restaurant or bar, forget it! This place is way out in the wilds. Too far to walk to anywhere else for a meal or a few beers. Fortunately we stocked up with beers and wine in Malaga before going up into the mountains. I think there is a bar, but it wasn't open. You are stuck with the restaurant food and to be generous, it's OK, but not great. Breakfast is the usual continental stuff...bread, cheese, processed ham, coffee. The staff were lovely and our room was brilliant, on two levels with circular staircase. Great views of...trees.
Fab walking country!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ToonDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We (family of four - two children 9,11 from NYC) spent three days at Humaina during Easter week. I could not underline more what other reviewers write about distance from Malaga. It may be Malaga the way surveyors consider it but even the coordinates provided (this is not a joke) on the hotel's web site are not to the hotel but to a sign that tells you that the hotel is another 5km up the street. As we were getting to the hotel we were all singing "the long winding road" with the obligatory wolves howling (Auuuuu) at the end. Once you make it there it is a pretty nice place. The entertainment for the evening includes throwing food leftovers and see if the boar turns up (they did). The owners are lovely people and the room spacious and comfortable once the heaters kick in. There is some very spotty wi-fi internet access. The restaurant is alright but the breakfast bear bone. It was an interesting experience indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

First off, a bit of a warning: this place might look quite close to the city of Malaga as the crow flies, but it's a good 2 hours drive to the city. If you don't get lost.

We spent two nights here on our way from Granada to Malaga city, and it was well worth it. The Malaga Mountains are a magnificent piece of the outdoors, verdant throughout the year and full of all sorts of wildlife - we caught sight of three great birds merely driving to the hotel! The heat of July and August can be uncomfortable though.

The hotel itself has a real solid air of traditional Spanish style about it, while still having room for a very refreshing swimming pool. The accommodation and the premises in general is voluminous compared to the shoeboxes you get in the city, you can really unwind out here. On our second night we took brandy in the sitting room in front of a crackling open fire - gorgeous!

... just writing this is making me want to go back there!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuckmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in May. having selected the hotel from previous Tripadvisor reports. The journey to the hotel is a bit of a nightmare, signposting and VERY windy roads, but the location is worth it. The rooms are fairly basic but with fabulous view, clean and comfortable. The public rooms were characterful if a little shabby, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We found the food was good, but not as exceptional as expected from some of the reviews - the menu seemed a little limited, and though the portions were big, the quality was a little patchy. (My wife's swordfish was excellent, but the veg were a bit soggy, the soups were a little hit & miss). Breakfasts in particular were rather basic - some fresh fruit juice, but very limited cereals and fruit, no cooked food, etc.

We enjoyed our stay at the Humaina. and it's an excellent base for travelling the mountains north of Malaga. We visited the lovely village of Comares, and went down to Nerja, which was again very pleasant. Travel was made difficult by the Spanish habit of signposting somewhere to the point where you are in the middle of a warren of narrow residential streets and then leaving you there. Signposts disappear with sickening regularity - we got lost getting back to the Autovia from almost everywhere, as the Spanish authorities don't seem to think it necessary to tell people how to get back to the main road. (Ronda, Granada, Malaga, Mijas, Antequera, etc all suffer badly from this). We'd strongly recommend going to Granada and visiting the Alhambra complex - but book WELL in advance; booking the previous day, all that was left was the 7pm admission - 1 hour before closing. Antequera is also really interesting, but again, beware the lack of road signs!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This is a lovely building, a comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting. During our stay we met people from many different countries, (even Spain!) and all types, from tourists and families to cyclists and well-heeled weekenders. The website sends you round the 'long' way, (presumably because you'd never find the right road if you came up through Malaga) but actually it's only a short hop down into Malaga, and the roads aren't too hair-raising. (We parked on the outskirts & took a bus in - easy.) In fact the website is out of date, the junction numbers have changed, but the hotel is easy enough to find if you follow the signs for Colmenar - turn right after the second tunnel - & then the hotel is signposted.

There are a few bars & restaurants within ten minutes' drive, and the woods are gorgeous, not at all claustrophobic. We borrowed the bikes for a ride, and one of the dogs came with us! Pleasant staff, nice breakfast. We had an uninterrupted view of the woods from our balcony (at the side), and at night it was utterly quiet. The room was comfortable and roomy, with double basins and a separate toilet, and I loved the lounge downstairs, which was great in the evenings to read or play board games with other guests in front of the fire. The dogs look a bit intimidating but they were very friendly after I saved them some of my dinner! The only time I saw them animated was when the boars come at dusk, which was a priviledge and an absolute pleasure, but the boars ignored the dogs, and the dogs were sensible enough not to jump over the wall to where the boars were.

Inside, the hotel could do with a lick of paint, the dried grass decorations looked tired, and we had flowery curtains and homely bedspreads which I liked but you might not, although I see from the website that some rooms have been done up. This is a very small point - come before they revamp the place and start charging a fortune!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

hotel humaina in malaga ia located some roughly 16 - 20 kms from the main city of malaga. the drive to the hotel is very picturesque uphill drive. the hotel itself looks like a heritage building and is beautiful. the hotel is in the middle of the forest surrounded by lush green pine forests and picturesque landscapes. a 15 mins walk from the hotel through the pine forest takes you to an open area where you can see the sunset, one of the most breath taking sites.the rooms are very comfortable and cozy, the hotel has a small swimming pool to soak urself after a long trek. the hotel itself is a place you would not like to leave once you check in. the only draw back though is that there is no moblie connectivity and your totally dis connected from the main city. the staff are extremely curt and helpfull they will go out of ther way to keep you comfortable. the owenr of the property is a gem of a person.i would recomend this hotel only for nature lovers who are looking for peace and tranquility.
My JP no is [--]

  • Liked — the location away from all city hubrub
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
32.8 mi away
Los Jarales Rural Hotel Istan
7.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
6.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#53 of 87 in Malaga
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 87 in Malaga
363 reviews
6.0 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#55 of 87 in Malaga
62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Babylon Backpackers
Casa Babylon Backpackers
#51 of 87 in Malaga
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Humaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Humaina

Property: Hotel Humaina
Address: Camino Colmenar s/n | Parque Natural Montes de Málaga, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Humaina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En este hotel vas a tener la oportunidad de desenganchar del ajetreo y estres. Podras percibir "el ruido del silencio", disfrutar de las comidas tradicionales, leer en la biblioteca tomando una copa de vino de pasas al lado de la chimenea, banarte, tomar el sol, recorrer la montana andando, en bici, a caballo ... Y mucho mas. Ideal para Birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Humaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humaina Hotel málaga
Hotel Humaina Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing