We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malaga Birthday Weekend”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose this hotel as we knew it was right in the centre of Malaga and had visited the roof terrace bar back in the summer on another trip. If you want to be centrally located, this hotel is ideal. To be fair we didn't spend much time in the hotel but were very happy with everything. The room was extremely comfortable especially the bed which was the biggest bed I have ever seen and was a fantastic sleep - so much so we had to check out the make of the mattress to get one for home. The views of Calle de Marques de Larios were great particularly as it was the last night of the Malaga Carnaval. The hotel is having refurbishment of the exterior so was covered in scaffolding but these things need to be done at some point and in no way spoilt our stay. Plenty of shopping right outside your door plus bars/restaurants and the Cathedral is literally just around the corner. A great base for exploring. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here - there's just some much choice just outside the front door!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 193billybob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you so much for trusting Room Mate Larios to stay during your Birthday celebration.
We are so happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us and in Malaga.

As you say, we used to have an scaffolding at the façade due to renovate the exterior of the building. This works has already finish two month ago. So please, do not hesitate to come back again to Málaga to see how beautiful is now the exterior of the hotel.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is very central in Malaga. The double room was two single beds pushed together. However, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but small. Free safe in wardrobe. No tea/coffee facilities - we ended up taking a 'take away' coffee back to the room from a café just up the road. There was a chargeable mini bar in the room with water, soft drinks, wine, beer and spirits. Breakfast was average - didn't go hungry but limited choice; breakfast was available up to 12 noon. The receptionist was cheerful and helpful (I was rather surprised to see her wearing jeans every time whilst on duty- perhaps I am old fashioned but I would of thought there would have been a corporate uniform). Taxi from airport to hotel 20 euros from hotel to airport 25 euros, taxi from hotel to train station 10 euros and train station back to hotel 5 euros - I have put this difference to the one way system. Taxi drop off and collection is just maybe 20 m around corner from hotel. This hotel was not wheelchair friendly, 1 step into hotel and then 3 steps to lift. The reception was on the first floor. There were many other hotels in the vicinity which when I return to Malaga I will try. I felt this hotel was average, not sure how it has 4* or rated 7th best in Malaga on t/a.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mascarasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Client,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience in Room Mate Larios and share that you find the central location helpful for visiting the city.

The front desk department duty is to be helpfull and servicial with our guest, that is why we are dreesed informal, to let our client know that we are always happy to help and assit our clients with any request.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very easy to miss because the entrance is between shops. Also, in Feb 2014, the whole building was covered in scaffolding. The woman on check-in was very unfriendly and seemed intent on stressing the no-smoking policy (we don't smoke anyway). There is no bar or foyer to speak of. The breakfast room is in what looks like a bar but it was always empty. The reception is on the 1st floor and once you've checked in you by-pass the reception and bar, making your stay totally soulless. The lady at check out was helpful when we complained about the workers passing by our 4th floor rooms on scaffold up until 6.30 p.m. I did feel sorry for her having to deal with disappointed guests. Totally forgettable stay. Malaga is not big so lots of other hotels without locations on the main shopping street are still central.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reluctantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Room Mate Larios. The hotel is in a fantastic location at the top of Calle Larios. The staff were very professional and pleased to help. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was Free Wi-fi in the hotel and we were even given a Wi-fi router to use whilst out and about. Partly due to some previous comments and partly because we prefer eating out, we did not stay for breakfast so cannot comment on its quality. As our stay was in the winter the roof terrace bar was closed which was a shame because the hotel photos make it look amazing. As also written in a previous comment the hotel is on a pedestrianised street so it is a little walk to the taxi rank but we found this to be no problem at all. We will certainly be back to this great hotel in a fantastic city.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank HazelEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let us know that we are really happy to know you liked Room Mate Larios.

Thank you for taking your time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We really want to see you soon in Room Mate Larios,

Best regards ,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We wish to stay at Larios in August, however, can anyone advise on any parking close to Hotel Larios.

We stayed at Hotel Lola last year and it was super, really close to the beach, however, it is a little far from the centre of Malaga and therefore we wish to use Larios, the parking will make that decision for us.

Thank you very much

Anna

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Anna T,

Room Mate Larios hotel is located in the main pedestrian street of Málaga city centre and we do not have parking in the building.

We offer our clients a special price in Room Mate Lola hotel located in Casas de Campos street nº 17.

If you need more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly in our mail:
larios@room-matehotels.com

Looking for your next visit in August.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is excellently located in a splendid shopping street- perhaps the best in the city. The cathedral is two minutes away through interesting little alleys. All the must see museums-the Picasso for instance, are close at hand. I could not fault the hotel in any way, helpful and pleasant staff. the room was big and well appointed. My wife assures me that the complimentary shampoo was brilliant and would love to know where to buy it! There are plenty of restaurants and tapas bars nearby--I could go on and on, but trust me- come and stay, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the street on the fourth floor; good views of the street/people watching, plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Nick,

What a wonderfull description about Málaga City and the location of Room Mate Larios just in the main street.
Thank you for sharing it with us.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your experience staying with us.

Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here Friday Jan 17 - Monday Jan 20 with my three sons in two double bedrooms. On the corner of Calle Marques de Larios and Plaza Constitucion, the Hotel has a modern/relaxed feel to it. Neutral colours throughout.The rooms are a good size, nice bathrooms with the usual accessories such as shampoo, lotions etc.
We stayed in rooms 409 and 414 (I think). Both on the 4th floor, 409 overlooking Calle Larios, and 414 overlooking a small street to the side of Larios. I would recommend getting a room on the 4th floor as there may be some issues with late night revellers returning home in the 'wee hours'. Having said that it did not detract from our stay at all. Perhaps one reason is that the mattresses on the beds are SUPER comfy, and we really enjoyed our sleep on them. Probably the best I have slept on.
Breakfast is buffet style with hot dishes of scrambled egg, bacon, small sausages and Spanish omelette. There is also lots of fruit juices, continental style breakfast options, and plenty tea and coffee. you should be full enough to take you through to late afternoon if you take breakfast!
I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, both with my party and observing how they interacted with other guests. Special mention to Jesus on the reception desk who stood out as someone who gives very good customer service. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write about your and your family experience in Room Mate Larios. Your description about us has been very clear and you will help a our future guests.

We love to read that you had a lovely rest in our mattresses, as we find it a very important thing to provide our clients.

We are looking to see you and your family again in Room Mate Larios.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front desk manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,276 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $102 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing