We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre service”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a very impressive, very well placed hotel.
The staff were responsive and helpful; everyone from chamber maids to managers. Room had a panoramic view over the square and sound proofing was good.
Reception staff made a real effort to find information and to give advice.
Breakfast could have been more varied- more fresh fruit, for example- but it was well presented.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingKongScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear KingKongScotland,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know you had a very nice stay experience at Room Mate Larios.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit again the city Málaga, It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in Room Mate Larios.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose this hotel through recommendations and conclude that it has good and bad points. It has a fantastic location, very nice reception staff and comfy beds. However, breakfast is very poor with cold eggs and poor croissants (go to northern Spain or France to see the difference). The rooftop terrace would have been fantastic if we could get a seat. I´m sure most of the people there were not residents of the hotel and it would seem that this terrace was mainly catering for young people.
Car access can be a problem, we parked at the Hotel Lola which gives preferential rates. We were allowed to enter the room early, which was appreciated, and also leave out luggage at reception after checking out. Internet access is free.
I may be tempted to use the hotel again but would probably consider other hotels in the vicinity as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristobal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Cristobal G,

Thank you very much for the comment you have shared about your stay in Room Mate Larios. They are very helpful for us because they allow us to improve to offer a good service to all of our customers.

We are looking to see you again in Room Mate Larios in Málaga.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Right in the centre of Malaga we were able to walk everywhere.
The room /suite was clean and comfortable and a very comfortable bed. Free WiFi that was fast and helpful and serviceminded staff. The rooftop bar is fantastic.
Overall the Room Mate Larious hotel made our Malaga trip a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErlingHes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that your days in Room Mate Larios were pleasurable and satisfying
as our aim is to make our guests feel they have found a friend in Malaga.

We do wish to see you again in the future and the whole team sends you our kindest regards!

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice central location great for shopping, tapas and the many museums and galleries. The rooftop bar is the real selling point with super views of the cathedral all lit up and night. Rooms were modern although we had 307 which looked like the smallest room, we were also looked at an internal room and I would avoid them as although large they have very little natural right. The external rooms look on the the main pedestrian street and floor 3 has doors that open on to Juliette balconies. The low point was the awful breakfast, moody staff on both mornings we were there and poor quality cold items. Try Calle Strachan off the main street for breakfast and get better quality and atmosphere for your money. People on reception were extremely welcoming and I would return. Be careful on Calle Larios, my mother had her purse taken out of her bag while watching the performers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Genene,

We really appreciate you took your time to write a review about your experience in Malaga City.
Thank you for your nice words about our Front Desk Department.

We are very glad to know you enjoyed on our terrace bar, where there are a very nice views over the historical skyline of Malaga City.

We are looking to see you again in Room Mate Larios, and try to change your opinion about our breakfast service, as our duty it is to give the best experience to our guests.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Malaga. Centrally located and shops, sites, and endless options for dining are right outside your door. It is about a 25 minute walk to the beach. Check in was easy and the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. The front desk was very friendly, they provided free Wifi and suggestions for places to eat out.

One odd thing about the hotel was in our room, there was a window that only opened on top (like the kind on vaulted ceilings) and it opened up to an indoor space... so there was no natural light at all. It was kind of like sleeping and waking up in a cave.

The other thing to know about the hotel is while it is great to walk everywhere, if you arrived in Malaga by car, it is a little tricky. We wound up driving through an extremely busy pedestrian square (luckily the police are ok with it because there is no other way to get there), stopping the car just to drop off bags, then having to park at the sister hotel - Room Mate Lolas. Going between the two hotels by foot is no problem at all but driving is another story. That day it took about 30 minutes to get to Lola to park the car. Kind of a hassle but worth it to stay at Larios instead of Lola for the time being because there is MAJOR construction going on right in front of that hotel.

Overall a really great experience. It's really the perfect hotel for a city stay in Malaga.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a huge pleasure read such a beautiful review, and to know you had a great time in Malaga.
All the team of Room Mate Larios say you thank you. We always try to give the best to their guests.

We are very sorry to know that you get some trouble to came by car to the pedestrian area of the hotel and stop at Plaza de la Constitucion.

Hope we will see you soon in your next visit to Málaga!!

Warm regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in September 2011 for our 1 year anniversary and what a great location it was. We first became aware of the hotel when we visited Malaga for my wife's birthday in January and decided to return when the weather would be hot. The location of the hotel is perfect for anyone who likes a city break. It's located right on the high street and near the Plaza de Constitucion. This places it near many great shops, bars and cafes and very close by some great tourist locations (The Cathedral and the Gibralfano to name two).

The hotel itself is clean and warm with an art-deco themed. The staff have always been friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms match the first impressions of the hotel. Being very well maintained and spacious, light and airy. The room we had provided a great view of Calle Marque de Larios and our stay happened to co-incide with the 8/9/2011 Virgden De la Victoria Processions and our room gave a perfect place to watch the procession. The breakfast area and terrace bars are high commendable, both offering good selections in a very nice atmosphere. The terrace bar has a great view of the city with sensibly priced drinks and a nice selection. The breakfast is well stocked and is a quiet and relaxing start to the day. It's hard for me to state how much we enjoy this hotel and we are looking forward to our visit again this September the 9th.

Room Tip: In the evening head to the very top floor to find a beautiful terrace bar, a great way to start or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Ricky,

Thank you very much for chosing Room Mate Larios hotel to spend some days in Málaga in September 2011.

We really appreciate you take some time to give us your feed back of your staying with those nice words about the rooms, terrace, breakfast service and our staff.

We are waitting to see you again in Room Mate Larios for next La Victoria Day.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We can only add to all the good remarks for this hotel. We accepted the offer of an upgrade to a junior suite for 10euros per night which gave us the room that is illustrated on the web site. This has a wonderful view of the square and also of Marques de Larios. The staff are very knowledgeable about the city. We have never seen a city with so many tapas bars/restaurants! We stayed for 5 days and were sorry it wasn't for longer. Malaga is a great city - lots to see and do but not too spread out. The work at the marina has made it a perfect spot for a sun-downer.

Our room had one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in an hotel.

Room Tip: Everyone seemed happy with the rooms they had but obviously we would try for the same room overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pylos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Pylos,

We only have one word to tell you after read your review: THANK YOU!!

All the team are very happy to know that you enjoyed with us and you have had a great time in Malaga City.

We are looking for your next visit.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $110 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing