We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel.”
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good central hotel.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location for historic attractions, shops, restaurants and bars. Had a car so needed parking which was very efficiently arranged by the hotel. You park outside and give your keys to reception. It takes 15 mins. or so when you want it back (and a tip).

We had emailed before arrival asking for a top floor room following Tripadvisor reccomendations, they replied they would do their best and this is what we got. The bonus was a balcony and views across Malaga. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. It was also very quiet.

Breakfast was included was pretty standard but OK. Booked through Travel Republic and thought it good value at £58.00 for the night. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was quiet and had a balcony and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tubbs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    592
    220
    43
    27
See reviews for
212
532
67
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a business trip to Malaga.
I had chosen this hotel mainly due to location and reviews.
I must say some of these other reviewers must have stayed at a different hotel with the same name!

Positive points.
Location-Perfect for Historic Malaga,plenty of good quality bars and restaurants nearby.
Rooms-Looked to have been recently refurbished to a good standard.Bathroom was extremely good.
Cleanliness-Everything seems to be cleaned to a high standard.

Negative points.
Staff-Very unhelpful,bordering on rude.I happen to speak Spanish to a reasonable standard but trying to get any simple information or help from the reception staff proved to be futile.
I had asked for a room with a balcony,the room I was given did not have one so I went to reception to ask for another room where I was told that none were available.
I reason I wanted a balcony is that my wife came on the trip also and wanted to have somewhere to sunbathe whilst I was at meetings,not a problem I thought as the hotel is bound to have a sun terrace-nope no sun terrace and when I asked about this at reception I was given a map!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Breakfast-Oh dear,the same tosh churned out by the majority of hotels you find in Spain.Absolute minimum effort made by the hotel.Not enough tables available for guests.Very poor selection of food,like going to a Bulgarian supermarket.Oh and the amazing obligatory breakfast for the British-some undercooked rasher's of bacon,a few lumps which I think were some sort of sausage and some badly made scrambled egg.
If you like bread rolls and processed meat and cheese then this is the place for you.

Sleeping-Not good,the doors in this hotel sound like a steel drum being hit with a sledgehammer by the majority of the guests leaving or entering their rooms at whatever time.Floors being the standard stone tile type used in most hotels so if you have someone in the room above you with high heels you will hear that.

In the end I spent as little time as possible in this hotel.Absolutely awful experience.
This hotel is not a budget hotel,I expect a reasonable standard for what I pay.
This hotel did not deliver and it's all down to the owner's not giving a damn about their customers.Minimum effort made.
I really hope they read this review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gnichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We asked for a room near the top and got a balcony and wonderful views. Very friendly and helpful staff. With a full buffet breakfast included the hotel is excellent value for money. Large rooms and excellent bathroom. It would be very helpful to have a room service directory in the rooms as there are no instructions how the hotel works. Free WiFi in the rooms is fantastic.Hotel is near shops,info center,port and over the road we will get our transfer bus for our 5 day trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at top when making reservation to be sure of a quiet nighttime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diesel218795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A wonderful vibrant city, often overlooked. Stayed in the Don Curro a couple of nights. Everyone really friendly and the rooms lovely and clean. The best thing about the hotel is its position. In the historic old town, near the Picasso Museum, flamenco museum, (only one euro and well worth the visit, very quirky and interesting.) Also the cathedral and Museo of Sacred Art. Fantastic cafes, restaurants and the sea and port and lovely park within short walks. The breakfast at Don Curro is included and was quite amazing...basically all you can eat, and healthy too.. I highly recommend the hotel, though take earplugs as it's not that quiet as it's sooo large that you can hear lots of comings and goings, but lively and lovely nonetheless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Don Curro in January which is a 10 minute walk from the train station and within the old town. Good quality hotel, rooms cleaned daily and "eat as much as you want" buffet breakfast. Staff always polite and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRUMTOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in Don Curro Hotel in February, 2013. It is a very big hotel. We had a quiet, clean room with a balcony and excellent city views near the top of the hotel. We had requested a quiet room and we got it. The room was comfortable and the bathroom very nice. The floors were very noisy, as noted by other guests.

The reception staff are efficient, but a little robotic.

Breakfast was included in the price. This was a tremendous spread. Unfortunately for us, breakfast on both days was marred by some of the rudest people we have ever met, pushing in in front of us when we were choosing from the buffet. A well aimed kick in the shins or a 'warning' elbow jab was probably deserved! but discretion was called for. The hotel is not responsible for this kind of behaviour, but.... there seemed to be a lot of awfully rude guests. I wish we could have got a voucher to go around the corner to the hotel's Cafe Moka for breakfast - a much nicer experience.

Room Tip: Top floors with a balcony, overlooking the city are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janev_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in February. Given a room on 4th floor with a balcony having asked for a much higher floor for better views ( ? ) according to other reviews. Told they were not available and they had not received our requests although we had booked some 4 months before. They suggested that in future to email them direct for any requests - take note! The room was confusing to find but by the end of the 5 nights we managed to steer our way in the right direction!! It was a pleasant room, clean and well maintained as was the ensuite with shower over the bath. Some toiletries provided - found the shoe shine useful! Minibar and safe in room but no tea or coffee as per usual in most Spanish hotels. The breakfast gave a good choice of hot and cold food - loved the orange cake!

This hotel is well placed to reach everything within walking distance - the up market marina, Malagueta beach with its beach cafes and bbq'd sardines! - Picasso gallery and birthplace, cathedral and castle and the nearest bus station for places like Nerja. For Marbella you have to go to the main bus station that is next to the railway station. The bus stop for the airport bus is one minute walk from the hotel - 3 Euros single fare.

There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel to choose from but avoid the shellfish with the paella - I was violently ill during the night after such a meal. NEVER AGAIN! Not had one good paella in Spain yet!

To sum up - a reasonable hotel that is good for a budget stay and wold not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chooseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,059 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 88 in Malaga
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 88 in Malaga
502 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing