We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a 4* rating than a 3*”
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More a 4* rating than a 3*”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night at the Don Curro. Our room was large, very clean and on the 7th floor. We had a large balcony overlooking the city, beautiful!
There is a mini bar with very reasonable prices, a free safe and extra blankets and pillows. The breakfast area was large and the breakfast offered a variety of food, even scrambled eggs and bacon which is not standard for a 3 star hotel.
The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping-, dining-, and attraction area, which was great.
We parked our car nearby for free and walked to the hotel, but in a city like Malaga free parking is rare: we were lucky!
Two small things the hotel could improve; The reception staff could be just a little more personal and the other thing is that the sheets of my bed were a little smelly (nicotine?) but the sheets of my daughters bed were fresh.
Despite these two things: I would stay here again because of the central location, the breakfast and the balcony. I would rate the hotel more a 4 star than a 3 star hotel !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    586
    218
    43
    26
See reviews for
210
526
65
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location within a couple of minutes walk of all the sites and huge selection of shops bars and restaurants. The beach is little further, about a 20 minutes rather pleasant walk across the Marina.

The room was spacious, although the air conditiontioning didn't work we didn't bother reporting it because it was the end of January. The rooms were clean, with plenty of fresh towels and toiletries every day. Television in the room was OK, just a few channels to choose from.

Breakfast was good with a well stocked and reasonable selection of hot and cold food and drinks.

All the staff we dealt with were helpful and polite.

However, there were serious issues with wheelchair access. To get into the hotel you either had to follow a circuitous route through the adjacent bingo hall, or drag the wheelchair up a flight of steps.

The lifts were the smallest we've ever seen in the hotel. My daughter is very small and her wheelchair is probably the smallest you can get for a child. Even so we could barely fit it through the lift door. The lift doors closed spontaneously and when they met resistance instead of opening again they just persevered until you squeezed your way out of their grip.

If you're able bodied this is a really nice hotel, however, if you're in a wheelchair then it's nightmare..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This 4* Hotel with a 3* rating rating is punching way above it's official weight. Situated in a quiet tree lined mews in the most central part of the City the Don Curro is an under rated little gem of a Hotel. Every detail of this establishment, right down to the, ''fit for purpose'' hairdryer has been painstakingly well thought out with the guest's comfort placed foremost on the priority list. The sizable rooms which are furnished in traditional Spanish style are immaculately maintained and serviced to the highest of standards. The frequency and standard of room cleaning is superior to most good 4* Hotels in which I have stayed. The breakfast offers a wide and plentiful range of food which seems to cater for every taste. Unlike a lot of City Hotels the breakfast room at the Don Curro is spacious and well laid out with additional space being made available at busy times. Nothing is left to chance. The staff are 'quietly' pleasant and professional but avoid becoming over familiar with the guests. I would recommend a visit to the much overlooked city but truly beautiful of Malaga and a stay at the Don Curro would greatly enhance your trip.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor offers a spectacular views over the High Siearra mountains and the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from two nights at the Don Curro Hotel, this being our third visit and certainly will not be our last, hopefully again later in the year. Nothing ever changes, each time is as good as the time before, in fact as the staff get to know you it is even better.

If you have not tried this hotel, I would definitely recommend you give it a go - you will not be sorry you did.

Marian

Room Tip: For best views and quietness book the higher floors i.e 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidmarian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night pre cruise the beginning of November. The location was great. It was on a back street right around the corner from all the action. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The only complaint was the AC was already off for the year and the room was very hot. We and our friends had rooms that were next to each other and facing an inside courtyard. There was no air circulation. We would stay here again just ask for room facing the street so we could get some breeze.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street for better air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canrubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the noisiest hotel i've ever stayed in!maybe from 3 am til 6 am you can get a quiet time to sleep .squeaky bed and small room with no view or the view of neighbour's windows or walls.no extra blanket .rude receptionist-the young guy who checked me in said "i don't have time for this"
like i was asking him for a joke or something like that,when i was asking for directions and facilities of and around the hotel.
the breakfast had choices of fruits,breads,milk,eggs,sweets ,etc.they deliver a good service.i appreciate the young lady with down syndrome who was working almost professionally :)
there is a bingo salon on the ground floor . many restaurants around this place. a long shopping street is right behind the hotel.
never going back again

Room Tip: maybe the highest floors are better and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yerbamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed as a group of men on a football trip. We were all very impressed with the friendly service, size and cleanliness of the rooms and value for money. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice. I would come back to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#38 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing