We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Tavira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend break”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel! Fantastic value for money, only 2 mins from Cathedral. Hotel was spotless, staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TRUDIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    612
    228
    43
    29
See reviews for
222
544
70
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just randomly picked this hotel when had an unexpected three day stay in Malaga. Location is perfect, next to the cathedral and near all of the quaint roads, alleyways and lanes with numerous tapas bars that make Malaga so appealing. The reception staff could be a little more receptive and the breakfast was not my cup of tea. However, the room was spacious and clean and had a sit out balcony. The price was extremely good for the location and free WiFi was a bonus. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel, and would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: 7th floor had great views from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFFLUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I thought the location was superb, from our window we had a stunning view of the cathedral. The breakfast was nice. Its quite a good hotel really let down by the worse beds ever! I just thought the bed itself too low with a thin mattress and the most unappealing bedlinen. If they sorted out the beds I would come back here! :). Aside from that admittedly important detail this hotel exceeded my expectations in almost every other respect. Pleasant and helpful staff, excellent location, very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRoseyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokke
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in october -12.
Perfect for visiting Malaga old city and harbour.
Walking distance to all museums and you will enjoy all the nice
tapas places around.
Friendly staff, nice big rooms and good breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staying at Don Curro, you have the narrow streets of the old and charming part of Malaga at your very feet - hence a perfect starting point for "doing" Malaga. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a very nice breakfast buffet. Inexpencive as well, another bonus...

Room Tip: It's a quiet area at night, so no worries about which rooms to choose....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is very well located. It is right in the centre of the old town, close to the recently revamped port area and within a few minutes' walk of the main bus lines. Indeed the airport bus stops about three minutes' walk from the hotel. There are lots and lots of restaurants close by, many of which offer really good quality food at reasonable prices. There is also a huge selection of bars and cafes within a few minutes walk. The room we stayed in (no 405) was elegant, pretty big, spotlessly clean and had a decent sized balcony. The other rooms on the same floor also looked to be of a good size but had no balconies. However, from reading other peoples' comments, I'm aware that not all rooms are as large as this. Breakfast is included in the price and, despite other peoples' comments, we felt that this was of a good quality. There was a fair selection of food on offer - lots of different types of rolls and breads, scrambled eggs, bacon and chipolatta sausages together with a couple of types of cheese and cheapish ham. The inclusion of breakfast in the price is a big plus - most other hotels, as far as I can see, charge extra for breakfast and some of the sums I've seen quoted are really quite considerable. The staff, too, we found to be extremely polite and very helpful.


On the less positive side, sometimes at breakfast there aren't enough tables for everyone and there can be a short wait. The hotel too can be a bit noisy at night - it's situated in the city centre and refuse collection lorries often call in the street opposite during the early hours of the morning. Also soundproofing isn't great - voices of people in the corridors carry a fair distance. These comments need to be kept in context, however. It's a city centre hotel and no city centre is quiet at night. Also the price the hotel charges is very, very reasonable and you can't expect perfection for that amount of money. Also, in my opinion, the good aspects of this hotel far outweigh the less positive. I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeKinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Although Malaga has lots of reasonably priced hotels, you can't beat this one. It's located in the middle of it all, and offers very spacious rooms and a good breakfast buffet at a very reasonable price.
The Hotel Don Curro is located in a quiet street in the middle of the city centre. The cathedral is around the corner, as is the main shopping street and lots of nice cafes and restaurants.
The rooms are large. It offers two comfortable and big twin beds (much wider than a meter each), a desk, cupboard space and a good size bathroom. Our room had a bath. All in all enough storage space to put all your belongings.
As said we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It offers lots of options, both sweet and salty. Lots of types of bread, cakes, croissants. Cheeses, sausages, hams. It also had yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices. Only thing we didn't like was the coffee. But coffee was of bad quality everywhere we went in Andalusia. I guess they don't care because spanish people usually put lots of milk in theirs.
Staff was very attentive with helping us with our suitcases. What could be improved is offering a standard set of information and map of Malaga in every room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#12 of 89 in Malaga
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#31 of 89 in Malaga
516 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing