We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Cruise Ship”
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient for Cruise Ship”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed overnight before we commenced our cruise. The hotel is very well locaated for the wharf but it is too far to walk to the cruise terminal . We walked to the wharf and took the shuttle bus to the ship. The hotel is fine. The room was good and the breakfast adequate. We found the reception staff quite rude and unaccommodating. We had a late check out until 2pm stipulated on our booking but they refused to allow us to stay beyond 12noon which was the normal checkout time. We asked for a compromise until 1pm but they were adament.we had to vacate before noon. This is a very busy hotel and it shows with the staff attitude as they are too busy to be friendly or courteous. However it did suit our needs and the room was clean and well equipped so for 1 night it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    592
    220
    43
    27
See reviews for
212
532
67
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. We were delighted with the location, just a few step Calle Larios, the main shopping street in Malaga.

The room was fine, we were on the 8th floor, without a view, but this didn't bother us as we had asked for a high floor, quiet room and this was what we got! We had a triple room which was a little cramped, but if it had been for two of us it would have been fine. The room was very clean, the housekeepers did a great job. The bathroom was fine, a decent size, the shower ran hot and cold, but not a major problem. There is a safe in the room which is complimentary, something of a rarity these days, so we were grateful for this! And good a/c.

Breakfast was ok for continental, the usual eggs and bacon in a hot tray, which I didn't eat, but lots of yoghurt, cheese, meats, bread, which was good.

The main selling point for this hotel is its location. Right in the heart of the town, a short walk from Calle Larios, the Cathedral, the Alcazaba, bus station. A slighter longer walk to the beach - Malagueta (maybe 20 minutes). For a day trip out of Malaga take the bus to Nerja, it takes about an hour and cost 7euros for a return ticket.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel is in the heart of city, ideally located for the gentle paseo from bar to bar. Great value for money and excellent rooms including a 5 star shower (my own personal measure of luxury) and to top it all friendly and excellent services. All in all, I will be recommending to all those visiting Malaga.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderLout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after a change in plans during a 12 day tour of Andalucia. This hotel is the kind of solid 3 to 4 star establishment that doesn't always get the kind of recognition it deserves on Tripadvisor. OK it doesn't have great amounts of character, but it is very clean with good sized well equipped rooms in an excellent central location, and at a reasonable price that we prefer to some of the more 'characterful' places that are often given top marks on these pages. We hadn't originally planned to visit Malaga but were very pleasantly surprised by how nice the old town is and how much it has to offer. This hotel provided the perfect base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I have booked this hotel based upon Tripadvisor members' recommendation, and this was more than I expected.

Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Hotel location is excellent, and near to most of historical sites.

I will definitley recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Amazing value! The room was immense! Cute view of the street out of stylish windows. Bathroom and overall decorations were beautiful. Great location. Delicious breakfast with excellent options. Why stay somewhere else?

OK, if pressed, the staff could be a bit more outgoing and friendly, but it was easy to forget that given everything else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

we requested a balcony and got one. the room 611 was really comfortable especially the pillows. The bathroom was a little dated but there was a bath and plenty of hot water.
the old guys the waiter and the reception man were a little grumpy however the younger employees were curtious. The breakfast was adequate,the bacon and scrambled eggs were tasty and the pastries were fresh and warmed. Couldn`t ask for more for the price really. if i went back to malaga I would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,059 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 88 in Malaga
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 88 in Malaga
502 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing