We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Dundee, Angus
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great value in an excellent location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not our usual choice of hotel in Malaga but was curious to try this after visiting the rooftop terrace for a drink on a previous visit to the city. Being great value for the location it was a no brainer for an extended family trip. Booked over the phone which was a painless experience. I changed the details of the booking around four times by e mail and each time this was dealt with efficiently and with great understanding and patience. Check in was friendly and we were given rooms next door to each other which with young children in tow was a great help. Rooms were spacious, well-appointed and clean and the cot provided was spotless. Our room rate did not include breakfast but we did take this in the mornings on two occasions and found it to be very good with a great selection for a reasonable price. (13 euros each). Good reception area with large comfy sofas to relax on and the rooftop pool was a necessity. Small pool which is to be expected but they did have around sixteen loungers available. Great terrace area beside the pool where you can relax with a drink or have a meal. We had lunch which was very well received by all. Tables were set up with tablecloths in the evening which was a nice touch. Its a ten minute walk, turning left and over the bridge, to the main square of Plaza Constitution and around fifteen, in the opposite direction, to the Maria Zambrano train Station/Bus station. Security guard on the door always greeted us as we returned in the evenings. Only down side I can think of is that we had rooms facing the main street which was sometimes noisy but this is to be expected in a city environment and did not hinder our sleep at all. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    595
    211
    64
    35
See reviews for
154
639
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Bilt, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Booked a "Superior Room" and liked that it is very spacious.
What we liked:
The staff is friendly, speaks English and is willing to help. Location to the center is good, a 15 minute walk.

But overall this hotel could really improve on the experience that fits a 4 star rated hotel. The first room we got, we had to change it to another room because the bath room was not that clean as you may expect in a hotel (dust, and also stains in the toilet). The carpetting on the corridors was a little worn out, same goes for the furniture even though the furniture looked modern/recent. The floor in the room is listed on booking as 'Wooden floor' but it actually was laminate. The free minibar (also featured on booking.com) had only 4 drinks (2 water, 2 softdrinks). It is great that it is free, but not a suprise that adds to a positive experience.
I couldn't get the WiFi in the room to work with my Android phone (iPhone had no problems). So all in all this hotel feels a bit outdated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed for five nights at the Salles Malaga Centro hotel from 1 to 6 June and really enjoyed it. I had asked for a quiet room and we got room 316 at the back of the hotel. We didn't hear any noise from within the hotel and just a little from outside on the first night. We had one of the older fashioned looking rooms and it wasn't very large but was clean and you get a free safe and a fridge with complimentary soft drinks and water. The bathroom on the other hand was very large with a double sink and plenty of space for toilet bags etc. We really enjoyed the roof top pool and bar area which was nice to come back to after a day of sight seeing. The hotel is in an excellent position, you just cross the bridge and you are at the start of the old town. It takes about five minutes to get to the main square. This hotel is also very easy to get to if you take the train in from the airport (3 euros 50 for 2 people). We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. We would definitely use this hotel again if we return to Malaga.

Room Tip: Room 316 at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Location is good, along the river and not so far away from the centre. It cost us 20+ euro from the hotel to the malaga airport (less than 15 minutes). We've been offered a old fashion room with three single beds although we've booked for double bed room. But the room is clean and the bathroom is big enough. Breakfast is ok. PS: The hotel serve free travel set which including toothbrush.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannamianmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights after 4 nights in Fuengirola group of lads, good central location, very clean with rooms which were a good size & daily cleaned, pool area only small on the 6th floor but there was a nice breeze.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Average hotel. Staff good but decor was tired and corridors smelt of artificial carpet cleaner/air spray. Malaga was our arrival and departure point. We stayed at Hotel Del Pintor on arrival which was almost half the price but more modern and smarter. Disappointed in Salles.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Al2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Perfectly located on the edge of the old town, so it's in a reasonably quiet location but just a 15-20 minute walk down to the port through the old town. Lovely roof terrace and the staff were really helpful with everything we asked about - spoke very good English but patiently helped me with my Spanish too! Really great to be able to leave bags in a secure luggage area on our last day so that we could make the most of our time.

Room Tip: We'd asked for a quiet room but arrived at 11 and were given one straight away - which was actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,903 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Malaga Centro

Property: Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Address: Calle Marmoles 6, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a seasonal rooftop pool with impressive city views can be found at Salles Hotel Malaga Centro, set in Malaga's picturesque old town. Rooms at the Malaga Centro are brightly decorated and spacious, hava satellite TV and a balcony. The Malaga Centro's Guernica Restaurant serves a range of Mediterranean and Andalusian cuisine. The Picasso Cafe-Bar serves drinks and snacks. Guests can relax and enjoy city views on the Centro's rooftop terrace. There is a poolside bar, open in summer. There is also an on-site gym.The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Picasso Museum and less than one kilometre from Málaga Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salles Hotel Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Malaga Centro
Malaga Centro málaga
Malaga Center
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing