We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star hotel with 5-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“3-star hotel with 5-star service”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Salles Hotel Malaga Centro is listed as a 4-star hotel on many websites, which I think is a bit of a stretch. But I'll explain that in a bit.

First, I'll start with the positives:

The hotel's location is quite good, as it is a short and pleasant 5-7 minute walk from Plaza de la Constitucion (Malaga's main plaza) and the shopping and restaurants that surround it and the city's primary commercial thoroughfare. It is also about a 15 minute walk from Malaga's main Maria Zambrano station, a 7 minute walk from the Malaga Centro station (commuter rail that takes you to MZ and the airport as well as the outskirts of the city) and is about a 20 minute walk to the city's beach area.

The hotel staff is the other impressive positive of this hotel. Those at the front desk that we spoke with were tremendously helpful and kind. This included providing numerous recommendations on places to see and good restaurants, as well as directions to various places, as it was our first time in the city. This also included switching our room because the first one we were in was extremely hot and would not cool down.

That said, the negatives would be some of the facilities in the sense that they are not 4-star like they are billed. The first room we were in was drab and dark and was a little bit dirty when we arrived (also the heater was pumping incredibly hot air out and would not turn off, but thanks to the staff this problem was rectified).

We were then moved (and upgraded free of charge) to a superior room, which was much, much nicer. The room had much more modern furnishings, good lighting, and was spotlessly clean. These "superior" rooms were 10x better than the traditional ones.

Overall, based on the strength of the hotel's location and the excellent staff, I would consider staying again at Malaga Centro, but only if I could get a very good rate or if I stayed in the superior room. I would avoid the regular rooms at all cost because they are outdated and not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemp674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    606
    212
    65
    37
See reviews for
159
646
50
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is located a short walk from the old town and the port area where there is lots to see and do. It's about 15 - 20 minutes walk in the opposite direction to the main railway station.
Our room was well furnished, although a bit on the small side, whereas the bathroom was very large. The quality of the breakfast was disappointing, especially the watery, tasteless orange juice. Decor in the dining room and in the corridors is garish and in need of refurbishment.
Overall could be a lot better and indeed we intend staying elsewhere next time we visit Malaga.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from an other short stay in Malaga and, as usual, we stayed at the Centro. There is nothing really to add to what we have stated in the past - large clean rooms (this time on the 4th floor, at the front - no noticeable street noise); pleasant and helpful reception personnel; good breakfast; good location for city centre.

During our stay it was my wife's birthday - a fact we did not convey to the hotel in any way but when we returned to our room on the afternoon of her birthday there was a bottle of wine and a card from the hotel wishing her all the best - a nice touch and much appreciated.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in Malaga, and the Hotel Malaga Centro was superb for this visit. The rooms were super (superior room) with Balcony, and the breakfast very good. It is fantastically located, you just walk over the bridge and you are in the old town, with the lovely streets leading to the squares and churches, with shops and cafes all around.
Free soft drink mini bar - water, coke, replenished every day.
My only gripe was that the towels were small and thin! Rooftop terrace fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying here because the AC Marriott was full; not surprised the Marriott consistently sells out when the, supposedly, 4star alternatives are as poor as this.
The room is dark, shabby and was really noisy throughout Saturday night. Noise from the street, hotel and aircon gave a rotten nights sleep in 4 th floor room facing the front. Sunday night was quieter but still some street noise.The view from the room's one smallish window, is of a shabby car park wall.
While 2 of the staff on reception try hard to be pleasant and helpful, the other reception supervisory staff have been quite the reverse. We smiled, asked politely but were made to feel that they were principally interested in charging further for any service, even though paying the hotel's rack rate. Shame really but they seem unaware of how to encourage guests to wish to return. No surprise the hotel is at least half empty.
The breakfast is poor; cheap watery juice from a machine, coffee the same but with a strange powdery taste, solid rubber fried eggs. Yuck!!

The best part of the hotel is the little roof terrace as you can catch the sun most of the day. Take your own towel for the sunbed as non available up there. The pool is tiny, the photos are deceptive.

Wi-fi is free if you go to reception and ask for a code. It works ok in some parts of the hotel but not at all in others. Lost it 4/5 occasions while writing this on the roof terrace.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank squirrelskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a little gem! I was convinced by the roof top pool when I booked it and it didn't disappoint. The staff were very helpful explaining to us how to get around, recommending amazing places to eat and booking trips around the area for us. We spent a couple of days by the pool and it was almost as good as being on the beach, plus the cocktails were great! The location is great, very close to the city center yet away from the noisy crowded streets, within walking distance to the bus station and a nice half an hour walk to the beach through the city. The room was good size and with fantastic views to the cathedral and the bathroom was just enormous!! Cleaned daily, fresh towels, etc, everything was great. Definitely recommend it and worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 949 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed four nights in Malaga, and chose to stay at the Salles Málaga Centro hotel.
The hotel is located just to the western side of the Rio Guadalmedina on Calle Marmoles. It is around an eight minute stroll up from the Malaga Centro-Alameda station on the Cercanias from the airport. It is conveniently placed for the old town as you cross the river and you are there. It is at most around a twenty minute stroll to the port area and the beach.
We had a room up on the sixth floor which was overlooking the front of the hotel. We didn’t find street noise an issue and we slept with the window open rather than with the air con on. The room was a little on the small side although the bathroom was a good size. The room was clean and pleasantly laid out too. There is a fridge in the rooms with complimentary water and soft drinks. This was restocked just about every day too.
We arrived in the evening at around 19:00 and the checkin process was smooth and straight forward. We were given a couple of keycards and a code for the free wifi service offered by the hotel. We found that the wifi connection was pretty good throughout the hotel, even in our room and up on the roof terrace too.
On the roof terrace there is a small pool with a few sunbeds, and a patio and bar area. Although the pool was closed whilst we were there we could still use the sunbeds and it was a great area to relax after spending the day exploring Málaga. There are some great views from the roof all across Málaga too.

Room Tip: Not much street noise for a city centre hotel in the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sunmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,953 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Malaga Centro

Property: Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Address: Calle Marmoles 6, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a seasonal rooftop pool with impressive city views can be found at Salles Hotel Malaga Centro, set in Malaga's picturesque old town. Rooms at the Malaga Centro are brightly decorated and spacious, hava satellite TV and a balcony. The Malaga Centro's Guernica Restaurant serves a range of Mediterranean and Andalusian cuisine. The Picasso Cafe-Bar serves drinks and snacks. Guests can relax and enjoy city views on the Centro's rooftop terrace. There is a poolside bar, open in summer. There is also an on-site gym.The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Picasso Museum and less than one kilometre from Málaga Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salles Hotel Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Malaga Centro
Malaga Centro málaga
Malaga Center
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing