We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Malaga City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had an excellent 4 night stay in this very central hotel. The room was clean and spacious with a very nice bathroom, and complimentary water and soft drinks in the mini-bar. It was quiet at night and the beds were comfortable. We spent a pleasant few hours on the roof terrace which had a small swimming pool, and enjoyed the lovely view of the old town and hills.
In lots of ways the best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the centre- literally a 2 minute walk. Our stay didn't include breakfast, but there were delightful cafes everywhere.
All the staff were extremely helpful and it was a very enjoyable stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluebell0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July with one of my daughters. We were hoping to meet up with my other daughter but her plans changed and she was unable to meet us in Malaga. Hotel staff were fantastic in helping us re-arrange our booking so we could travel down the coast to where my daughter was. The room was small but clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast at the little bar in reception was simple but fine, buffet breakfast I agree was overpriced. We booked to stay again on our return from Nerja but there was some mix up and we were allocated an upgrade on the room because I hadn't been picking up my emails- I don't tend to pick up when on holiday. The room was bigger and not much more expensive, but I can see how this could be annoying as I had made the booking in person only a week before. Overall I was most impressed by reception staff helpfulness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely 4 night break in Malaga staying at the Malaga Centro hotel. The hotel was excellent with professional, friendly and helpful staff at reception and in the breakfast areas. The room we had was fine (not huge), but adequate enough, immaculately clean and there was complementary bottled water and soft drinks in the room fridge (replennished daily). The bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean with a male and female welcome toiletry set (a really nice touch). We had breakfast included in our rate which was plentiful, tasty and of good quality. The breakfast area was pleasant, welcoming and spacious. One of the really nice touches was the free cava, in an ice bucket alongside the coffee machine, lovely with orange juice to start the day. The hotel has a lovely rooftop bar and pool (yes, the pool is small), but the area is pleasant and really relaxing to sit at sunset with a drink or snack to admire the city skyline views. Have to say though, the service could have been a little faster and the bar staff a little more friendlier. All in all this is a lovely hotel and one that I would definitely return to and recommend. The area (although not the most glamourous), is safe and is really only 5 minutes walk to the old town. A visit to the harbour area is a must, it is beautiful, safe and has a fantastic range of restaurants, shops and sitting areas for all ages. Can't wait to go back.......

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room at the back of the hotel - the views might not be the most glamourous, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank light-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. It's a standard mid-range city centre hotel. Clean, spacious, modern. Small (tiny!) rooftop pool with a bar. Booked a double which was really two single beds pushed together. In my mind, that does not make a double bed, but we put up with it for the short stay. Five minutes walk to the town. Nothing to complain about, it's a good hotel if you can get it at a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkckny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here at the end of August and we enjoyed our stay. The exterior of the building isn't much to look at, but it is better once you get inside. The reception staff were very friendly and we were given an free up-grade to a larger room at the back of the hotel which had a French door opening out on to a small balcony. The view from the room was lovely and it was very quiet in the room, and along the corridor. Nice bathroom with very large shower.

Public areas were ok, clean, plenty of places to sit and lots of tourist info available. The coffee bar was handy and offered a cheap breakfast (coffee + pastry for 2 Euro). Hotel in a good situation and just a short walk to the centre but not really near the beach - further than the 500 yards it claims to be!! The view from the roof terrace is amazing, and its a great place to have a drink and take in the view, but for some reason although they serve drinks until late, they stop serving coffee up there around 9pm, which is a bit of a shame.

As our room rate was fairly reasonable, our stay was good value. A good place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: A room at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senga_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were happy to have booked this hotel for our stay in two weeks' time through Navelar/Clever-hotels.com, a German company linked to through Trivago, which is now in administration. We had pre-paid our booking in full, but were informed by Navelar that bookings may be cancelled. We have all the paperwork showing the agreed rate, etc.. We were not informed by the hotel that the booking was cancelled until we got in touch ourselves.

Very sadly, the hotel are seeking to take advantage of our situation to wring more money out of us. They now want significantly more money for exactly the same stay, in exactly the same class of room, even though they know all about the original arrangement. They were happy enough to take the booking at the price paid when we originally booked, but will not honour what we had agreed to pay, even though we have requested that they do so. In my view, this is very bad ethically. I would therefore think seriously before booking this hotel through a third party or even at all for an important trip like a honeymoon, as you can't rely on them 1) to let you know if your booking is cancelled or 2) not to hold you to ransom for more money if you still want to go there. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CookieMonsterEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 15 days in June/July and we enjoyed the experience. We had room 704 on the top floor ( floor above the pool ) which is situated at the rear of the property. There are only four rooms on this floor. The room was very nice, with a big bathroom. Not the greatest view in the world, but as we spent most of the time out and about it did not matter to us. The pool is small, and there are only a dozen or so Sunbeds but if you want to sun yourself... Go to the beach! It is a nice area though with a nice pool bar and a couple of Cabanas. We did not eat at all at the hotel as there is so much choice of places to eat in Malaga at any time of day. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly ( try a bit Spanish, I always think it helps ), and they had good information about Malaga. The Hotel is a 100 yard walk to the old town. The area it is situated in seems to be getting a wee bit run down, but we did not feel uncomfortable or threatened at all. The locals in the area just get on with their day to day business. In all a decent hotel if you can get it for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seventh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
600 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,130 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Malaga Centro

Address: Calle Marmoles 6, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#18 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $94 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a seasonal rooftop pool with impressive city views can be found at Salles Hotel Malaga Centro, set in Malaga's picturesque old town. Rooms at the Malaga Centro are brightly decorated and spacious, hava satellite TV and a balcony. The Malaga Centro's Guernica Restaurant serves a range of Mediterranean and Andalusian cuisine. The Picasso Cafe-Bar serves drinks and snacks. Guests can relax and enjoy city views on the Centro's rooftop terrace. There is a poolside bar, open in summer. There is also an on-site gym.The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Picasso Museum and less than one kilometre from Málaga Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salles Hotel Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Malaga Centro
Malaga Centro málaga
Malaga Center
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing