We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel near attractions and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel near attractions and shopping”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The AC Hotel Malaga Palacio is a great hotel near the cathedral and cruise port. The hotel is an easy walk to everything from the picasso museum to the shopping district. The front desk staff was amazing as was the restaurant.

We stayed twice in November and I gave them feedback through a marriott survey email and immediately received a response. I had just mentioned that the internet wasn't great and it would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room. However, it was a great stay and pretty decent value for the money. I would love to return just for the helpful staff.

The floors in the rooms looked worn and seemed like they had suffered the wrath of the balcony doors being left open both times we stayed but it didn't bother me. The bellman also don't help you bring your bags to the elevated reception area from street level---a little odd

Room Tip: high floors facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments that make us improve every day.
Donot hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    896
    249
    62
    65
See reviews for
281
994
85
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very good location near the cathedral and on the edge of the old town. We also had a nice view from our room, overlooking the port. The downside was that the room is above a busy junction which starts to get loud quite early in the morning. We were also a little unlucky with our room fridge joining in the noise concert in the middle of the light – together with a radio alarm that was non trivial to disarm. Overall we did not sleep too well at the hotel but really enjoyed the 3 days we had at this location. In summary, the garden views might be better for those with good hearing and no ear plugs.

Room Tip: Sea views are quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments that make us improve every day. We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Please, our aim is your satisfaction so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.
We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A few minor changes and a good hotel would be very good.

The really good things about the hotel are - location, which is excellent; - almost all the staff, especially the front desk are really good; - the ground floor lounge area with wifi is fine; - the first floor breakfast is very good; - the rooms are perfectly adequate, subject to what I say later; - the price I paid for a room overlooking the Cathedral seemed to me to be reasonable.

The minor changes that would improve the hotel are - less offhand staff on the 15th floor; -soundproofing in the rooms at the front as this is poor, but mine at the back, to which I moved after standing in a front room for a few minutes, was fine; - having individual safes in the rooms (very unusual not to have this); - no extractor fan in the internal bathroom in my room, which is O.K. for a single traveller but otherwise a no-no; - no kettle and tea/ coffee in the room.

I'd definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: overlooking the Cathedral is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments that make us improve every day.
Please, our aim is your satisfaction, so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have been at the Malaga Palacio a couple of time and my impression has been confirmed. It is a nice hotel, clean and well furnished with very friendly personnel ready to help and give suggestions. Rooms are large, clean and the bathroom has the bidet. On the roof there is a restaurant and a small swimming pool with a nice view: you are a few meters far from the bell tower of the Cathedral. Few steps from the Picasso Museum, the pedestrian area, the roman theater and the fortress, the hotel is between the center and the sea so very convenient. Breackfast is good with a large choice. Negative points? not easy to have the right temperature in the room and if you eat at the rooftop restaurant allow some time to wait. If you go to Malaga this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear client,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us for your future stays.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room at the Malaga Palacio was lovely: hardwood floors, full marble bathroom with glass sink surround, mid-century modern furniture, and a balcony looking out over the Med. Between the hotel and the Med is a thin strip of palm trees, so from higher floors, you have the music of parrots in the trees, and a view to the sea with cruise ships and tankers!

Traditional Spanish hotels have smaller rooms, and larger communal areas, and we really enjoyed spending time in the lobby in the evenings; it is beautifully furnished, with snack and bar service, and has a library leaning mainly towards art and design books. The location is brilliant, only a few minutes from the Gibralfaro (castle complex), and in the heart of a really good and well-priced shopping area. We will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Malaga.

Room Tip: Higher and facing the sea are both better of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Our comments are a present for us. As you mentioned, our hotel is central located so clients will find all interest places and monument at walking distances. Our property is focused on the client so all our lobbys, commom areas, restaurants... and offers an evironment of peace and quiet.
Please, do not hesitate in contact us for future stays and we will be pleased in offering you a nice stay with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location, easy walk to everywhere. Clean, well appointed, very comfortable. Nice staff. Would definitely recommend, but breakfast elsewhere because it is way too expensive. 3 nights were perfect to see everything.

Room Tip: Marriott gives you some choices, but I always request not next to elevator and I wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollywood-solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your lovely comments related our property. We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us fur future stays.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was clean and modern. We had a beautiful view of the harbor and it was thrilling to see our ship from our balcony.

The breakfast at 16 euros was very expensive so we walked just a few blocks away and found a wonderful cafe - one of many - which served sandwiches and coffee - under 6 euros total for both of us.

The elevators are very old and very small and take a long time.

The reception staff were very helpful.

Unfortunately I got a non-refundable rate at a set price but the prevailing rate was much lower. They would not give me the lower rate as I'd been locked into the higher rate.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the harbor. I do not recommend the breakfast. The variety was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Related the non refundable rates, clients are the ones who choose the type of rate and type of room. Normally the standard room is cheaper that rooms with sea views so we think this is the reason of the different rate. If you were able to sea the sea from your room this type of room was not standard room so the rate was high.
However, we always are pleased to help our clients and answer any duobt they have related the reservation os any pther request.
For further reservations do not hesitate in contact us in order to offer you a noce stay with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,953 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,072 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
464 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Property: AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing