We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel in gorgeous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in gorgeous location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room at the Malaga Palacio was lovely: hardwood floors, full marble bathroom with glass sink surround, mid-century modern furniture, and a balcony looking out over the Med. Between the hotel and the Med is a thin strip of palm trees, so from higher floors, you have the music of parrots in the trees, and a view to the sea with cruise ships and tankers!

Traditional Spanish hotels have smaller rooms, and larger communal areas, and we really enjoyed spending time in the lobby in the evenings; it is beautifully furnished, with snack and bar service, and has a library leaning mainly towards art and design books. The location is brilliant, only a few minutes from the Gibralfaro (castle complex), and in the heart of a really good and well-priced shopping area. We will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Malaga.

Room Tip: Higher and facing the sea are both better of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Our comments are a present for us. As you mentioned, our hotel is central located so clients will find all interest places and monument at walking distances. Our property is focused on the client so all our lobbys, commom areas, restaurants... and offers an evironment of peace and quiet.
Please, do not hesitate in contact us for future stays and we will be pleased in offering you a nice stay with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    863
    242
    57
    52
See reviews for
271
948
83
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location, easy walk to everywhere. Clean, well appointed, very comfortable. Nice staff. Would definitely recommend, but breakfast elsewhere because it is way too expensive. 3 nights were perfect to see everything.

Room Tip: Marriott gives you some choices, but I always request not next to elevator and I wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollywood-solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your lovely comments related our property. We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us fur future stays.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was clean and modern. We had a beautiful view of the harbor and it was thrilling to see our ship from our balcony.

The breakfast at 16 euros was very expensive so we walked just a few blocks away and found a wonderful cafe - one of many - which served sandwiches and coffee - under 6 euros total for both of us.

The elevators are very old and very small and take a long time.

The reception staff were very helpful.

Unfortunately I got a non-refundable rate at a set price but the prevailing rate was much lower. They would not give me the lower rate as I'd been locked into the higher rate.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the harbor. I do not recommend the breakfast. The variety was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Related the non refundable rates, clients are the ones who choose the type of rate and type of room. Normally the standard room is cheaper that rooms with sea views so we think this is the reason of the different rate. If you were able to sea the sea from your room this type of room was not standard room so the rate was high.
However, we always are pleased to help our clients and answer any duobt they have related the reservation os any pther request.
For further reservations do not hesitate in contact us in order to offer you a noce stay with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really liked this hotel and felt it was terrific value for money, we had booked about 3 months in advance so got a favourable rate for 2 nights B&B in early October. Only faults I can recall were yes, the interminably slow lifts and a funky smell at times in the lobby but they are the only negatives, the road at the front is quite noisy. The hotel itself looks like a bit of a 70s relic from the outside, but quite modern inside. The checkin was speedy and professional, we arrived around 12pm after flying to Malaga from Ireland. Our room was on the 9th floor with a balcony and view I had requested...and what a view of Malaga port! The only time we ventured to the roof area was that evening and it was very busy (saturday eve) so decided we would go for something to eat elsewhere, small pool but nice enough place to hang out if you got a sun-bed so get there early i guess if that is what you want to do, we preferred to explore the city. The breakfast was superb I thought, buffet style and absolutely delicious. The famous Malaga cathedral was a 2 minute walk from the hotel as it is located in the heart of the old town. We loved the walk along the park in front of the hotel by the marina towards the beach. Very good Ac and it was needed even on the 6th of October!

We were pleasantly suprised by Malaga and will certainly return, and when we do we would certainly stay in the Palacio.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper then you may wish to book a room facing the cathedral rather than the Port-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRoseyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments that make us improve every day. We are really sorry about the problem with the smell. It was a problem of the public sewer system not from the hotel. Now, it is repaired. We ar epleased to inform you the hotel has 4 elevators for clients use in order to avoid the delay.

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in ahving you in the hotel again.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while traveling in Spain for work. As an American, the lighting system for each individual hotel room was a bit confusing (you have to put your hotel room key in a slot in order for the lights to work in each room), but otherwise the room was clean, sleek, and modern. I had a beautiful view and the hotel's location couldn't be beat. The area surrounding the hotel seems safe, and I enjoyed going for a run through the area surrounding the hotel each afternoon after work. The wi-fi worked great, and the breakfast each morning was very good. The fitness room could be slightly updated, as the machines were old, but I was very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliebgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear client,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our central location and business facilities are highly recommended by business clients.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us for your future stays.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because of the good reviews and I'm quite happy. I stayed here for business.
Downsides. This is an old hotel which has been refurbished. The VEEERY slow elevators show the hotel's age though...Also the gym is quite old.
Wifi is paying in the room (as in other AC) which is really a bad point for a 4* hotel and considering the price of the room
Upsides. Location Location Location, you are right in the city center. Good room, bed and bathroom as expected in an AC hotel. We got a room with great views of the harbour. The breakfast buffet was good.
Overall, in spite of some of the drawbacks, this is one of the better hotels I have stayed in in Malaga so if the price is ok, go for it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sight on the sea, go for a higher room only if you have time to wait for the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear clients,

We are pleased you have enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.
We are pleased to inform you that the hotel as Free internet connection in all rooms but standard rooms.
Related the elevators, our hotel offer 4 elevators for clietns use and they are updated.
We will take into account all your comments to imrpove our quality service.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Location is excellent. It is close to most attractions in the town. It was a waste as we were only staying in Malaga for less than 12 hours before we headed to Torremolinos. Luckily I managed to jog around the hotel and had a very quick glance at some attractions.

Back to the hotel itself. The room was nice. We were put on 14/F facing the harbor. The view was fantastic. The fitness center was small, but you got all the basics.

Last but not the least, not sure if it's an "AC" tradition, the minibar was free, mine including beer! Ole ~

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guests,

We are pleased you have enjoyed our services and facilities focused to your satisfaction.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do note hesitate in contact us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
1,811 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
396 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Property: AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing