We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very handy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Anglia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very handy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Flew to Malaga arriving late evening. Staying in the mountains and didn't fancy driving it in the dark. Was recommended the Tryp and was very pleased. It is not cosy. It is a big chain hotel. But the rooms were good, big and clean. Bathroom facilities were excellent. We ate a late dinner and breakfast at the hotel and it was great. Huge buffets in both cases. A little of the 'school canteen' about it, but everyone was having loud Spanish fun and enjoying the copious quantities of pretty good and varied food. This hotel seems to be off the radar of the UK package tours which was also a plus. All in all, very handy, and we'll certainly use it again if needing a near-airport hotel in Malaga.

Room Tip: Ours had a sea view and therefore a lovely 'waves crashing onto the beach' soundtrack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspode74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    534
    227
    104
    64
See reviews for
344
529
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent a weekend with my husband here. Booked via web and did not have high expectations, but we had very-very positive surprise. Food was excellent, hotel offers buffet breakfast-lunch-dinner INCLUDING drinks upon request. Rooms are big, spacious and with sea view. Airport is only 3 km away so really perfect place for a short weekend break. We probably will return here:) Very good value for money and nice beach, very good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client:

Thank you for your opinion and we are very proud our Hotel liked you.

I hope to see you in a near future.

Kind regards,

Javier Tenza
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are excellent. Do not expect warmth or care from staff. It is a chain... admittedly fine rooms at the price.. there are extras like Euro 10 for internet Euro 19 for buffet dinner plus extra for water drinks etc and parking. A chain without courtesy - you are simply a number. Beach smells like raw sewerage in places .. do not swim.. clean feet .. ecoli possible ... but great for a night if transiting to Malaga airport. That's it! Wish I could be more positive ..... because rooms great value minus the curtness and absence of basic courtesy 9if that makes any difference to you) .. it is Europe 2012 .... not outlying villages in Alpajarra .... or Thailand. The UK is far more polite as is South Africa and even the USA.

Room Tip: Face beach -- odd number rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location next to the beach. Spoilt by totally disinterested staff and chaotic organisation of breakfast. Worst of all when asking for a sandwich at lunchtime was presented with a revolting offering in a sealed plastic carton! Best tip is to use the lovely beach restaurant for all meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Tryp Guadalmar for 3 nights. The cost from the airport to the hotel was 19 Euros. The hotel is situated in a residential area between Malaga and Torremolinos. It's perfect for a relaxing short break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke English, but it's a French hotel so the entertainment team were mainly speaking French but did try their hardest to translate into English as well. When I booked this hotel I looked everywhere to see what was actually included in the All Inclusive but couldn't find a list anywhere, so here's what is included if you go all inclusive; - Buffet breakfast, this included croissants, cereals, ham, cheese, freshly made pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausages, donuts, fruit, bread, jams, tea, coffee, fruit juices. Buffet lunch, this included lots of hot dishes, freshly cooked meats, salads, vegetables, cheese, ham, pasta, desserts. Buffet dinner was similar to lunch. For breakfast, lunch and dinner they do "Show Cooking" which is basically you choose the piece of meat or fish and they cook it right there in front of you on a grill. They also do this with pasta, you can choose which sauces and ingredients you would like with your pasta dish! The show cooking for breakfast was pancakes and eggs mainly. There is also a pool bar which serves sandwiches, crisps and ice cream which is included. Drinks included were soft drinks (coke etc), fruit juices, water, beer, wine, sangria, gin, whisky, Malibu, vodka, brandy, pernod, vermouth, cocktails, Cava, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and milk shakes. You can get drinks from either the pool bar or the bar Picasso just inside.
The bedroom was very clean, included air con, 2 double beds, 2 wardrobes, dressing table, table & chairs, tv with 3 English channels (Discovery, National Geographic and BBC World News) My husband was very happy he could watch Myth Busters! The bathroom was marble and included a bath with shower, hairdryer, hand soap and shampoo. We stayed on the 6th floor and the view was fantastic, overlooking the beach. The aeroplanes fly over the beach not over the hotel and yes you can hear the planes whilst laying by the pool but once inside your room with the balcony door closed you can't hear them at all. A room upgrade costs 15 Euros per night, but personally we didn't spend long in the room so decided on the standard room. Which we were still very pleased with.
The beach is huge and you can see Torremolinos in the distance on one side and Malaga on the other. It is very popular with the locals at the weekends.
There is a shopping centre, Plaza Mayor, which is approx 20 min walk away. Here they also have a train station which we got to Torremolinos which cost 1.60 Euros each way. It only took 10 minutes on the train. Torremolinos is very much like Benidorm if you've ever been there or seen it on tv!
There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel entrance which goes into the centre of Malaga, it only cost 1.20 Euros each way and took 30 minutes. Malaga is a must see, the shopping parts were gorgeous with marble pavements! It's very clean and safe. We walked round the centre at 10pm and felt secure. Most the shops close at 9pm but a few of the bigger stores stayed open till 10pm. You cannot get a bus to Torremolinos from the hotel, if you want to go there its got to be a taxi or walk to the Plaza Mayor for the train. You could walk along the beach like we did coming back from Torremolinos but it's about 4-5 miles!
The hotel also has an indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym, we didn't use it but looked very nice. It's my understanding that you have to wear a swimming cap for the indoor pool though. The outdoor pool was freezing so I only went in once but my husband was in every day! The hotel has an entertainment team which does daily activities such as Mini Club for the kids, aqua aerobics, scrabble, bowls, etc again it's mainly the French who took part as the entertainment team were French!
There are always taxi's waiting outside the hotel, the taxi back to the airport cost 15 Euros.
Overall, this hotel was very clean, perfect for a short break, not sure I would want to stay here for my 2 week holiday due to the location I think I may get a bit bored, the staff were very friendly, especially the bar staff, reception were also very helpful, if you needed any information about buses etc they would print you off a timetable. Food was fantastic and lots to choose from, they even had a special kids table which was lowered so they can choose their food! Very pleased with our choice of hotel. :-D

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room so you get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
First of all, I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.

Your comments, are an invaluable help and a stimulus in order to achieve a higher satisfaction level for our guests.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for a short break, hotel is based in a residential area with nothing else around it, apart from a little supermarket down the road. It's right on the beach which has a number of sunbeds to hire for 9 euros a day, but you don't get much choice were to sit at a weekend as the beds are reserved for the locals? There are two little tavernas on the beach which you can get a bite to eat but nothing to look at but the food is good.

The hotel itself is not bad with a good selection for your breakfast and you are able to swap your evening meal for lunch which we did and went in to Malaga for an evening meal. Food in the evening in the resturant is ok but it's not always hot.
The bus stop is right outside and costs 1.20 in to the centre of Malaga which has a great marina with some fab resturants, we used to get a taxi back which costs 13 euros well worth it.

This hotel caters for mainly French and unless you can speak French you don't have much chance in joining in the daily activites or evening entertainment.

The hotel does have a gym which was an attraction for us picking the hotel, but unfortunately it only opens at 10am closes at 2pm for an hour then shuts again for the day at 5pm?? So unless you dont want breakfast or want to interupt your day in the sun you have no chance of getting in here.
The hotel is close to the airport about 6km away and costs 15 euros in a taxi, overall the hotel is ok for a short break but couldn't do a week here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a very unappealing location, on a totally unattractive beach close to a vast industrial area and under the flight path to Malaga airport. Otherwise it is an ideal place to go if you want to be miserable and look at Torremolinos in the distance!

It is priced competitively however and potentially you can listen to at least eight air-conditioning units all at once, even if you don't have yours switched on as each room's unit is on the respective balconies. Aircraft taking off vie for supremacy on noise level.

If you are very lucky, they might decide to clean the beach at 1 am and the fishermen on the nearby rocks talk all night. There is also a very run down 'beach bar' nearby.

The local bus sometimes stops outside the hotel entrance and for €1.20 you can travel into Malaga centre. There is no guarantee that the bus will pass anywhere near this hotel when it brings you back though but for €1.20, what do you expect?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LincolnshireNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#24 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing