We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location next to the beach. Spoilt by totally disinterested staff and chaotic organisation of breakfast. Worst of all when asking for a sandwich at lunchtime was presented with a revolting offering in a sealed plastic carton! Best tip is to use the lovely beach restaurant for all meals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
There are newer reviews for Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Tryp Guadalmar for 3 nights. The cost from the airport to the hotel was 19 Euros. The hotel is situated in a residential area between Malaga and Torremolinos. It's perfect for a relaxing short break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke English, but it's a French hotel so the entertainment team were mainly speaking French but did try their hardest to translate into English as well. When I booked this hotel I looked everywhere to see what was actually included in the All Inclusive but couldn't find a list anywhere, so here's what is included if you go all inclusive; - Buffet breakfast, this included croissants, cereals, ham, cheese, freshly made pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausages, donuts, fruit, bread, jams, tea, coffee, fruit juices. Buffet lunch, this included lots of hot dishes, freshly cooked meats, salads, vegetables, cheese, ham, pasta, desserts. Buffet dinner was similar to lunch. For breakfast, lunch and dinner they do "Show Cooking" which is basically you choose the piece of meat or fish and they cook it right there in front of you on a grill. They also do this with pasta, you can choose which sauces and ingredients you would like with your pasta dish! The show cooking for breakfast was pancakes and eggs mainly. There is also a pool bar which serves sandwiches, crisps and ice cream which is included. Drinks included were soft drinks (coke etc), fruit juices, water, beer, wine, sangria, gin, whisky, Malibu, vodka, brandy, pernod, vermouth, cocktails, Cava, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and milk shakes. You can get drinks from either the pool bar or the bar Picasso just inside.
The bedroom was very clean, included air con, 2 double beds, 2 wardrobes, dressing table, table & chairs, tv with 3 English channels (Discovery, National Geographic and BBC World News) My husband was very happy he could watch Myth Busters! The bathroom was marble and included a bath with shower, hairdryer, hand soap and shampoo. We stayed on the 6th floor and the view was fantastic, overlooking the beach. The aeroplanes fly over the beach not over the hotel and yes you can hear the planes whilst laying by the pool but once inside your room with the balcony door closed you can't hear them at all. A room upgrade costs 15 Euros per night, but personally we didn't spend long in the room so decided on the standard room. Which we were still very pleased with.
The beach is huge and you can see Torremolinos in the distance on one side and Malaga on the other. It is very popular with the locals at the weekends.
There is a shopping centre, Plaza Mayor, which is approx 20 min walk away. Here they also have a train station which we got to Torremolinos which cost 1.60 Euros each way. It only took 10 minutes on the train. Torremolinos is very much like Benidorm if you've ever been there or seen it on tv!
There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel entrance which goes into the centre of Malaga, it only cost 1.20 Euros each way and took 30 minutes. Malaga is a must see, the shopping parts were gorgeous with marble pavements! It's very clean and safe. We walked round the centre at 10pm and felt secure. Most the shops close at 9pm but a few of the bigger stores stayed open till 10pm. You cannot get a bus to Torremolinos from the hotel, if you want to go there its got to be a taxi or walk to the Plaza Mayor for the train. You could walk along the beach like we did coming back from Torremolinos but it's about 4-5 miles!
The hotel also has an indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym, we didn't use it but looked very nice. It's my understanding that you have to wear a swimming cap for the indoor pool though. The outdoor pool was freezing so I only went in once but my husband was in every day! The hotel has an entertainment team which does daily activities such as Mini Club for the kids, aqua aerobics, scrabble, bowls, etc again it's mainly the French who took part as the entertainment team were French!
There are always taxi's waiting outside the hotel, the taxi back to the airport cost 15 Euros.
Overall, this hotel was very clean, perfect for a short break, not sure I would want to stay here for my 2 week holiday due to the location I think I may get a bit bored, the staff were very friendly, especially the bar staff, reception were also very helpful, if you needed any information about buses etc they would print you off a timetable. Food was fantastic and lots to choose from, they even had a special kids table which was lowered so they can choose their food! Very pleased with our choice of hotel. :-D

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room so you get the best views!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

First of all, I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.

Your comments, are an invaluable help and a stimulus in order to achieve a higher satisfaction level for our guests.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for a short break, hotel is based in a residential area with nothing else around it, apart from a little supermarket down the road. It's right on the beach which has a number of sunbeds to hire for 9 euros a day, but you don't get much choice were to sit at a weekend as the beds are reserved for the locals? There are two little tavernas on the beach which you can get a bite to eat but nothing to look at but the food is good.

The hotel itself is not bad with a good selection for your breakfast and you are able to swap your evening meal for lunch which we did and went in to Malaga for an evening meal. Food in the evening in the resturant is ok but it's not always hot.
The bus stop is right outside and costs 1.20 in to the centre of Malaga which has a great marina with some fab resturants, we used to get a taxi back which costs 13 euros well worth it.

This hotel caters for mainly French and unless you can speak French you don't have much chance in joining in the daily activites or evening entertainment.

The hotel does have a gym which was an attraction for us picking the hotel, but unfortunately it only opens at 10am closes at 2pm for an hour then shuts again for the day at 5pm?? So unless you dont want breakfast or want to interupt your day in the sun you have no chance of getting in here.
The hotel is close to the airport about 6km away and costs 15 euros in a taxi, overall the hotel is ok for a short break but couldn't do a week here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a very unappealing location, on a totally unattractive beach close to a vast industrial area and under the flight path to Malaga airport. Otherwise it is an ideal place to go if you want to be miserable and look at Torremolinos in the distance!

It is priced competitively however and potentially you can listen to at least eight air-conditioning units all at once, even if you don't have yours switched on as each room's unit is on the respective balconies. Aircraft taking off vie for supremacy on noise level.

If you are very lucky, they might decide to clean the beach at 1 am and the fishermen on the nearby rocks talk all night. There is also a very run down 'beach bar' nearby.

The local bus sometimes stops outside the hotel entrance and for €1.20 you can travel into Malaga centre. There is no guarantee that the bus will pass anywhere near this hotel when it brings you back though but for €1.20, what do you expect?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LincolnshireNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Booked a one night stopover to allow handy access to the airport the following morning.
We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful enough.
Our room on the seventh floor had a great sea view and the pool was nice also.
Our experience was spoiled by the taxi driver taking us to the airport ripping us off.
I know the taxis are not the hotels responsiblity, however seeing as they tout for business on the hotels grounds perhaps they should have pre agreed rates with the hotel and these rates should be advised to the guest.
Left us with a sour taste as we boarded our flight home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Client,

We wellcome your comments certainly help us improve.

If you ask in recepción desk, we can offers all informations.

We hope you come back in a near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were travelling on Trafalgar tour, they book this hotel for us. But the location is quite far away from the CBD and taking can is a good 15 mins drive. Room View is superb but on our check in time, they gave us a room (121) that has a huge fire escape staircase right infront of the balcony. We asked them to change the room for a better balcony and luckily it was granted.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sibylistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

First of all, I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.
I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.
Hotel strategically located 5 km from Málaga town center(connected by daily public bus), and only 2 km Shopping and Leisure Center (Plaza Mayor)
Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Two things to get out of the way to start with - it's near the airport - about 3 to 4km away - and you can hear and see the planes, but, do you know what? I don't think it matters because they aren't obtrusive, certainly not if you have ever lived in a city with an airport and I actually quite enjoyed watching them come and go.

Secondly, it definitely helps if you are French or can speak French because the hotel caters more toward the French - understandably as they are it's majority of guests - When we were there, there were just a few of us Brits along with a scattering of Americans and Australians. This isn't to say we were excluded at all, quite the reverse, but you should be aware that the entertainment (and cuisine) is more geared towards French tastes.

The hotel itself is lovely. Modern, clean, efficient and friendly staff who spoke reasonable English and put up good-humouredly with my faltering Spanish. The food (buffet style) is excellent with a very wide choice and you can eat as much as you like for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you want to. We took breakfast and dinner at the hotel each day and it was well worth the price (we booked room only).

The pool is nice (bit cold) and the area around the pool is well stocked with loungers. A real plus is that the beach is literally 20 paces from the hotel. There are a couple of nice bars on the beach that do bbq'd fish and are also good value.

The hotel is a bit out on a limb in a residential area - about 40 mins from Malaga on the bus - but the fare is only €1.20 per person so again is good value. There aren't really any restaurants that are within walking distance but a short (€10 euro including tip) taxi ride or the €1.20 bus fare, will take you to the Plaza Mayor which is about 2km from the hotel - which doesn't sound far but it isn't really walkable due to the route you would have to take - and this is a large shopping/entertainment complex where there are lot's of eating places, including fast food like McDonlad's, Taco Bell & Burger King.if that's what you fancy.

The Rooms are of a good standard and the air conditioning is via an individual unit in each room. This works quite well because you can set your own temperature rather than having a uniformly applied one from some central point. The TV doesn't have any English channels but that didn't matter as I don't go on holiday to watch TV.

Overall a really nice place to stay - and don't let its proximity to the airport put you off because you'll miss a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor or higher facing Torremolinos. You get a great view from your balco...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Client:

We thank you for your appreciate comments, guests like you help us to achieve the best quality of our Hotel.

I hope to see you in a near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Javier Tenza
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,100 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#9 of 89 in Malaga
1,035 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Parador de Malaga Golf
#18 of 89 in Malaga
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $80 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing