We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maniwaki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Near airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Tryp Guadalmar hotel on the 27th and 28th of February and were quite satisfied with our choice. At 65 Euros per night including parking and breakfast we felt this was a very reasonable rate. The buffet breakfast was very good. The room was very comfortable and the view from our room was excellent. The service at the front desk was not as fast as we would have liked; on a few occasions we had to wait a few minutes before someone would show up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    523
    225
    101
    62
See reviews for
334
519
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We used this hotel for a night night stay before an early morning flight from Malaga Airport. We had an existing pre-paid booking via hotels.com that could not be located. I forwarded all the details to the front desk and they noted the reservation number etc.

The room itself was descent, although some of the furniture seemed dated. The balcony did not seem like it's being maintained regularly and had some very cheap patio furniture. Dinner in the in-house restaurant was excellent. 15 eur for a buffet, with many different dishes, something for everyone for sure. Meat was prepared by the chef upon request and to your likings. The restaurant staff was friendly and effective.

Upon check-out at 5am we were asked to pay for our room as well as the other charges. We pointed out again that we had a prepaid reservation and provided proof. The gentlemen on the front desk however was not having any of it. After several discussions and time pressure we paid (the second time around) - I did not appreciate the way it was handled. It almost felt we were being accused of lying by the front desk.

A few hours later, i received an email from the hotel apologising for the mistake - they checked the wrong system and could not locate my booking and the money will be refunded. While i understand mistakes happen, it seemed that the front desk was not really interested in finding the booking. This applies to both check-in and check-out staff.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear client,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at TRYP Guadalmar.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding referring your reservation.

I have personally asked our Front Desk Manager to find out what happened. It seemed that your reservation was recorded under the name of your companion.

Booking.com and Travelscape/Expedia are extranets that work in a different way. The first one does not charge to the credit card of guarantee, and the second one does it.

I am sorry for the inconveniences and I remain at your disposal for any further information you may require.

Yours sincerely,

Javier Tenza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Having stayed at the hotel at each end of our holiday I would certainly recommend it. It is clean and spacious with an exellent breakfast. The evening menu and service was a bit 'canteenish' and certainly not 4 star, but the staff were very helpful. It is easy to park a car there and the frequent No.10 bus stops outside, taking you to Malaga for 1.20 euro; by far the easiest and cheapest way to see the city.Some reviews say its difficult to find, but if you follow the signs for St.Julian when leaving the airport, Gualdalmar is signposted from there along with the hotel signs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve186240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benissa, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

we needed an overnight stop close to the airport. i remembered this hotel was 3 km away as we had stayed here before a few years back.
from the airport to hotel was 15 euros in a taxi - no other way to get to the hotel no shuttle service.
from hotel to the airport at 5 am was 19 euros. an absolute joke of a price for short distance.

hotel indoor pool was out of action as it was 2 years ago when we stayed.

paid for wifi that didnt work and no one on reception knew how to work it.!!!!!!!

wifi is a basic travellers need. i feel it is unacceptable to be charged for this.

if you stay here go to the beach restaurant behind and order some bream or bass with a salad. basic place but the fish is good and you can choose the fish before they cook it for you on the open fire. both visits the fish was great and a good experiencee. dont be put off by how ramshackle the restaurant looks.

Room Tip: another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baladrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family of 4 stayed here on a recent visit to Malaga. The hotel was nice, clean, and spacious. We had 2 double beds and a bunk bed in our room. They have a nice sized pool and sunning area with lots of lounge chairs around the pool. They also had a small indoor pool. I was disappointed that you could not swim in the indoor pool without a swimcap. The reception was very helpful with restaurant ideas and excursions. The location was great. 10 minutes from the airport, close to the city, and halfway between Granada and Gibraltar which we travelled to on different days during our stay. Free parking at the hotel inside the hotel lot. The hotel sits on the beach, but my family was disappointed in the beach itself. Not very nice sand, 2 restaurants, but nothing else to do on the beach, although it was quite crowded. Breakfast was a big buffet but expensive for what it was and kids had to pay as well. There is nothing much nearby so a car was a must. We went into Malaga every night for dinner and had no problems finding good food. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear client,

I would like to thank you for your comments about our Hotel. This is the best way to improve in our job.

Thank you again and I hope to see you in a near future.

Kind regards,

Javier Tenza
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Booked a weekend sun break to relax by the pool and do little else, and to all intents and purposes the hotel accommodated this desire. So starting on a positive ...The pool is a very good size and the surrounding garden with its mock desert island theme is generally well maintained, (although they could perhaps clean the bird excrement off of the fabric sun loungers).

The beach is a real let down and not worth bothering with. Other than a couple of beach restaurants there doesn't seem to be any other life in the local vicinity.

The receptionist when we checked in appeared to be chewing a wasp, which seemed to be the general tone of all of the staff, who could do with some basic customer service training.

The restaurant is ok, although don't expect to find any information regarding opening times anywhere. Breakfast buffet has a very good range, although if you want a full English breakfast you'll be disappointed (I didn't though). The evening buffet was ok but uninspiring.

The room was a decent size, but an oven and the 1970s air con wasn't much use. There seemed to cleaners constantly on our floor so it was clean at least.

If you're taking a taxi, the proximity to the airport is misleading as you'll be charged a fixed rate of €15.21 on a weekday or €19.01 on Sunday, for a 2.5 mile journey.

In a nutshell fine for a couple of days of sunbaking and if you get a cheap rate, otherwise steer clear.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

INCREDIBLE FOUR STARS HOTEL?!!!! No help with luggage on arrival sour faced Receptionist said we have nobody for luggage and showed us a small trolley!!! On departure we were charged 34.00 Euros for a meal we never had (we had HB) ! Furthermore, even when telling reception at arrival, that we would be 4 hours late leaving the hotel, they said Oh, thats OK! They charged 50.0 Euros for checking out after 2pm. but were never told that we would be charged that amount. We stayed for 2 weeks, on the positive side Hotel clean but you never knew when the room would be cleaned . . Oh, another detail ! You could only switch on the lights in the room when you put your key card in a special slot... So, you would always come back to an oven like room! Of course it might be OK as far as carbon print are concerned but not with a rickety old Air Cond. which takes time to start working at all. Breakfast time ! Very regimented.. you were shown where you were allowed to sit by sour faced 'waiters' all dressed in grey which were just like something out of a prison canteen! buffet OK but eggs swimming in grease , bacon barely cooked !
Buffet in the evening not much better, chicken really under cooked, etc
Another question I had on paying bill at checking out (after being charged for meals we never had) why were the copies of signed vouchers for drinks charged to room number not
attached to final invoice? .... On the positive side : beautiful weather , and Malaga well worth visiting ,even if the taxi ride was really high!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LILOLWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#25 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#14 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing