We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location close to the centre ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location close to the centre ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Decent rooms and great service not far from the city centre (15 minute walk but the buses run frequently).
Breakfast is rich. No dinner option unfortunately but there are nice restaurants nearby.
Some rooms are located just above the car park entrance and it took us a while to figure out what the rumbling noise was each morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gabor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion . Every comment we receive is very important for us to achieve our clients feel confortable between us.

We hope to visit us again and warments regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    386
    170
    26
    9
See reviews for
110
355
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is very well situated for sightseeing the compact city of Malaga. Just next door is the Larios shopping centre with a good foodhall covering most tastes, we used the Block House each evening and found the meals there perfectly fine. There is also a supermarket for sundries.
Our room on arrival was stiflingly hot, the window was closed so we assumed it would cool with the fan on and window open. However, after a sticky uncomfortable night, we asked reception why the air con was not on, we were told that at this time of year, March, we have the heating on, the air con comes later! We were though moved to a much nicer, cooler room at the front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room well equipped although lacking in tea/coffee making facilities.
The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, served in a spotless dining room, each day available from 7a.m. except for Saturday which is 8a.m. worth knowing that it is later if you have to leave early for your flight as we did.
Staff at reception were eager to help, we did notice there were no leaflets or maps displayed for tourists.
We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with our choice and its location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are cooler but may be less quiet if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth76_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for your excellent rating, these comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travellers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

We hope to visit us again soon.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel our first and last nights in Andalusia and it was an ideal way to begin and end our trip. We flew in an out of Malaga, using train and bus travel to do a loop around the region. Tryp Alameda is about a 15-minute cab ride from the airport and about a 5-minute walk to the bus and train stations, making it ideal for stop-over travelers like ourselves.

On top of that, the room was large, spotless, with very comfortable beds and linens. Between the comfortable beds and dark drapes, we were able to catch up on jetlag the first day and then walk downtown (a 15-minute walk) for people-watching and tapas. This is a modern, business-oriented hotel, so don't expect Spanish charm or personal touches, but if you want a well furnished, clean, comfortable hotel, I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear traveller,

I will share your opinion with all my staff and I appreciate your comments.

Thank you very much and I hope you can visit us in a future.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel previously a few years ago for one night, however, this time we stayed for 3 nights to explore Malaga. Welcome excellent, easy to find - about 5 minute walk from Maria Zambrano Rail Station (3 stops from Malaga Airport). Room was huge, bathroom was spacious and bed very comfortable (especially the pillows).
Booked breakfast which was FAB ! Great selection of food, cooked/breads/pastries/fresh fruit, juices etc etc ...... ! Lovely little restaurant, staff were very attentive and extremely hard working. Would definitely stay here again. Its about a 15 min steady walk to Malaga city centre, few road works going on, but on the whole easy to walk. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, but lift available. Restaurant is on the 1st Floor. Facilities availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
First of all I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Alameda for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your opinion that help us to achieve a higher satistaction level for our guests.

I hope to visit us again in a future.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of last year on a spur of the moment holiday with a friend (he was in a different hotel).

When I arrived the room they allocated me hadn't been cleaned, but they were very efficient at finding me a new room straight away. The reception staff were helpful, and we're happy to help me find out information I needed, but not as helpful as they could have been (as I felt the reception staff in my mates hotel A LOT more helpful)

The view I had of a multi storey car park was terrible!

The room itself was very spacious with a comfy bed and had a decent sized, mainly granite bathroom. The only fault I could really find with the room, which saw REALLY annoying, was that whenever you turned off the big lamp in the corner it would cut the power to the plug sockets in the room. I ended up having to leave the bathroom light on and my phone on charge in there overnight. There was air conditioning, but even on full blast you would have been better off blowing on yourself!

All in all, not a bad hotel, but I definitely don't think it warrants the 4* it currently has. I've stayed in better 3* B&B's if I'm honest.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Tryp for 5 nights at the end of February on a British Airways package which made our stay at this 4 star hotel highly affordable. This package also included breakfast and I can only say - do not miss it. It's been years since I have had such a fantastic hotel breakfast, away from Scandinavia and Eastern Europe. It is highly varied, beautifully presented and you can eat as much as you like and it will keep you going for hours. Service was exemplary and always done with a wide smile. We were initially given a very large twin room although we had booked a double. So another room was offered which was too warm for us - south facing with only warm air coming from the A/C. No problem. After one night we were given yet another large double room on the north side which turned out perfect. It faced the main road, but you could not hear a thing through two layers of double glazing. Never once were we treated like a nuisance. Rooms were spotless, beds wide and comfortable and there was lots of space for two people to sit and relax. Ample storage space too and good sized bathrooms. We would like to thank one reception staff member in particular - a lovely young woman called Lupe who was most accomodating and helpful. The hotel is only five minutes from the Coach and Rail Stations and the walk into the old centre and towards the harbour took us no more than 20 minutes. Local buses stopped outside the hotel. In all - a lovely hotel in good location. As usual, you get better value if you do not stay bang in the centre of things. Thanks, Tryp Alameda, for a great stay.

Room Tip: South facing rooms overlooking car park are probably warmer. Too warm for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotographerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent rating.

we hope you visit us again soon.

Best Regards.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the railway and bus stations, and we were pleased we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The rooms are well furnished, with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are large and have all the necessary toiletries and large towels, unlike most continental hotels. The beds were a standard double, but very comfortable. The breakfasts were really good and plentiful with lots of choice. Our first room was at the back of the hotel, but it got too warm for us, and we had to open the window overnight. I asked what the problem was and was told the air conditioning doesn't cool in their winter, it only has warm and warmer! We were then moved to a room in the front of the hotel, which didn't get as much sun in the day and was absolutely fine. With the window closed we weren't disturbed by any noise from either the road out front or the car park behind. The hotel is part of the Larios Shopping Centre, which has lots of shops and fast food outlets. I would recommend the Block House restaurant, it's a little more expensive than the fast food outlets, but has excellent steaks and service. If you include all the timed road crossings there is a 10-15 minute walk to the bus and train stations. We went on the fast train to Cordoba, but booked two trips via the hotel to Gibraltar and Granada as the train or bus times weren't as convenient. These trips were with Julia travel, and, despite the bad reviews I've read about them, we were happy with the trips. Both trip pick ups were at 8.00 am and the pick up is a 10 minute walk if, again, you allow for the timed crossings. We timed a 30 minute walk into Malaga old town, but we're not fast walkers. There is also a no. 14 bus which stops near the front of the hotel, if you don't want to walk. We took the city bus tour from the station on our first day in Malaga, and it's well worth the 18 euro fare, if only for the trip up to the Moorish castle on the top of the hill overlooking Malaga. We got off there and had a look around, saving us a long climb if we had done it on foot. We booked the hotel via Melia Rewards, but the expected 10 euro spend per day didn't materialise. Although we had the receipt from Melia, we should apparently have had the offer in writing, so perhaps we didn't qualify, as we had booked it via an introductory joining offer. Not that there was much to spend it on anyway, as the mini bar fridge had very little in it. The fridge was useful though to put our purchases in from the supermarket in the shopping centre.

Room Tip: If you like a cool bedroom ask for a room at the front, alternatively, if you like it hot, ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your excellent opinion .

I appreciate your comments and I will share with all the staff.

Don't forget to contact us in advance and we will try to give you one of our Premiun rooms and you can try them in your future visit to Málaga.

Thank you and regards,


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#11 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Address: Avenida Aurora 25 | Centro Comercial Larios, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Prolongación de la Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Malaga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1999, the Tryp Alameda hotel is strategically located close to the harbor, the historical city center and the commercial & business district of Malaga. Next to the bus and AVE station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Alameda Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Alameda
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing