We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malaga Hostel
Ranked #57 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hostel came in clutch as I made a last second trip down to Málaga. My friends already had a place to stay and Málaga Hostel was nearby. Walked in and booked a room without any problems. Right next to the beach and 10 min bus ride to the city center. If you base location on how close it is the the center then you shouldnt travel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdeel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
12
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hey all, so like I say at the beginning of every review this review is pure honesty.
I got back from malaga 2 weeks ago now, we flew with Ryan air we didn't take any suitcases just hand luggage on the way there was no problem, oh I should probably tell you we rented a villa out there which was very basic it had 2 beds, a sitting room and bathroom and a balcony with a beautiful view, the only thing that let the villa down was no air con which was hard to sleep at night.

We stayed close to a town ( the square ) which was very good we passed a few markets which is good for coffee/ milk and snacks and is cheap, we met a nice Irish family who go every year and told us the more we eat in the square the more money it costs, we ate at the most nicest pizza place ever.

I would highly recommend you consider share a portion of good as one night we ordered pork and the three of us shared it and it was plenty.

Ermmm as we stayed in a villa we found that there was not much to do for the young ones ( I'm 21) so I would recommend a lot of games, also the villa we stayed in had a TV but only a DVD player was available so we took the box set of bones over and watch it for the week.

I hope this review has helped :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilterfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a couple we stayed in this hostel for 1 night in May because of all the great comments on tripadvisor. Well, we do not really understand all this raving about the place. It is new and well kept. But it is way too expensive. We made a reservation online which was straight forward. The double room is 46€. For this price, we expected a ensuite bathroom. In Andalusia you can easily get an ensuite room for this price. As we arrived, we were negatively surprised that it was a shared bathroom. This is not a problem for us at all - but not for this price! The room was ok clean. The bathroom was clean in the beginning, but in the evening it was not really nice (well, this depends on the people sharing). The shower was good, but the toilet was a different thing. The door was so close to the toilet bowl that your nose hit the door while sitting on the toilet (and it was a messy one). There is a kitchen which you can use which is nice and a great terrasse with nice views. Be prepared to a lot of traffic noise even at night. The location for us was great as it is out of town near the beach where there is a nice suburban feeling and a great market on sundays. In general it was an ok stay, but not more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is by far the best Hostel in all of Malaga! The international staff are extremely, friendly, helpful and educated and speak English, Spanish and French perfectly! The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are sparkling clean and the owner Laura always goes beyond her duty to assist guests!

It has a beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the beach, it is a 2 minute walk to the beach, a grocery store, bars, restaurants and a bus stop. The atmosphere inside the hostel is always cheerful! Excellent for meeting new people and having a wonderful time! My only regret is that I could not live there permanently!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugeniiaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hostel 3 separate times while I was in the Malaga area. It's not in the center of the city, so in the off season it's very quiet--you're likely to get a whole dorm room to yourself.

If you are only visiting Malaga for a few days, this may not be the best place for you. But, if you want a beach vacation in the summer, this place would be perfect. Also, if you are studying at one of the many language schools in the eastern part of Malaga, this is a great alternative to the pricey student housing. And if you're going to be in Malaga for any length of time, this is a good place to get a feel for the real city--not just the busy center.

The hostel is at the edge of the El Palo neighbourhood with supermarkets, shops, bars, restaurants, and it's just two blocks from the El Palo beach which is very nice (I was there in winter, so I can only imagine how nice it is in summer). It's also very easy to access the center--you can walk along the beach in 45 minutes, or take the Number 11 bus or the N1 night bus.

The staff are very nice and accommodating. This kitchen is great and there are laundry facilities. Most of the rooms have balconies.

The only problem I found was that when staying in a mixed dorm there is no privacy because the bathrooms are also dorm-style with very small toilet stalls, shower stalls, and sinks in the open. It wasn't an issue for me since the place was pretty empty while I was there, but I could foresee an issue in the summer when it's busy. I would probably opt for a private room during the high season. But, the bathrooms are always very clean.

Room Tip: The hostel is very small. There is only one private single and one private double, so if you know yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtw_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inari, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the hostel with my friend. It's the best hostel I've ever been to! Everything is extremely well: the staff knows everything about Málaga and is very helpful and they can speak English very well. The rooms are spacy and clean and beautiful, and there are many terraces in the hostel. The kitchen is well-equipped and really clean, and I liked the breakfast a lot!

The only bad thing is that the hostel isn't at the city center. It wasn't easy to find the bus that goes near the hostel, but once we got into the bus and got off at the right stop, we found the hostel immediately. It's nice to have the beach within 200 meters!

So, if you're going to Málaga and stay in a hostel, you really should stay in Málaga hostel:)

Room Tip: The road is quite near and the walls are thin, so if you have the possibility to choose a room (we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in the Hostel for many days and I can definitely recommend it to everyone who is going to visit Málaga. The hostel is one of the best I've seen in Europe. It's extremely clean and with a modern look. Actually you feel more like in a Hotel than in a Hostel. The rooms are big and bright. The common rooms are really nice and with everything you may need. One of the best thing is the roof terrace where the view is amazing, try to catch the sunset over there! The staff is always friendly and helpful. The hostel is less than 5 min from the beach area (full of bars and restaurants) and 10 min with the bus from the city center. So if you want to enjoy the night life in the city center it won't be any problem to come back with the night bus (which is maybe every 30 min- 1 h.) I will definitely come back on my next visit of Málaga.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graphicstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#10 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#23 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Casa Al Sur
#22 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga
#12 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Hostel

Property: Malaga Hostel
Address: Calle Conde de Las Navas 1, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Pedregalejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malaga Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaga Hostel is located five minutes walking distance from the best beaches of the famous area Pedregalejo. Featuring 33 beds, our hostel is the first one of Malaga East. This hostel opens in June 2011 and is designed for medium and long-term accommodations. Facilities, amenities and Price are main features of the hostel that will make guests enjoy a unique experience in a safe and familiar environment.In less than 500 metres, public transportation, restaurants, shops and leisure are available.The building has three floors and a solarium on the top. In addition to accommodation, guests will enjoy a common kitchen, multimedia and leisure hall and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Malaga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hostel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing