We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, but not such a good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Coronado
Ranked #31 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The very good thing about this apartment hotel it's its location in the historic center. But I would not recommend it for a family : my children had to share a sofa bed, which was not comfortable. The apartment was very humid. Some suspect stains on our head bed... Our apartment was near the entrance which is quiet noisy.
The price seems to us way too high for the type of room. Despite the welcoming staff, there were also some problems with the billing, that unfortunately gave us a feeling of defiance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Lucie,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

We will immediately make changes to change our sofa beds into more comfortable ones.

Regarding humidity, unfortunately we do not agree with that, as it is a new construction and high quality building where we have not found this problem at any moment.

As you know we are located at the city centre, but in a narrow and quiet Street. In your case, you occupied a basement apartament and unfortunately someone disturbed you, which is not usual in the area.

We really think we have very competitive rates regarding the quality of our offer.

We do really apologyse about the error in you invoice, but as we obviously solved it, it wouldn´t cause a bad review, as it is a human error that may happend anyone.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here one night only when stopping in Malaga to pick friends up. Impressed by the apartments, they were very swish and stylish with funky set-ups and good furniture. It was actually a shame that we were only here for one night and we would think about staying here longer if we were to go back to Malaga. For me its a good area with lots of bars within walking distance but bear this in mind when considering booking it as it would be noisy for some (not me - I prefer to sleep through it all :) If I had a criticism it was that the beds were a touch soft.

Receptionist very friendly (thanks for working through my bad Spanish) and very communicative, dealing with our turning up late. Easy in and easy out. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Justarover,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our apartment.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Location: Central, only 5 mins walk from the cathedral and other sights of Malaga, on the narrow pedestrian street. We had appt 4 on the 1st floor facing the street and could touch the building accross just by sticking the hand from the window.
Rooms: nice, well appointed, newly and tastefully decorated. It was good to have a separate kitchenette and a sleeping area for adults, but this is not a full 1 bedroom appartment - the "bedroom" is an area separated by the boards/ shelves and you can't really have 4 adults in such appartment (but it's very good for 2 adults and 1-2 children). The only big issue is the noise - sound insulation is very poor and you can hear everything outside and in the nearby rooms.
Service: Can't complain, we we met on arrival and cleaning was offered every day.
Overall: would have been very good (4 stars) if not for the noise

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vadim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Vadim,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our apartment.

As you know we are located at the city centre, but in a narrow and quiet Street. In your case unfortunately someone disturbed you, which is not usual in the area. We do really apologyse.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very central location, clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff. Terras on top floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora1009390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Nora,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our terrace duplex..

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

It's a slightly difficult place to find when you're there - it's down a little street off a church square. But it is very central and has everything you'd need. It's modern, despite the look of the outside, which is kind of old. It's a hop, skip and jump from Plaza de la Constitution and the other way takes you directly up to Place de la Merced. The room we had was fine - we had a studio, so we did need to get the bed out every night. But they provide everything, and it's the first apartment we've stayed in where they have a maid service who comes in every day to take out the rubbish, remake the bed etc. It's not a 'seaview' or any other view for that matter, but it is comfortable, clean, modern and has everything you could ask for.

The reception staff don't speak the best English, but they are friendly and willing to help. And why should they speak English anyway? We should be learning Spanish!

It's a great place - a couple of minor points - the shower door didn't quite fit so you have to be careful with that; the water goes cold quite quickly and if you use the microwave or coffee maker, make sure you haven't got anything else plugged in at the same time.

But we really enjoyed our stay and it's definitely a place to think about - not too expensive, central and with all mod cons.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and it's not by the beach - this is a place for people who like cities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePete9332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Steve,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our studio.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

Regarding shower cold water all is solved! And also with electrics! :-) Also our staff speaks much more better English now!

Thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Pinar Apartments
#10 of 150 in Malaga
79 reviews
Centro
Suites Oficentro Deluxe
Suites Oficentro Deluxe
#16 of 150 in Malaga
29 reviews
Centro
Apartamentos San Pablo
Apartamentos San Pablo
#39 of 150 in Malaga
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Life Apartments Alemeda Colon
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#36 of 150 in Malaga
104 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Coronado

Address: Calle Coronado 2 | Calle Coronado 2, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Coronado 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious modern design in perfect harmony with traditional architecture. Coronado Apartments are located in the historical center of Malaga, next to the future Thyssen Museum and Plaza de la Constitucion, only five minutes walking distance from the main places of interest in the city like Picasso Museum, The Cathedral, The Alcazaba, etc. Coronado Apartments offer five one-bedroom apartments for up to four people and two studios for 1 or 2 persons. All perfectly equipped with modern furtniture and appliances. Check-in, check-out and daily cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Coronado Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing