We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel in Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is part of a complex of new hotels on the edge of the river opposite the old part of Malaga. I assume they are probably replacing some old industrial or commercial property because this is definitely the poorer side of town and the economic crisis in Spain has delayed the expected gentrification of the neighbourhood. It's not unsafe, although some travellers may be put off by the nearby feeding centre for unemployed and homeless people run by one of the Catholic church organizations that occupy the remaining older buildings. The Suites Novotel is glass and chrome modern with generous-sized rooms and comfortable beds. There is an impressive shower. The TV boasts a lot of free video on demand, although most of the English language movies had clearly been so unmemorable that they went straight to video! Breakfasts are fairly standard for Accor - no hot dishes but plenty of choice on the cold buffet and good quality produce. Efficient and free internet throughout the hotel. The front desk staff varied in their knowledge of English but were always friendly and helpful. We got a cab from the airport but the neighbourhood seemed difficult to access by car and I am not sure how easy it would be to use this hotel as part of a motoring tour. It's about ten minutes walk from the new rail station. The city centre itself begins immediately on the other side of the river, although most of the decent bars and restaurants are about ten minutes walk in that direction.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    701
    152
    33
    13
See reviews for
397
727
71
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GEORDIELAND
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ok I dont often give 5 stars on my reviews so have taken the overall experience, sure I had minor niggles (more later) but overall an excellent choice,
first of all it was really nice to get a free safe, hey costs the hotel nothing but meant a lot to us, other hotels take note, and it was fantastic to get a fridge and a microwave in a hotel room , love this concept which meant we could be flexible , i.e one day we were completely tired after a day exploring we could not be bothered to get ready for going out so just bought microwave meal from el corte ingles, Another great feature was the hotel had one of them big screen things you use like a phone in reception where you could get the weather, info on transport , dining etc, great idea, and the tele in the room allowed you to get a great range of films free of charge in lots of languages, you could get web radio also, we got bbc world servie, my only minor niggle is we could not get the bbc channels that were shwon as availbale but Hey we got more than we ever have had in other hotels, the shower was great and the room was spacious and clean, the beds were not the bonnel spring or pocket sprung type but were a medium foam which was much more comfy, we are really fussy when it comes to hygiene and can tell you the beds had mattress toppers on, and bedding was clan, the room was cleaned to a very good standard,
Breakfast? well some have moaned about paper plates?? cant see the problem , this allows the hotel to keep staff to a minimum thus reducing charges, ok would you want proper plates but a higher room rate ?? exactly!
So we had a good choice of proprietary yoghurts , good cereals, iberian ham, normal good quality ham, good cheeses, tuna, the tomato paste thing (not sure what its called) tuna, toast croissants, pastries , good coffee and a great choice of tea bags including earl gray, a great tasting orange juice with proper bits in , apple juice, little muffins some great fruit and nut bread so overall great quality ingredients, we loved the casual dining experience of doing our own thing, some have mentioned a queue for the coffee machine, hey just chill man, pick you time, if someone is at the machine just sit and go up when theres no one there - no problem.
we found the staff extremely helpful (and patient\0 when we were asking for advice on trains, buses etc.
Its in a great location a, others have told you how to find so wont go over old ground, in summary for a nice city break its an ideal choice, malaga has great transport links and is a great city to visit.
we would recommend no problem it served us well oh yes my little niggle, A/Con was not turned cold enough for us, they do need to understand that for the locals it may be cold but for us from the frozen wastes of north east England it was positively sweltering we were wearing tee shirts while all the locals had big coats on , so it sometimes did get a little warm at night , but if they could address this little issue it would be perfect

Room Tip: for a nice coffee press the expresso , this gives you a double shot, then just top up with the hot m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your good experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in some ways about the air conditionning ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

First, clarification of the route from the Centro train station. Take the exit at the end (not the middle) of the platform, marked 'Avenida de Andalucia', up the steps, turn left through the ticket barrier, up more steps to the escalator to street level. Bear right onto the footpath alongside the underpass to your right. At the end of the underpass the path veers left and El Corte Ingles is ahead of you. Use the zebra crossing on the right to cross the street, turn right and immediately left and what's the Spanish for et voila?

Reception staff were English speakers, friendly and helpful, though their directions to the Malaguenan bars and restaurants turned out to be somewhat off centre.

The suite was as described elsewhere and proved more than adequate for our needs. One oddity to note: the aircon system refused to emit cooler air; when we reported this to Reception, we were told firmly that "this was Winter and only warm to hot air was supplied. To reduce the temperature, open the window!" The Spanish kept late hours and were noisy with it. No doubt, the Festaval de Malaga contributed. That said, it was our only niggle.

The hotel was well located for all that Malaga had to offer - yes, we did manage to find all the attractions. We liked the café con churros for breakfast and the wide selection of food for lunch and supper. What was particularly appealing was there was little British influence or presence. If you appreciate the Spanish way of life, Malaga is for you.

The trains from and to the Airport departed every half hour, were punctual, reliable, inexpensive and very passenger friendly. To use the ticket machine, first touch the Union Jack symbol (part of a montage of flags) to the bottom left. It's intuitive from there.

We enjoyed our stay in Suite Novotel; we think you will too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in some ways; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a short walk to the city center. Breakfast is great, lots to choose from in a buffet style. Not crowded, no noise at night. Warm climate in march, ideal for citytrip. Friendly English speaking staff. Wifi is also great. Parking garage under the hotel if you come with a rental car. 13 euro a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good morning,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Though starred 4 star this hotel, is modern and at first sight lacks some of the frills you might expect in the public areas. Where it does win is 1) its location only a short walk from the town centre, the airport station and main Station, 2) the generous sized rooms with an excellent bathroom. The space, the bed settee made our week long stay that more enjoyable when you could return and relax. Whilst we were there the Wi-Fi was intermittent as was the English TV service and I hope the management take note to remedy this. There is a choice of free English films. Reception staff are friendly and helpful and the housekeeping good. We didn't breakfast in the hotel opting for La Canasta a local café a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnomBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good morning,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked this hotel seeking a little luxury on a 4-day break to Malaga. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with many aspects of the stay and really wish I'd just booked the Budget Ibis next door at 39euros per night.

Location: - The hotel is well situated near the city centre close to Corte Ingles.

Reception: - The reception staff all speak very good English and are very helpful. We asked a number of questions involving tourist attractions and directions all of which were satisfactorily answered.

The only slight surprise was that two men travelling together were booked into a room with a double bed. We are not a couple and although it never bothered us, it could have been an issue and should have been avoided with a simple question on arrival - 'Do you prefer a double or twin room'.

The Room: - This was a let-down. Described as a superior suite this was not particularly much larger than many rooms I've stayed in and a net curtain dividing the sleeping area from a sitting area is all that made it into a suite.

On arrival the room was extremely hot. We were unable to get the air-conditioning to work so asked reception for instruction. The answer was that they only have heating working in the winter and cooling in the summer. The only option was to turn it off and open a window. We ended up sleeping with a window open which was very noisy.

The room was very much style over substance. Some of the shelving in the room had decorative strips broken off and just left. One of the bedside lights wasn't working. The TV satellite system had failed (for the entire hotel) and there was also inadequate shelf space in the bathroom. The fridge in the little kitchenette didn't appear to be working and we were unable to turn it on. We never reported this as we didn't particularly need it.

The Bed was unfortunately rock solid. Great if you like it that way, but caused me to sleep quite badly.

Cleaning Standards: - In the main, the room was very clean. There were however, some grubby marks in the shower that were there when we arrived and still there when we left. This indicated that the cleaning of the shower did not really meet the standard you'd expect. Tea was not replaced on the beverage tray on any day & we needed to go to reception twice to ask for replacements.

Breakfast: - This certainly was not a let-down. There was a range of cereals, yoghurt, rolls, sliced meat and fruit. A good variety of beverages was also available. The only slight surprise was the paper plates provided. Not something you'd expect of a quality hotel.

Public Areas:- As well as the breakfast area, there was a sitting area with free newspapers, a mini-cafe with a computer and a small gym (which I didn't try). All well kept.

Summary: - Excellent location, very good reception staff, good public areas and great breakfast. All let-down by a room which fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Malaga Centro

Property: Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Suites Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing