We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked this hotel seeking a little luxury on a 4-day break to Malaga. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with many aspects of the stay and really wish I'd just booked the Budget Ibis next door at 39euros per night.

Location: - The hotel is well situated near the city centre close to Corte Ingles.

Reception: - The reception staff all speak very good English and are very helpful. We asked a number of questions involving tourist attractions and directions all of which were satisfactorily answered.

The only slight surprise was that two men travelling together were booked into a room with a double bed. We are not a couple and although it never bothered us, it could have been an issue and should have been avoided with a simple question on arrival - 'Do you prefer a double or twin room'.

The Room: - This was a let-down. Described as a superior suite this was not particularly much larger than many rooms I've stayed in and a net curtain dividing the sleeping area from a sitting area is all that made it into a suite.

On arrival the room was extremely hot. We were unable to get the air-conditioning to work so asked reception for instruction. The answer was that they only have heating working in the winter and cooling in the summer. The only option was to turn it off and open a window. We ended up sleeping with a window open which was very noisy.

The room was very much style over substance. Some of the shelving in the room had decorative strips broken off and just left. One of the bedside lights wasn't working. The TV satellite system had failed (for the entire hotel) and there was also inadequate shelf space in the bathroom. The fridge in the little kitchenette didn't appear to be working and we were unable to turn it on. We never reported this as we didn't particularly need it.

The Bed was unfortunately rock solid. Great if you like it that way, but caused me to sleep quite badly.

Cleaning Standards: - In the main, the room was very clean. There were however, some grubby marks in the shower that were there when we arrived and still there when we left. This indicated that the cleaning of the shower did not really meet the standard you'd expect. Tea was not replaced on the beverage tray on any day & we needed to go to reception twice to ask for replacements.

Breakfast: - This certainly was not a let-down. There was a range of cereals, yoghurt, rolls, sliced meat and fruit. A good variety of beverages was also available. The only slight surprise was the paper plates provided. Not something you'd expect of a quality hotel.

Public Areas:- As well as the breakfast area, there was a sitting area with free newspapers, a mini-cafe with a computer and a small gym (which I didn't try). All well kept.

Summary: - Excellent location, very good reception staff, good public areas and great breakfast. All let-down by a room which fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    699
    150
    33
    13
See reviews for
397
723
71
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rooms are practically new, great shower, large and spacious.
Service is great, got lots of tips and excellent direction guiding.
Breakfast is good, has fresh fruit, nice coffee, cereals and dairy.
Hotel is located less than 10 minutes from the historical center of Malaga. Around the corner you may find a big mall with some nice offerings.
To summarize: Perfect selection, depending on the price you get.

Room Tip: High floor is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainOfKnowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good morning,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Perfect hotel, ideal location only five minutes walk into old town. Room facilities excellent apart from the paper cups provided for drinks. Complimentary bathroom toiletries included bath bomb, shaving foam, body lotion , scrub lotion ,hand cream etc. Good to have a bath and separate large shower. Didn't use the microwave , but handy to have if needed. Breakfast was part of our package , good selection all the usual items for a continental type breakfast. Only thing that let this down was the use of paper plates !!!!! Friendly and helpful staff. Also part of our package was full tv ,free films and wifi, could not get any English tv., however did find out that most of Spain are having problems with getting English tv, something to do with the satellite position.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisglass50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good afternoon,

Our team and I would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us. You can be sure that it will motivate us to keep offering the best service to our guests.

For any questions or reservation request, you can contact us directly by phone or by email.

We thank you again for sharing with us your experience at Suite Novotel Málaga Centro.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 days. Everything ok. Just 4 minute walk from central Station, 10 min from city center, nearby a few department store where open till 10 pm.
Breakfast cost 10 € , you may have a Spanish breakfast , just around the corner, for 2, 5 €.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank xandress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good morning,

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting in our hotel and our services, and for sharing with us your positive observations.

We will communicate it to our team, and I am sure that it will stimulate them to keep trying to give the best attention to our guests.

For any questions or reservation request, you can contact us directly by phone or by email.

We thank you again for sharing with us your experience at Suite Novotel Málaga Centro.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Quite decent acommodation. Clean enough, spacious room. Good position in the centre. Reception desk friendly. There is a strange carpet in the room. Like uncomfortable, but probably easier to maintain...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro.

We are always interested in receiving comments and sharing them with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the airport, you can easily take the train to Malago Central (a 12 minute journey, trains every 20 minutes, Euros 1.75 single fare), then exit the station at the front via the escalator, take the underpass and the Suite Novotel is diagonally to your left (less than 5 minutes walk from the station). If driving, aim for El Corte Ingles and then “feel” your way to the hotel – there are a lot of roadworks. There is on street parking if you are able to drive around for a while (particularly along the old river banks to the north), otherwise underground parking is Euros 13.

The hotel rooms are as good as all the other reviews say: spacious, very quiet, tastefully presented, comfortable; TV channels include BBC1, BBC2 and BBC News for Brits. However, there is no face flannel, or international electric socket, the daily service is patchy (eg sometimes no tea/coffee/milk replenishment - and you only realise the shampoo/soap dispenser is empty and hasn’t been topped up when already wet under the shower), plus on some days doesn't happen until around 3 pm; the room is also a bit “fussy” with lots of net curtains and innumerable light switches.

On arrival, my check-in experience was unpleasant, with the receptionist insistent that breakfast wasnt’ included in the rate, despite the booking confirmation clearly showing it was. After lengthy debate, the receptionist agreed that one breakfast was included, with the breakfast for the other person being referred to the manager. The following day, however, they agreed that breakfast had indeed been paid for, for both. A very unfriendly welcome - to arrive at a hotel and be told “not possible” at least half a dozen times – made this the worst hotel check-in experience I have had for several years.

Breakfast itself includes a coffee machine and fresh orange juice, some cold platters such as processed ham and turkey, plus tuna (drowning in oil) and a fatty iberico ham, cheese, yoghurt; fruit (oranges, apples or bananas on most days, kiwi, dried apricots/prunes); plus one cereal selection and the usual toast and jams. The hotel might consider offering some eggs, which could be hardboiled, as a nice/easy addition to the offering to give something hot; the disposable plastic plates and cutlery on offer also made it feel rather functional/environmentally unfriendly. But the food was topped up on a regular basis which was good.

There is a very small gym with cardio equipment only. There is a small pantry area where you can purchase drinks/snacks.

The two hotel lifts to the rooms are not “synced” so you need to call both of them.

The hotel location is excellent, being 5 minutes walk to the centre of the old town, 5 to 10 minutes to the museums, 10 minutes to the port. There is a supermarket in the basement level of El Corte Ingles, another supermarket around 5 minutes walk away, or the markets with a superb selection of fruit, vegetables, fish, nuts, etc, also less than 5 minutes away (mornings only).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Malaga Centro

Property: Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing