We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garum

Garum
Ranked #34 of 1,682 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ¿ Qué es Garum Casual Rest ?Si “casualmente” te encontraras en el centro de la historia de Málaga; entre la Alcazaba, el Teatro Romano, el museo Picasso, la Aduana y la Catedral y además pudieras disfrutar de sus vistas tomando una copa o compartiendo algunos platos con tus amigos, Garum es tu lugar por descubrir. Te espera la historia, te esperamos en casa.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very tasty tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just wanted a lunchtime snack and stopped here to share their Tapas Special, 5 different tapas for 9.90 euros, very tasty but not a lot so you'll need more if you're hungry. Well worth a visit, we'd have gone back if we'd been staying longer. Good location near the Alcazaba.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    121
    41
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Our best yet in Malaga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Malaga and while the destination is tops, the food has been mediocre to date. Garum has thankfully changed our views of Malaga dining. The restaurant is situated over looking the Alcazaba. The decor is stylish and chic. The staff are helpful, but unobtrusive. Most importantly the tapas is top end quality. All of our choices hit the mark. We can recommend the mushrooms, tosta, potatoes and squid. And to round off a great night, the best mojitos ever. See you again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great tapas, friendly staff and tasty desserts. Cheers to a perfect sangria. I recommend this place for any day of the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is a little gem on the main Alcazaba street. Although not much visible and looking like one of those bars on the street it serves delicious dishes. We had there a tuna in green tea and sezame, and homemade chicken pate. Both of them great, particularly tasty was the pate. Portions served there are quite large.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niskayuna
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real treat from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Given this restaurant's location so close to tourist attractions, we were apprehensive about trying it, concerned that we might be rushed and unsure about what to expect with regard to the quality of the food. We started with sangria and the tapas special of the day. The tapas special was excellent! We also had a few other selections from the tapas menu including the stuffed mushrooms which were wonderful. Almost went back again, and wish we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumntraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garum also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Garum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing