We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic mountain retreat, only 10 km from Malaga.”
other travelers have booked this property
The house views, mountains, Malaga city and the Mediterranean sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house views, mountains, Malaga city and the Mediterranean sea
Great space for all the family Perfect to relax and enjoy our views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
61 reviews
The house views, mountains, Malaga city and the Mediterranean sea
Great space for all the family
Perfect to relax and enjoy our views.
The front terrace and the holiday home. Enjoy your morning coffee.
Saloon, enjoy dinning with family and friends.
Enjoy dinning el fresco, with large bbq on the back terrace.
The hills, perfect for hiking, cycling and other fun activities.
Downstairs single bedroom no.1, 8 m2
Spacious and comfortable ground floor double bedroom.
The downstairs double room is perfect if you do not like stairs.
Ground floor bathroom, shower is wheelchair compatible.
Spacious upstairs bedroom. Sea views.
You can enjoy amazing sunrises from your bed in no.3
Start your day waking up to this sunrise and view.
Spacious upstairs double bedroom. front terrace and sea views.
Old Arabic floor tiles in most rooms
Another lovely spacious double bedroom, sunrises and sea views.
Double at the bottom and a single on top. Old Arabic floor tiles
Nice room for children or mum, dad and child. Back terrace views
Spacious twin single room. Old Arabic floor tiles.
Spacious twin single room with views over back terrace, sunsets
The upstairs bathroom with shower on the right. Old Arabic tiles.
Enjoy a glass of wine and watch Malaga illuminate. Photo zoom 7x
The spacious saloon, log fire, TV area for our winter guest.
Gather and catch up with family and friends.
The pool and sunbathing area with sunbeds
Sunbeds next to pool. Waiting for you and the sun to arrive.
Enjoy breathtaking sunsets from the pool! New look edging tiles.
The holiday home, back terrace with the pool and the game area.
View of the back terrace from ground floor single room.
The large BBQ is the favourite of many guests. adjustable grill
Grilled meat, potatoes and vegetables - as you like it!
Spanish flavours from local ingredients
The shaded back terrace. Pagoda is covered in the summer.
Relax with a book and a glass of wine in the shaded hammock garden
Watch over the games area from the relaxing double hammock.
For all the family. Any age skittles.
A nice area for family fun. Stunning sunsets from this platform
Fire pit, take a trunk and enjoy our winter sunsets.
Enjoying Andalusian sunset in style. Views, Siera Nieve, Torcal
Your neighbours, Sally and I. Plus a beautiful sunset.
Sunrise from front terrace. Worth an early morning rise. Zoom 7x
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Malaga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Libby M
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic mountain retreat, only 10 km from Malaga.”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The location is absolutely breath taking- perched atop a mountain with stunning views down to Malaga. This is our second time to stay here. We spent Christmas 2016 here and we loved it so much we came back for Christmas 2017. The 6 bedroom house is ideal for large families or groups, fire pit in the garden, swimming pool, pet friendly. There's a big wood burning stove in the living room, perfect for those winter nights(though it's never very cold there). The owners are nearby and on call 24/7 should you need them. They are most welcoming and accommodating (gave us beautiful fresh eggs and lemons). Both myself, my husband and daughter absolutely love it here and can't wait to find an excuse to go back again. If you want the perfect mix of total quiet and relaxation while being only a 30 min drive from the hustle and bustle of Malaga, then this place has it all. Thanks Sally and Ian x x x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Thanks, Libby.
We love having you and your family stay. Hope the weather is a bit better next year. Nice to see charlie at 60 still running around the mountains.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebconlon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We returned for our 3rd year as a party of 10 ages ranging from 25 to 77 and were not to be disappointed yet again! The house was just as we remembered it and is so rustic and quiet and so beautiful! The weather was glorious and the fire pit was an added bonus in the evenings to sit around and watch the sunset over the mountains!
Ian & Sally were again the perfect hosts and catered to all our needs and even cooked us a tasty paella one evening. The BBQ was great to cook on in the evenings and there are lots of games to play as a family to keep you entertained and even a table tennis table which Ian likes to beat you at ha, ha!
Montevideo down the mountain is well worth a visit as the owner Paco does a fabulous BBQ evening and it is so cheap to eat there!
If you want a day out try and visit Ronda which is about an hours drive away but beautiful to see and also Caminito Del Rey is worth a visit if you're in the area but buy tickets before you go!
Malaga is only a 20 minute drive down the mountain and the port is lovely to see and there's also a beach if you fancy a day out.
We will definitely be returning to this beautiful haven and will miss all the dogs popping up to see us (bear in mind if you don't like dogs Ian & Sally will keep them down at their house) and of course we will miss our fantastic hosts!
Thank you Ian & Sally for yet again a perfect week!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
Lybster, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent 2 weeks in this villa and I now feel sufficiently recovered to write an accurate review.

Eight of us were on this holiday and it was likely the last family vacation we will have with 3 generations and friends.

The road to the villa is mountainous (as described) however it is far more than that. No words can describe the torture of travelling that road every day. It wasn't just extremely windy to the point where nausea sets in almost immediately or steep to the point where you expect to experience nose bleeds alongside the constant ear popping, it wasn't even.the fact that there are no safety barriers on the cliff side drops. No, no, you have all that on top of navigating a stone track that most rental cars will struggle up without suffering at least some damage.
My advice would be to never ever hire a small car, a medium car or a mini bus ( as I nearly did). Do yourself a favour and hire a tank!
Yes the view is stunning if you dare look out the window (those drops are seriously terrifying) but after a few days we dreaded going out.

The villa is not what we expected. "Rustic" can be translated to mean dirty/unclean/mouse infested.
The bedrooms were not too bad - the hessian sack rugs could have been a quaint touch but I'm not so sure about the chewing gum on the bunk beds.
Sally did do a very welcome linen change after week1 Which was very nice.
The bedroom fans which are desperately needed in the heat were abysmal and seemed to throw out warm air. 3 weren't enough for full occupancy anyway so we had to pop out to Wang Wangs and buy a new one which we left at the villa for the next poor unsuspecting soul to make use of.
All the light switches are on the outside of the bedrooms which made getting into bed a miserable experience, you will neeed to tap in to your inner Jedi to negotiate the room in pitch black without stubbing toes on loose tiles.
Lamps in the rooms would have made such a difference especially in the downstairs cell where my elderly mother was holed up for 2 weeks.

The bathrooms were nothing short of unhygienic. The upstairs shower tray sank when you stood in it - I kid you not!
The shower curtain was old and full of Mould. The shower head is a newish one attached to the old one by rope and within the spray it has a single middle jet that will slice through skin.
The room itself is damp, mouldy and an awful experience.
The downstairs bathroom fairs little better, it has mouldy slimey floors and is just as uninviting, although it is a wet room so at least no dodgy shower tray.
The toilets are decent but you are expected not to flush if you only have a pee. 40degree heat, full occupancy and we were expected not to flush. Sorry but living like a heathen was not in the brochure - we flushed every time.

The kitchen was fully equipped for full occupancy, so no issues there. Had a dishwasher, microwave, cooker etc. Unfortunately the mice also had no issues with using it either and while the mouse poop in the drawers was bad enough we really did draw the line at mice on the work tops.
Speaking of mice, there were plenty! Whether they were on the worktop, trooping through the lounge or even scurrying over the double bed downstairs (while someone was in it) they had no shame but plenty of gonads and tenacity.

Wi-fi. The wifi went off in the first week and when we informed Ian he told us it was on pay as you go and that we would have to pay for more. Ian did eventually get the wifi on again at his expense but the hassle and time it took to sort out was just another event that ruined this holiday for us. Wifi is included in the description, it does not say it's limited or that guests pay for it.

The pool! What can I say about that pool? It's wet! Yay! But only just. When we arrived the pool water was low and green. The next day we asked for it to be sorted as it's too hot to be there without it. On Saturday my husband decided to clean the edges himself so we could at least dip our toes. By Saturday night my daughter had to go in and clear the bottom herself. By Tuesday she had an ear/throat infection and was ill for a lot of the holiday.
During the week Ian managed to saunter on up and fill it up but didn't bother with the cleaning because we had done such a stellar job ourselves.
The next day the pool had dropped again and so began the daily task of Ian having to fill it up. One time he forgot he had left the pipe in and rang us up in Malaga to have a go that we had used all his water. When he couldn't get hold of us he went and moaned to those who had stayed behind at the villa - not cool! He even then threatened to retain the entire deposit to pay for it. My daughter explained he couldn't do that as the deposit is to cover damage to the property not a tanker water because he had forgotten the pipe was running, but we felt like he was looking for any excuse to not pay the deposit back and it again added to the stress on this holiday.

The sunbeds were broken although Ian did manage to fix two of them but there still wasn't enough for full occupancy so it was towels on the gravel for some.
The lovely canopy outside has been replaced with a tarp expertly duct taped to the posts.
The lovely comfy looking chairs out the front have been replaced with metal contraptions which couldn't be sat in for more than a few minutes.

Ian and sally do have a lot of dogs. Fortunately we are dog friendly and especially loved little scampi who stayed at the villa with us. All the dogs were friendly, some a little timid but none were aggressive.
Ian is happy to keep the dogs away if people don't like them.

A word of advice. When leaving Malaga airport follow Ian's directions to the letter. Double check them, triple check them, heck better still ask Ian to meet you but whatever you do never ever EVER put the holiday home into google maps. At all other times google maps will be your saint like best friend but not if you put the villas name in.
Google maps has developed a sense of humour (or it was trying to tell us something) but it sent us the wrong way round the mountain on a cycle track in pitch black at midnight. By the time we realised it was having a laugh we couldn't turn round, the laughing had been replaced by hysteria and we were being tracked by the hounds of the Baskervilles.
We finally managed to slide back down the tracks but with 8 people who's entire Spanish repertoi consists of "grassy arsey" we were oblivious to what the natives were trying to tell us.
We finally managed to get a hold of Ian but a trip that should have taken 30 minutes took over 4 hours.
So when you need to get back to the villa, type in MA3101 in google NOT the villa name. Once you're on the main road and come off at junction 140 then put the villa name in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was brilliant”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The pool was warm from the heat of the sun. The rooms were nice and very spacious. I would love to go there again. As we knew the people just down the road I walked down there to see them and to have a nice chat. I wish i was still there but i had to come back home to see everyone to to show off my tan. And they have the most beautiful dogs. (They have 10)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you, we miss our little afternoon chats and seeing the baby. As you know, they are all abandoned dogs and looking for homes and will miss your treats. We can always guarantee a good sun tan through the summer month and through most of the winter months.
Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
“I should give six stars but web provider has only 5”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is amazing-middle of mountains,away of busy city of Malaga but at the same time close enough(20 min trip to city center,30 if u carry mom-in-low :) ) .I spend two weeks with my family( 8 people) up there,swimming pool and play area is excellent condition and give us hours of fun.Place is clean and tidy ,and enough room for everybody.Ian and Sally (owners) tread us very good( even after defeat of ping-pong match), very helpful and friendly people.I will definitely visit again.
Michal and Family
Dom jest usytuowany okolo 25 mint od centrum Malagi,pomiedzy przepieknymi gorami i widokiem na doline rzeki Guadalmedina , tame i centrum miasta od strony wschodniej.Dom jest w bardzo dobrym stanie ze wszystkimi mediami ,basenem i placem zabaw.Wlasciciele sa bardzo przyjazni i pomocni ,jezeli chodzi o zwierzeta to nie ma najwiekszego problemu.Polecam wszystkim.
Michal z Rodzina

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family as guests. I love to see happy families enjoying our house and not many people beat me at table tennis, so I will be practicing until you return.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C
1 review
“Fantastic yet again!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

This was our second visit and again we had an amazing time! We returned as a family of 7 and once again Ian & Sally were the perfect hosts. The house is still as stunning as ever and as an added extra there was a new fire pit if the weather was cold at night! As it was we didn't need this as the weather was fantastic!!
Lots of places to eat and drink and mix with the locals and we even had the pleasure of Ian & Sally showing us around some of the local restaurants.
The house has everything you could need and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. We will definitely be returning sometime this year and apologies for the late review but thought we had reviewed on our return home in September!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Thank you for your review. Its a pleasure seeing you again. We love to give our guests a Spanish experience and some off the ventas (restaurants) are not to be missed and with good company they are even better. We are adding new areas to the house for this year, you will have to wait and see ha ha. The firepit has been enjoyed by our winter guests and we have enjoyed them singing around it from across the valley. Thank you again for spending your holidays with us and looking forward to seeing you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby M
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I spent Christmas here with my husband and our daughter and the three of us instantly fell under its spell. A most beautiful and relaxing place to stay yet only approx 10 km from the beautiful mayhem of Malaga. The house was beautiful and fully equipped. Amazing views from the front terrace and from the back courtyard. Plenty of little nooks to chill out in with swinging seat, hammocks, etc. The most amazing log burner to cozy up in front of when the nights got a bit chilly in December (even though the weather by day was really warm and sunny). Best of all were our hosts, Sally and Ian who live nearby and were more than welcoming and generous with their time, their beautiful fresh eggs and Ian's nightly trips up to have the stove lit for us when we were out to dinner.. I can't wait to go back there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Thank you. From the time I meet you at the airport I thought you would like it. The stove always makes guests smile throughout the short winter we have here. It takes me 20 mins to get the fire started and its no problem at all and I am happy you appreciated it. We are lucky to have Paco and his goats across the valley, he is quite a character and our eggs are very tasty too. Malaga has a lot going on nearly all year round. The Christmas lights were fantastic this year and the atmosphere is always very friendly. We are lucky to offer peace and quite and Malaga not to far away. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and hurry back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing