We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Charming staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Paradors tend to get a bad press with regard to their staff.The Gibralfaro stands this perception on its head. We were there at a particularly stressful time, during the volvanic ash disruption, and the staff simply could not have been more helpful and more sympathetic to the plight of their guests -acting as unofficial travel agents for many! Every request wasmet with a 'can do' attitude. It was outstanding service. I would certainly return to enjoy this parador in a happier context. Our room was pleasant - a side view of the port but with a pretty balcony. Some of the soft furnishings and surfaces were a little tired throughout - but this did not strike me as unacceptable in a period building. We didn't dine here, but the breakfasts were right up to the usual high parador standard.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    308
    117
    45
    18
See reviews for
117
457
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Parador for 2 nights during a 2.5 week tour of Spain. We chose to stop by Malaga for two reasons - to be able to stay at a Parador and to relax a little during our trip. The hotel is located on a hill above Malaga, with a great view of the city. It is possible to walk to the city, although it is a bit of a hike, especially going up. The rooms were large; the furnishings were nothing overly special but were nice and comfortable. The restaurant was good. although one meal was definitely better than the other.
We stayed there using the young person's package (for people between 20 and 35) which made the hotel a really great deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This parador has a wonderful location on the top of the hill overlooking Malaga and out to sea. But the accommodation is well-worn and crying out for refurbishment. The rugs are old and look dirty and the walls scuffed. The whole place is crying out for refurbishment. The staff seem tired as well. Dinner was the most horrible experience: I ordered pork 'chateaubriand' from the set menu but it was so tough I found it impossible to cut. I complained and was given sea-bass instead but this was wet and cold and inedible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonshireantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at this hotel early december for four nights assuming that a Parador hotel means classis quality in a building with some historical reference. Unfortunateny neither of these were present.
The staff wasn't really interested, badly dressed and not really helpful. Our car had been broken into in town and all the help we got was a phonecall to the rental company in order to pass the phone on to me to sort things out myself.
The rooms were ok, apart from our shower that switched from hot to cold every few seconds.
Diner was bad, definitely not to be recommended.
When we arrived at breakfast at 10:00am there was hardly anything left although it is served until 11:00am.
In a part of the restaurant smoking is permitted as well as in all of the bar.
There is no WIFI in the rooms forcing me to walk with my laptop to the reception in order to get connection with the real world.
Parking space is ok unless you arrive at sunset when a large minority of Malaga comes to have a drink on the terrace using all available parking spaces.
The historical value of the building itself is a mystery to me. Only its location next to the castle with a nice view gives it some historical reference.
There is an outside swimming pool available but not heated and with water of less than 18°c ......
We paid way too much for a mediocre hotel with a bad service
In many countries this hotel would struggle to get Three stars.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I am a great fan of the Paradors, and this hotel was no exception. I know the rack rate is expensive, but if you look around and take advantage of various offers the price of a stay really comes down. I actually paid nothing to stay bed and breakfast as my wife and I took advantage of a stay one night free for every two nights you stayed in a Parador in May/June earlier this year. Even if we had to pay we could have stayed at about half the advertised rack rate.
The room we had was enormous with a settee, chair and coffee table. There was also a wonderful balcony giving a fabulous view over Malaga. The room had everything you would expect including safe (Free) and minibar. There was a cable TV, but the english speaking channels were very limited, just the news channels.
We had a drink in the bar, which was very pleasant. It is well worth registering as a friend of the Paradors as one of the many perks is that you get a free drink on arrival. We opted for a glass of red wine on the terrace overlooking the town.
We also decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening, which to be honest you have to given the location of the hotel on the top of the Gibralfaro, otherwise you have a very steep walk down into the town, or have to use a car or Taxi. I thought the meal was brilliant, we opted for the special tapas menu which was reasonably priced, and gave you a sample of 4 cold dishes and 4 hot dishes, although I am sure we had more than 8 dishes.
The hotel seems to be used a lot by the locals using the bar and restaurant as the car park was quite full, and could be a problem at certain times. There certainly were a lot more cars that rooms in this fairly small hotel.
One worry we had before we went was how to get to the hotel from the airport, but we ended up having no problems, I just followed the signs for the port, drove right through the centre and was there within 15 minutes of leaving the airport.
The hotel is not very good if you want to walk around Malaga and are not fit, as it is a very step walk down into the town, and an even steeper one back up. However there is an hop on hop off bus which goes round the town, one of the stops being at the Gibralfaro just outside the hotel complex, which is a good way to get round the city and see all the sights.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Our second stay in this wonderfully situated parador. We had room 404 which was a superior double. Plenty of space and fitted to the high standards you would expect from a hotel costing this much. Every room looks out over the town and we saw some superb sunsets from our balcony. Drains were a bit smelly.

Superb pool terrace with stunning views across town and the docks.

Staff were great in reception and very helpful with bus timetables and maps etc. No wireless internet in the rooms, and the signal in reception didn't work for my laptop. There is a PC in reception which is free to use.

Restaurant was a major let down with poorly cooked food and slapdash service. We paid 90 Euros (especially painful with the weak pound) for a very average meal with a bottle of wine. Overcooked fish and pink-edged lettuce were just two of the things wrong with it. A prawn based starter with a single overcooked prawn? Not good enough. We left with the distinct impression that they relied on the parador brand to attract people in to the restaurant and made little effort to impress. We didn't go back. There are better and cheaper restaurants close by. See this site for recommendations. Breakfast was also disappointing for 17 Euros.

I would happily recommend the hotel but stay away from the restaurant. Sitting on the sunny terrace with a drink and tapas takes some beating. The Malaga climate helped as well. 25 degrees in November? Yes please.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

wow world class on top of the mountain next to moorish fort fromt 12 th century,,! everyone comes to the parador for a cocktail and tapas ! and the view !!! can see all of the port of malage and visit the fort at the foot of the mtn, is a roman ruin w/ amphitheatre !!! luxury!

Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HalM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing