We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As soon as you arrive at this hotel, you cannot help but be blown away by the view, which is totally amazing. Our bedroom was a standard room and perfectly adequate, well appointed with a balcony and uninterrupted views over the city and harbour down below. The restaurant served a lovely meal, with plenty of choice from a buffet for starters and desserts, and menu selection for the main course, cooked to order. Again, the view from the restaurant terrace, both at breakfast time and at night, draws your gaze back again and again. The staff were most obliging and couldn't fault them. There is a small but nice swimming pool area on the top deck, and the bar terrace is delightful.
Admittedly it is a bit of a hike up from the city below, especially in hot weather, and a taxi is necessary for this. You are cut off a little from the city below, but only by a very short taxi ride. The jet set location definitely compensates for this. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check you have a room with uninterrupted view. Some rooms may have trees causing obstruction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 836 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location, though taxis are necessary to get to the centre (to the Cathedral costs 6 Euro, the train station around 8). There is a local bus service but not a frequent one.
Good menus with 3 courses for 33Euro, or a la carte.Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly helpful and efficient.
The location is superb in terms of views over the city.All round a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hughoneill1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our first stay at a Parador. We expected 4 Star but didn't get it. The location overlooking Malaga is stunning but its a long way from the town centre. You can walk down to the town in 15 mins but the path, although well maintained is treacherous slate, highly polished by many feet. Anything more glamorous than trainers will have you on your backside. There is a bus stop close by with a 30min frequency. Taxi rides are 7-8 euros one way. The parador itself just about justifies 4 star as the building is clean and well maintained, the rooms are nice, modern and up to contemporary standards. The offer of dinner outside on the terrace was atractive but the menu was not, although the view is the best in Malaga.
So why is this just not a good hotel. The staff.
I have never met such an insouciant, arrogant or indifferent bunch. Everything seems too much trouble. We waited over an hour for lunch only to be told the waiter had gone off duty without placing our order. Likewise reception seemed to feel we were spoiling their day when we asked a question.
What this place needs is a good manager. Maybe the excellent waiter who runs breakfast would be a good choice, the only genuine hard working staff member there. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
I would advise a trip up to the mirador next to the parador on the tourist bus and maybe get a coffee, but next time in Malaga we'll stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A lovely hotel, sitauated as most say well away from the madding crowd in an incredible location. From the pool we had a bird's-eye view into the bull ring, and could clearly hear the olé, olé and accompanying brass band from our room. The view is of the old town, Med and coastline stretching away; but also of the Port, an active container port and bulk (cement) distribution industrial hub. It's thus not all flowers and tress, but towers and cranes. It does make for an active scene, but maybe not to everyone's postcard dreams.

On the only downside, it is a bit of a hike up, and the 35bus which connects is very infrequent and stops in the early evening. One to remmeber, particularly upon arriving in Malaga without a car (as we did). Flag a taxi - don't climb the hill in the heat! Once you're down in the town, the tendancy will be to stay there - there's no popping back for a quick lie down!

Overall though, a lovely place. The staff are great and the atmosphere very relaxed and not too formal.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinDerry_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Our last night after 3 weeks in Spain was spent here as we had visited for a drink on a previous visit and admired the views.
Our room was huge and in an attractive way, od fashioned. There was a little terrace looking out through the trees to Malaga and the harbour.
We had dinner outside on the Summer Terrace, and as it was a weekend they had a live duo singing some tasteful background songs.
All in all a great way to spend our last night in Spain.
Stay he if you want a bit of old fashioned charm and a view to envy.
Not cheap but worth splashing out on.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewartscotland1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed on the 8th and 9th August 2013 and were immediately discouraged by the fact that although we had requested, on our reservation, the highest room available for the view we were allocated a room in the basement (which is called floor 1 but is a floor below reception level). We looked out directly into a walkway and trees despite having paid for a sea view. The refrigerator in the room was also broken which meant no cold water or drinks (it was 42 degrees) and a lady came to look at it and confirmed that, yes it was broken, and that was that. The hotel was allegedly full which I can't possibly believe as there was no one there and we were told we couldn't be moved! It had not started well.

Apart from the female receptionist who checked us in and the guy doing breakfast the attitude of the staff was somewhere between indifferent and hostile. They simply didn't seem to care what the guests thought. At checkout when I advised the staff memberf of our problems and views I was met with a shrug; that sums this place up, a shrug of indifference.

On the practicalities, the setting is beautiful for the view but isolated for town and taxis charged us between €8 and €14 per trip eah way. The room was very very basic except for a slightly re-vamped bathroom and rather than being old splendour (which I thought was the idea of the Parador) was more like old second hand shop, complete with a slight air of must. The carpets were ripped in places and the plaster falling off the walls on floor one with damp. (An attempt was made to hide this with the random placing of furniture). The pool is small and looks dirty and is broken up in places and is completely unmanned. We had the pool bombing children in common with another reviewer, whose parents were the only people on the very small deck to apparently avoid a soaking of their book with each unnoticed lunge! You have to report to reception for towels (sign and get your docket!!) and also go to the bar for water etc. Breakfast was a further disappointment, was limited and of very poor quality.

Overall this hotel has essentially nothing to recommend it. Take the 2 hour segway tour with Tim and he will bring you here en route to savour the view; you will have saved yourself a good few hundred euro and some grotty accommodation and lack lustre (at very best) service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our 3rd stay at this Parador which we booked especially for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were never welcomed with open arms by the staff at this hotel and unfortunately this time was no different. I pointed out on the reservation that it was our 25th in the hope that they would make a fuss of us, in particular my wife.
There was absolutely no mention of our special day whatsoever. This hotel is in a spectacular location overlooking Malaga port but is let down by the welcome of its staff. It is also not cheap these days. One notable exception is Juan who looks after the breakfast service, he is very pleasant and very welcoming. Based on this stay I regret that it was probably our last stay in a Parador. We went for dinner on the day of our anniversary at a Restaurant called Amador at the Hotel Villa Guadeloupe, the welcome there was the complete opposite so all was not lost and we will probably stay there next time we are in Malaga.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Harrythehat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
568 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro, s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $119 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pines, the Parador de Málaga Gibralfaro stands atop Mount Gibralfaro opposite the Alcazaba (Citadel), with views of the bay and city of Malaga from a unique perspective. The common areas, guest rooms and rooftop swimming pool offer beautiful views of the town and sea. Here you will enjoy traditional Andalusian culinary offerings, including exquisite Málaga-style fried fish. In Málaga, you won't want to miss the Pablo Ruíz Picasso Foundation Birthplace Museum, where you will discover more than 230 works by the painter. The hotel, built out of stone next to Gibralfaro Castle, is the ideal location for visiting the city and enjoying sports such as golf and tennis at the nearby Parador del Golf. Málaga and its surrounding area are filled with light and beauty, offering the perfect vantage point overlooking the Mediterranean, a wonderful experience in which warm temperatures and the joy of Andalusia are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing